English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 April 2015, 21:45   #1
gurth
Registered User

gurth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 89
Replacement for CDTV floppy drive

I have a couple of Amiga's including a CDTV and would like to use the CDTV as a classic 1.3 setup. It was my dream machine as a kid and would stare at Commodore literature many an evening wishing I could own one.

I have recently purchased a kipper2k 4Mb/IDE and have that installed so I have a little Fast RAM to hand. I understand the IDE side will only be available if I swap the kickstart for 2.05 upwards, but as I'm only interested in 1.3 so I'm happy to live without that.

Arrived last week is a SCSI kit that I need to solder up and insert internally with a SCSI drive from eBay. Then I should be able to install Workbench 1.3 onto the hard drive with Deluxe Paint and DevPac.

The issue I have at the moment is transferring files, be it HDTools or Workbench, they all struggle to be read either with my CDTV, A500 or A1200. I'm slowly coming to the conclusion that all floppy drives are beyond repair and might actually be damaging the disks I insert.

I have a CF reader for the A1200 and an ACA500 for the A500 but I'm stuck at transferring anything to the CDTV.

Would a GOTEK be suitable, I'm not convinced it will as I really want to be transferring files from aminet not whole images of disks (ADFs)?

An alternative I thought could be to setup a 3.1 side so I can make use of the IDE, copy files across with that, and then boot back into 1.3 (dual boot)?

Suggestions please on a postcard.
gurth is offline  
Old 13 April 2015, 00:17   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
A gotek would work for the CDTV but you need to be able to connect it externally, so you will need an old external drive case or Mounty sells a connector.

You could then use WinUAE and copy the aminet files to blank ADF's, transfer them to the gotek USB stick and then transfer the files to your SCSI HD.

Remember that the blank floppies need to be ofs 836 formatted if you use WB1.3.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 April 2015, 10:31   #3
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 887
http://www.ppa.pl/sprzet/montaz-wewn...ow-w-cdtv.html

info in polish for add df0: internally
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 13 April 2015, 12:41   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
http://www.ppa.pl/sprzet/montaz-wewn...ow-w-cdtv.html

info in polish for add df0: internally
What was I thinking That's much easier
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CDTV CD drive replacement ? willbloke support.Hardware 27 12 March 2017 13:43
A1000 floppy drive replacement CrashMidnick support.Hardware 8 11 January 2015 21:31
FS: CDTV keyboard and CDTV floppy drive mabus MarketPlace 6 11 April 2009 14:43
Replacement floppy drive internal of Amiga 600 enito support.Hardware 3 25 February 2008 22:34
WANTED: replacement floppy drive gizmomelb MarketPlace 3 27 August 2006 15:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05964 seconds with 13 queries