English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 October 2019, 00:59   #3421
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 737
Total aside chaps, and probably showing my ignorance of how this all fits together with the OS here, but is AMISSL something that could be compiled to take advantage of a PPC?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 07 October 2019, 11:16   #3422
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,084
If it is very 68K CPU intensive and if the CPU intensive routine is not called a lot (context switch) then sure.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 12:31   #3423
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 153
some more cooling tryings. for more stability.
changed 5v fan with 12v because I wanted it musnt eat 5v power from pci.
now gettemp says 39C in 20min. when I play a movie 30min later it says 43c max and not raising.

trying to test builds with more stability.

Last edited by starship; 13 October 2019 at 15:56.
starship is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 17:51   #3424
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 294
Nice modding @starship!

If that's the gettemp I wrote for the 750FX bear in mind that the temp function on the chip is highly unreliable. Although it looks like it's saying something sensible for yours!
Wrangler is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 15:57   #3425
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 153
only wondered.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_028011.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	64755  
starship is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 16:29   #3426
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,455
it works ok?
trixster is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 16:37   #3427
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 153
Error:No supported vga card detected then ramlib and reboot.
Already it is little slow, not optimized yet.

Last edited by starship; 13 October 2019 at 16:45.
starship is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 17:40   #3428
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by starship View Post
Error:No supported vga card detected then ramlib and reboot.
Already it is little slow, not optimized yet.
Can you post a showconfig and pciinfo?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 13 October 2019, 18:48   #3429
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 153
of course.
zz9000 is not pci so pciinfo only shows my little pci ethernet card and ppc card.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0285.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	163.6 KB
ID:	64757  

Last edited by starship; 13 October 2019 at 18:57.
starship is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 02:37   #3430
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by starship View Post
of course.
zz9000 is not pci so pciinfo only shows my little pci ethernet card and ppc card.
I haven't heard anyone report the combo working yet, but it looks like you have the Mediator in 512MB mode, take the Winsize jumper off for testing. That plus the 256MB of the ZZtop9k might be a problem? I mean I don't know I'm just guessing.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 09:25   #3431
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 201
BTW

I tested successful FastATA with Mediator + Ragnarok.
Works fine in PIO3 mode (about 4,5MB/s)
BULI is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 03:36   #3432
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I haven't heard anyone report the combo working yet, but it looks like you have the Mediator in 512MB mode, take the Winsize jumper off for testing. That plus the 256MB of the ZZtop9k might be a problem? I mean I don't know I'm just guessing.
Actually this guy is giving you bad advice, I forgot you have a Ragnarok, that's going to want about 384MB, so setting Winsize to off will only give you 256MB of PCI space so I'm not sure the Ragnarok is going to like that so much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
BTW

I tested successful FastATA with Mediator + Ragnarok.
Works fine in PIO3 mode (about 4,5MB/s)
It doesn't go higher than PIO3?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 10:24   #3433
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Actually this guy is giving you bad advice,
Indeed.

the ZZ9000 only uses 256MB of zorro Space (the rest of the 1GB is not mapped) and is sitting outside of the expansion.library setup range actually (>$40000000) and is sitting at $10000000 if I understand the ZZ9000 doc correctly.

https://mntre.com/media/ZZ9000_info_...000-manual.pdf
Hedeon is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 10:34   #3434
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 86
Actualy does this combo even make sense?

Sonnet type CPU + Zorro RTG?

When both PPC and RTG are on PCI bus they benefit from PCI speed.

But communication Zorro to PCI and back would be slow, isnt it?
k0x is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 10:35   #3435
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
But communication Zorro to PCI and back would be slow, isnt it?
Yes. Actually, the PPC cannot reach zorro space directly. Better use the ARM on the card itself.

Also 2D RTG on the Amiga classic is always 68k anyway. Also for the PCI cards.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 13:28   #3436
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
It doesn't go higher than PIO3?
With Sonnet/Mediator PIO3 is the higher.
I can use PIO4 and PIO5 about 7MB/z on SSD drive wihout startus-sequence (without active Mediator/Sonnet driver).
BULI is offline  
Old 18 October 2019, 04:55   #3437
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
With Sonnet/Mediator PIO3 is the higher.
I can use PIO4 and PIO5 about 7MB/z on SSD drive wihout startus-sequence (without active Mediator/Sonnet driver).
I guess this is the cost of PIO transfers or being CPU dependent rather than a proper DMA HDD controller.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 October 2019, 18:29   #3438
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,266
I'm going to join the club of Mediator owners soon - managed to get a 5V-only Mediator. As such I'll need to modify my Killer M1 (which has sat in storage for months, waiting for this moment!) with a voltage regulator. The pics on the wiki don't clearly show the kind of regulator used since there's a wire in front of the etchings (I can speculate that it's an LM1035?).

Earlier in this thread someone adviced to go with an LT1034 instead, but that was for a Sonnet.

Which one should I go for? Thanks guys
jbenam is offline  
Old 19 October 2019, 18:43   #3439
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I'm going to join the club of Mediator owners soon - managed to get a 5V-only Mediator. As such I'll need to modify my Killer M1 (which has sat in storage for months, waiting for this moment!) with a voltage regulator. The pics on the wiki don't clearly show the kind of regulator used since there's a wire in front of the etchings (I can speculate that it's an LM1035?).

Earlier in this thread someone adviced to go with an LT1034 instead, but that was for a Sonnet.

Which one should I go for? Thanks guys
It was just an LM1085 what I could pull off of some scrap board. LT1085 should work fine too, as long as it's also a fixed 3.3V. 3A should be plenty for the K1.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 October 2019, 19:35   #3440
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
It was just an LM1085 what I could pull off of some scrap board. LT1085 should work fine too, as long as it's also a fixed 3.3V. 3A should be plenty for the K1.
Excellent news, I should have one or two leftover 3.3V LT1085s somewhere. Will report back when my Mediator comes in the post
jbenam is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.22580 seconds with 16 queries