English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 17 April 2009, 21:17   #1
stevecole

Need a little help getting started...

Hello. I need to tap someone's knowledge.

Here's my current setup, cobbled together over the last month or so:

Amiga 1200, 3.0 roms
Blizzard IV 68030 @ 50Mhz + 8MB RAM
Internal slimline CD-ROM
IDE CF card HDD mod, 1GB, wb 3.0 installed
PCMCIA CF adapter

I'm getting more RAM asap, either 64 or 128MB, whatever comes along first. I also plan to get a bunch of CF cards and install various systems and set-ups (3.5 and 3.9 once I upgrade the ROMs), the IDE/CF mod sticks out the back of the computer so it's easy to access and change HDD. Only problem is I need a hand to get started...

I'm an Amiga novice. I gamed on a 500+ when I was a kid (around 1990) and again for a short while when I dug the 500 out of storage about 10 years later but I have no (nada, zilch) experience with hard drives and installing stuff. What I want to have sharpish is a bunch of games installed on the hard drive and ready to play at the touch of a button, floppies suck.

From wide reading I understand the general principles of what I need to do but I haven't been able to get the level of understanding I need from the various forums and tutorials. There's a general expectation of knowledge in most discussions that leaves me playing catch up. And where I only get the odd hour or so here and there to devote to the Amiga it's hard to patch all the cracks!

So, can some kind soul give me a really basic and easy to understand lesson in getting files from my PC to my Amiga via my PCMCIA/CF card interface and getting them installed and operational?

I will be forever in your debt. And I do catch on fast, I just need my hand held for the first leap into the void...

Cheers!
Steve
Old 17 April 2009, 23:48   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevecole View Post