English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 June 2019, 14:11   #1
cyklon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 2
So I found my 600, now need help !

Hi Guys,

New member here so Hi to all

I finally managed to get my old 600 out of the Attic, I powered it up and it worked fine -all complete with mouse, Comp pro & Monitor but sadly no discs so I'm starting a fresh after 25 years !

Anyway, it's been a long time since I last opened it up and my question is I have seen a few people on various social media mentioning converting it to compact flash etc and upgrading the memory but I am completely clueless about this but want to relive my Sensi, Xenon2 & Chaos Engine days !

If anyone could give me any advice on what to buy to convert this I would really appreciate it.

I have a 4gb Compact flash card if that helps !

Thanks in advance
cyklon is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 15:02   #2
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 38
Posts: 414
Welcome. Its great you have kept your old A600. I will have to be that "guy" and recommend you look at getting the capacitors changed (recapping) as they will be deteriorating and will likely fail and damage the motherboard. Plenty of people around on here and Amibay that can do that work for you. Recommended to do that as soon as you can to enjoy the machine for years to come.

Second, you can setup your A600 to have a Compact Flash hard drive with an IDE to CF adaptor, plenty of sellers around for that. Then you can use whdload to play games - but if you have a base stock vanilla Amiga 600, you will need an extra 1mb chip memory (to go in the slot beneath) then some fast ram. Fast ram can be bought in many ways - with accelerators like the Furia, or just RAM cards. This will give the best experience with whdload.

I have several amigas, but for my A600 - I didn't do a compact flash solution or any extra RAM as above. I just mounted a Gotek floppy emulator internally using a 3d bracket. I run all my games from ADF disk images on a USB with the Gotek. Its just a substitute for real floppies, loads as slowly as a real floppy but is cheaper than all the gear above. My A1200 does the whdload thing.

Whatever you do good luck and enjoy!
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 16:21   #3
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 89
AMIGAstore and Retro Ready do an all in one Gotek if you don't have access to a 3d printer.
https://amigastore.eu/en/676-interna...-and-1200.html
https://retroready.one/products/amig...loppy-frimware
(The plastic cradle for the circuit board is free to download if you do have a printer)
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2000074
This is a straight swap for the floppy drive and is all you need if you don't mind waiting for games to load and swapping disks as the speed is the same as the floppies.
You should easily find the ADF's (Amiga Disk file) for all the games (sometimes they come with the Gotek if you buy off ebay.

If you want to update the 600 to load games instantly then look into WHDload and the hardware recommendations as suggested above. But I'd try the Gotek first as is the cheapest option if the Amiga ends up back in the attic in a couple of weeks when you've had your fill of nostalgia.

You'll also need a cable to connect it to the TV.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/p/Commodore-A...d=250786119867
sneckburger is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 18:54   #4
cyklon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 2
Thanks for that guys, thats great info

Will take a look tonight and report back once done !
cyklon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Supersportic] Found a game I was trying to figure out myself. ransom1122 Looking for a game name ? 4 14 June 2019 04:07
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 18:31
While i'm at it .. 600's ceedy Hardware mods 11 28 March 2011 16:46
600 hd problems iane1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 16 June 2005 18:14
PC HD in AMIGA 600 Sergiator support.Hardware 10 30 March 2005 23:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06161 seconds with 14 queries