English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

Old 14 April 2018, 11:34   #1
mop

Debugging help

Hi,

I am trying to port a simple 3d engine to the amiga (amiga OS 3 m68k + RTG). it is somewhat working but unfortunately it is crashing when closing the window and my knowledge about debugging is rather poor. Usually I am working quite high level. I have some (very basic) gdb knowledge and some assumptions (not knowledge ) about what is going on low level (stack pointer etc).

But generally speaking I am new to amiga coding in general and not really used to work low level so I am very likely missing some very obvious stuff and thought I might find some help here.

The engine I am trying to port is using C++ and so far targets Unix and Windows and I created some cmake cross compile setup around the C++ toolchain of bebbo. I have created the neccesary bits for window management and I am seeing stuff on the screen (hooray ).

Unfortunately when closing the window it crashes and I am trying to find out why.

Simple printf debugging so far yielded nothing useful (for my untrained eyes) and I couldn't get gdb running so far.

This was when I found winuae-enforcer from the thread here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=65321

This seems to be what I need but I am not really able to put the picture together.

Here is a full enforcer output that I am getting after the crash:

https://pastebin.com/rMQvkrHM

I don't really get what it is trying to say.

This is what I made up in my mind (which is probably totally off):

I am seeing that the PC is somewhere inside Exec ($00f83584) and NOT in my code (cube).

As I don't have any experience with enforcer outputs I made a simple assembly test to see if it always looks like this:

Code:
move.w #$0,$AAAAAA00 ; just a random address
rts

This created output that I expected. namely that it was failing in my program and NOT in exec.

So I am wondering what is going on.