English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2019, 11:46   #1
steve_mynott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: london
Posts: 41
Mount ADFs on LInux?

I can mount Amiga FFS hard disk images on linux easily but wondered how to do the same for ADFs?
steve_mynott is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 12:04   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Should be very similar. eg:
Code:
mount -t affs -o loop game.adf /mnt/adf
Obviously this will only work on AmigaDOS FFS disks. A better option may be a tool like unadf, as it'll also read OFS adf's.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 23 October 2019, 15:20   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,401
It's sometimes nicer to manage the disks with xdftool from Lallafa's amitools package instead of mounting back and forth. Depends on what you want to do.

https://github.com/cnvogelg/amitools

Also available via pip install amitools
Jope is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 10:45   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It's sometimes nicer to manage the disks with xdftool from Lallafa's amitools package instead of mounting back and forth. Depends on what you want to do.

https://github.com/cnvogelg/amitools

Also available via pip install amitools
Vamos sounds awesome!

Quote:
Originally Posted by https://github.com/cnvogelg/amitools
  • vamos V)irtual AM)iga OS
    vamos allows you to run command line (CLI) Amiga programs on your host Mac or PC. vamos is an API level Amiga OS Emulator that replaces exec and dos calls with its own implementation and maps all file access to your local file system.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 21:02   #5
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Vamos sounds awesome!
Indeed. I believe it was used partly to build OS 3.1.4. Probably they used it to run SAS or some other compiler.

Decades ago (1992 I think) I tried an Amiga (CLI only) emulator on a 68030 Sun 3 workstation. It kinda worked. Emulator is the wrong word as the binaries ran natively.
nogginthenog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to write/mount adfs on actual hardware? Marchie support.Other 7 22 September 2016 16:35
How to mount ADF CB 3.9 amigatv support.Apps 19 25 November 2015 14:44
Foolproof GUI way to mount ADFs on real Amiga Starglider 2 support.Other 19 05 June 2015 19:06
Porting to Tiny Core Linux and Puppy Linux lorenzos support.FS-UAE 1 05 January 2013 17:13
How do I mount a Archos HD? Raccoon support.Hardware 9 22 December 2007 13:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06403 seconds with 14 queries