English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2018, 13:34   #21
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by coder76 View Post
It's not possible to run 640x480 with 256 colors and 60 Hz on a standard ISA bus.
You do know that there are ISA SVGA-cards available, right? The speed of the ISA bus has nothing to do with resolution or bitdepth, only how fast the CPU can copy stuff to the VRAM. So yeah, it might not be comfortable to use 640x480x256c through an ISA-bus, but it's possible.
britelite is online now  
Old 09 July 2018, 14:13   #22
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Yep you are right Amiga4000

I thinked BullyDog uses WinUAE but i can't know that
I'm using Damien's front end but I use C64/Amiga Forever too and they both have WinUAE.

I ran AGA games without making a switch and it seemed to ran ok. Maybe it ran with reduced graphics I don't know.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 14:26   #23
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
I ran AGA games without making a switch and it seemed to ran ok.
...if you mean via my collection then anything with [AGA] / [AmigaCD] / [CD32] after the config name uses AGA settings already
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 14:33   #24
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...if you mean via my collection then anything with [AGA] / [AmigaCD] / [CD32] after the config name uses AGA settings already
Hah! So it did. I noticed that my Amiga Forever don't have AGA games in the list.

Again, nice job Damien.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 15:55   #25
coder76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
You do know that there are ISA SVGA-cards available, right? The speed of the ISA bus has nothing to do with resolution or bitdepth, only how fast the CPU can copy stuff to the VRAM. So yeah, it might not be comfortable to use 640x480x256c through an ISA-bus, but it's possible.
Yes, you are right, I was thinking too much in terms of how amiga memory system works. The PC's have always had better bandwidth for their CPUs to their video memory than Amigas.
coder76 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 16:01   #26
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
I guess that's why they cost thousands and thousands of dollars.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 14:46   #27
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,225
Is it true that the palette of VGA is 262,144 colours, and SVGA is 16,777,216? Seems like the Amiga has an SVGA advantage.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 15:08   #28
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Is it true that the palette of VGA is 262,144 colours
Yes, the original VGA only has a colordepth of 18 bits.



Quote:
Seems like the Amiga has an SVGA advantage.
Considering AGA was released in the 90's, it would've been quite pathetic if it didn't support 24 bit colors.
britelite is online now  
Old 10 July 2018, 15:44   #29
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
Considering AGA was released in the 90's, it would've been quite pathetic if it didn't support 24 bit colors.
Especially with twice the number of bits available.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 18:27   #30
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
24 bit = 256Rx256Gx256B.

16,777,216 colors!
BullyDog is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 19:44   #31
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,225
No need to spell it out, BullyDog, we're all science geek nerd scientists here.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 19:45   #32
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Sorry, can't get the teacher out of me.

32 bit = 256Rx256Gx256B x 256 what?
BullyDog is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 19:48   #33
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
Sorry, can't get the teacher out of me.

32 bit = 256Rx256Gx256B x 256 what?
It's usually an Alpha Channel for transparency.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 19:52   #34
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Not luminosity?
BullyDog is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 20:31   #35
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,225
All I've ever heard for the fourth set of 8 bits was the Alpha Channel, as I said. If it wasn't used for advanced TV genlocks, then it was definitely used in OpenGL for games like Quake 3 Arena, etc.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 21:35   #36
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Ah, you are correct, it is transparency. The R G B themselves are luminosity.

College was back in 91. My old brain aren't remembering very well.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 21:49   #37
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,128
It's the eye that works this way. One cell type for lightness, three others for each color.
meynaf is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 22:10   #38
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
You're talking about cones and rods for the eye. It's the brain that does the interpretations.

Look up optical illusions. It fools the brain.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 09:29   #39
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,128
Yes but no interpretation is needed for merely representing an image.
It's just that RGB isn't enough for representing everything and there is some logic in wanting to add lightness to that.
meynaf is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 15:16   #40
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Yes but no interpretation is needed for merely representing an image.
It's just that RGB isn't enough for representing everything and there is some logic in wanting to add lightness to that.
That's what I thought is luminosity but instead we call it transparency. The RGB goes from dark to bright like dark red to pink for R. Transparency are what add brightness to the color.

I have that correct?
BullyDog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA games on non-AGA hardware - a curiosity squirminator2k Amiga scene 27 19 July 2018 10:50
SysInfo reports AGA as does set patch. No AGA! pixelsmack support.Hardware 29 15 July 2017 07:17
Five-A-Side Soccer AGA OR Football Glory Inside AGA earok request.Old Rare Games 3 27 December 2016 13:12
SWOS Career Saves on AGA and none AGA machines Peanutuk support.Games 6 08 March 2004 19:48
probs with Shadow Fighter AGA & Sabre Team AGA Skumball support.WinUAE 1 10 September 2002 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09238 seconds with 13 queries