English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2019, 12:12   #61
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,640
@pandy71

yes, you can do 6 plane blit in one shot, but you use more dma cycles on cookie-cut operation, since blitter have to load mask every time.

- copper was good, but in my opinion with few tweak could have done more. Move operation waste to much time if you have to load sequencial register
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 27 March 2019, 13:07   #62
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 85
AGA does have colorbank swap option via bplcon4, so you can swap colorbanks in sizes of 2^n with a single instruction in copperlist. That means you can preload 256 colors in color registers, and if you have eg. a 32-color display, you can have 7 other 32-color banks that can be swapped as active bank. This is handy as you dont need to write each color separately as in OCS, but there is of course a 256 color limit. This also puts an end to copper color clashes, as you can change anytime unused color banks, and have active bank untouched.
coder76 is offline  
Old 27 March 2019, 20:30   #63
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by coder76 View Post
AGA does have colorbank swap option via bplcon4, so you can swap colorbanks in sizes of 2^n with a single instruction in copperlist. That means you can preload 256 colors in color registers, and if you have eg. a 32-color display, you can have 7 other 32-color banks that can be swapped as active bank. This is handy as you dont need to write each color separately as in OCS, but there is of course a 256 color limit. This also puts an end to copper color clashes, as you can change anytime unused color banks, and have active bank untouched.
True but seem some limitations exist and we talking on 15 or 16 bit address (so up to 256 banks of 256 color registers).
not sure if i recall correctly but Toni mention some limitations in HAM mode (BANK not work?). Sorry if i mixed something.

Btw - forgot to add to my list support to alternative colour space (something Like YCgCo) - it could accelerate video decoding but also (perhaps) improve HAM behaviour.

Another idea is 7 bit HAM mode where upper 3 bits works like RGB mask.

Last edited by pandy71; 27 March 2019 at 20:35.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 28 March 2019, 03:52   #64
FSizzle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
yes, you can do 6 plane blit in one shot, but you use more dma cycles on cookie-cut operation, since blitter have to load mask every time.
A single 6 plane interleaved blit with mask or 6 individual blits with mask takes the same amount of blitter DMA cycles. The interleaved blit requires that you duplicate all the lines in your mask so the modulo matches the source.

So the tradeoff is using a lot more memory (almost double) for the source data, but the saving is on blitter setup/wait loops.

It is a shame there is no way to have a mask that is re-used multiple times for the N lines of source data, as this would make masked blits use almost 25% fewer DMA cycles.

Last edited by FSizzle; 28 March 2019 at 03:53. Reason: clarity
FSizzle is offline  
Old 30 March 2019, 03:17   #65
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSizzle View Post
A single 6 plane interleaved blit with mask or 6 individual blits with mask takes the same amount of blitter DMA cycles. The interleaved blit requires that you duplicate all the lines in your mask so the modulo matches the source.

So the tradeoff is using a lot more memory (almost double) for the source data, but the saving is on blitter setup/wait loops.

It is a shame there is no way to have a mask that is re-used multiple times for the N lines of source data, as this would make masked blits use almost 25% fewer DMA cycles.
With 6 blits whiout cpu aid, you can chace mask and spare a lot of dma cicles
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 30 March 2019, 03:21   #66
FSizzle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
With 6 blits whiout cpu aid, you can chace mask and spare a lot of dma cicles

I'm don't understand what you mean. Do you mean there is some way to do this on current hardware? Or do you mean on some hypothetical hardware it would be possible?


Can you explain a bit more please?
FSizzle is offline  
Old 30 March 2019, 03:23   #67
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSizzle View Post
I'm don't understand what you mean. Do you mean there is some way to do this on current hardware? Or do you mean on some hypothetical hardware it would be possible?


Can you explain a bit more please?
Only missed opportunity on OCS. It could be done very easly. If you use fixed mask, you can do it now
sandruzzo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indivision AGA all Display modes test and problems doble07 support.Hardware 9 03 December 2009 09:56
Multisync CRT monitors that will display all Amiga modes? mingle support.Hardware 7 21 December 2008 20:08
Problem with display modes (VGA) Zombie13 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 01 July 2005 19:12
Custom display modes with RivaTuner §ane support.WinUAE 6 02 October 2002 07:54
Custom Display Modes... P-J support.WinUAE 3 15 July 2001 12:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12635 seconds with 16 queries