English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2019, 19:43   #21
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,367
Disconnect CPU /HLT pin temporarily. If it still goes active (low state), it is guaranteed that CPU halts because of double fault or it is broken (but it is very unlikely). Something prevents CPU from fetching ROM boot code properly.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 November 2019, 19:58   #22
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
how can I disconnect HLT pin?
please clarify...

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 20:00   #23
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
CPU is working because it was pulledof from a working A2000 (from a friend)

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 21:19   #24
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietro.tiberi View Post
how can I disconnect HLT pin?
please clarify...

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Without cutting any traces, the only other option is to prevent the _HLT pin (17) from making contact in the socket are:

1. Cover the pin legs with a non conductive material.
2. Bend the pin legs out to stop it from going in the socket.

Do this at your own risk!
solarmon is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 22:49   #25
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
I reseated CPU and ROM but still the same condition HLT is Low (43mV).
I'm sure that CPU and ROM chips are ok (tested on another A2K).

Any suggestion?
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 22:51   #26
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Without cutting any traces, the only other option is to prevent the _HLT pin (17) from making contact in the socket are:

1. Cover the pin legs with a non conductive material.
2. Bend the pin legs out to stop it from going in the socket.

Do this at your own risk!
But this is only to check if CPU is working? If this is the case it's not needed because it works.
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 23:01   #27
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietro.tiberi View Post
But this is only to check if CPU is working? If this is the case it's not needed because it works.
It is to check that the CPU itself is not asserting _HLT. It could be that the CPU is detecting something else wrong and asserting _HLT. You just want to rule out whether the CPU is the one that is asserting _HLT.
solarmon is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 23:37   #28
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
Ok thanks I understand so I'll try to do this test.
In the meanwhile i checked all connections of U500 (the ROM): all Data paths to CPU are ok (connectivity check with a multimeter D( and A(), ROM PIN31 is connected to 4.94 V, and pin10 is GROUND.

PIN 12 (_ROMEN) is connected to GARY PIN 21 and it is 4.94 (so HIGH). Do you know if _ROMEN should be active LOW or HIGH?
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 23:54   #29
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pietro.tiberi View Post
PIN 12 (_ROMEN) is connected to GARY PIN 21 and it is 4.94 (so HIGH). Do you know if _ROMEN should be active LOW or HIGH?
If the name of a signal has a leading "/" or "_" (or sometimes, trailing) it means that it is Active Low.
solarmon is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 00:06   #30
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
ok so is this correct? _ROMEN Not Active?

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 00:07   #31
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
With _ROMEN you should be seeing activity signals going across it - so it should not be either staying low or staying high.
solarmon is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 09:39   #32
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
I forgot a third option for disabling _HLT on the CPU.

You can use another CPU socket as a piggyback and bend the pin of that instead - then you don't have to do anything physical with your CPU.
solarmon is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 13:05   #33
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
ok I'll go for a second socket

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:04   #34
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
I changed the cpu socket, repaired a broken trace and now no more vlack screen...but after changing color 3 times it remains White.
Only power anx s-video is connected....what shoul I do?
The color sequence is Dark Grey, Light Gray , white.

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:49   #35
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
It looks like a monitor issue....the white screen should indicate all test s are ok?
Am I right?

Inviato dal mio Redmi Note 7 utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:28   #36
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 162
Dark Grey: The hardware test has been completed OK, and the registers are readable.
Light Grey: The software side has passed.
White: The initialisation is correct and the system is ready to boot.

in bocca al lupo pietro!
jolly11 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:30   #37
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
So I’ll try with another monitor via RGB...

Grazie


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:39   #38
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 162
maybe with rgb it shows some other colours in the booting test
by the way, white screen could be a cpu problem (cpu failure, broken tracks or dull cold joint or broken pads)..or maybe needs recapping
jolly11 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:43   #39
Pietro.tiberi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Marino
Posts: 30
No i don’t thing so. CPU problem is black screen. I checked all track ...Recapping on A2000 should not be needed...let’s see....))


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Pietro.tiberi is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:46   #40
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 162
http://wiki.classicamiga.com/Amiga_b...r_code_colours

seems that black screen=no cpu detected
white screen=cpu failure

Non so però se quello che dice il sito sia affidabile al 100%
jolly11 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500+ (Rev 8A) - long black screen display duration before kickstart boot screen solarmon support.Hardware 14 01 September 2019 23:07
Full-screen mode black screen with Default refresh rate mark_k support.WinUAE 4 16 February 2016 21:29
Nessesary A2K bits? Brass Hardware mods 3 30 July 2014 20:21
[FOUND: PHANTASIE III!] 2D RPG game with map screen, "black background combat screen" Artifex 28 Looking for a game name ? 1 22 May 2014 18:42
Black screen in full screen but not full window Winuae all versions Mixter support.WinUAE 18 30 June 2013 01:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08832 seconds with 15 queries