English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 July 2019, 07:39   #141
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
For AHI checking and setup, have a look at my handy little guide.
where can i find your ahi guide?

anyway, in my downloaded files from 2014 i found m68k-amigaos-ahiusr.lha, so i'm afraid, it's the version i've installed...
this one is v6.0, so i hope winuae is fast enough to compensate that.
honx is online now  
Old 18 July 2019, 08:46   #142
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,246
yeah, it's working! first i thought it crashed, because loading took huge amount of time and there was only blackscreen in the meantime.
i simply copied all .pak files from pc quake 2 to baseq2 folder since i wasn't sure, which ones are needed... probably too much, but whatever...
i quicky rushed to first secret level but now i have to go wo work unforunately... at evening i'll have to find out how to activate cd audio...
btw. how do i start the expansion packs? if i start amirogue or amixatrix, always orignal game starts. did i forget to copy something?
honx is online now  
Old 18 July 2019, 11:31   #143
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Wow.

Anyone tried this with a Vampire yet?
Simo did this fine video last year:

[ Show youtube player ]
grond is offline  
Old 18 July 2019, 13:32   #144
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,243
That Vampire clip is less impressive than I expected somehow. I'm so used to it being super fast, it's kind of odd to see the low FPS.

Is there a reason for that? I'd have expected it to be three to four times faster than the 68060 version, looking at other Vampire stuff.
roondar is offline  
Old 18 July 2019, 21:27   #145
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,246
what do i need to configure in order to get cd audio working?

and what files do i need to copy for working addons?
honx is online now  
Old 19 July 2019, 00:43   #146
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
That Vampire clip is less impressive than I expected somehow. I'm so used to it being super fast, it's kind of odd to see the low FPS.

Is there a reason for that? I'd have expected it to be three to four times faster than the 68060 version, looking at other Vampire stuff.
Yeah, that’s not much faster than my 060 :/ I wonder what’s going on there?
trixster is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 02:26   #147
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Yeah, that’s not much faster than my 060 :/ I wonder what’s going on there?
That video is from November last year. Someone should re-test with the current core. A lot of updates have happened in the last 8 months.
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 03:05   #148
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
Simo did this fine video last year:

[ Show youtube player ]
Yep, it was faster on my real 060 than Vampy V4


[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 08:53   #149
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,281
Holy crap, thats a bad advert for the Vampire, I thought it would be all over the 060, but quite clearly, thats not the case here.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 10:14   #150
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,246
i guess, my latest questions were overlooked.
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
what do i need to configure in order to get cd audio working?

and what files do i need to copy for working addons?
honx is online now  
Old 19 July 2019, 10:15   #151
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 547
To me it's faster on V4 (more recent core):

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by arti; 19 July 2019 at 11:03.
arti is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 12:50   #152
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,362
That is not dramatically better
trixster is offline  
Old 19 July 2019, 19:47   #153
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 940
true. on Vampire should be much more smooth.
Seiya is online now  
Old 20 July 2019, 09:19   #154
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 30
Here is a newer video done by Simo... looks pretty smooth to me

[ Show youtube player ]

The Vampire system and software is continually being improved. One of the current projects being worked on is improving the GCC compiler to generate better code, both for the 68060 and the new 68080 core. That should provide another good boost at some point in the future.

Cheers!
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 11:08   #155
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 940
well, standalone is faster than classic vampire fitted in A500 and A600. Quake 2 run better now in those Vampires?

Last edited by Seiya; 20 July 2019 at 11:13.
Seiya is online now  
Old 20 July 2019, 11:10   #156
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 51
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Holy crap, thats a bad advert for the Vampire, I thought it would be all over the 060, but quite clearly, thats not the case here.
Most 68080 instructions are fastest or have same speed like 68060 instructions, but some instructions are slowest f.e mulu.l (32 bit) 2 cycles vs 3 cycles. fadd,fsub,fmul,fcmp 5 cycles vs 6 cycles, if I remember right. For some routines 68060 will be still fastest than 68080.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 11:18   #157
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Yep, it was faster on my real 060 than Vampy V4

[ Show youtube player ]
That's actually quite impressive.

Doesn't look like the next few Vampire clips posted here are smoother either. Though in fairness guessing FPS and smoothness is hard unless the two literally run side by side. It could be that the smart phone capture changes how it looks too. But still, very impressive.
roondar is offline  
Old 20 July 2019, 12:20   #158
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 940
i'd like to see a "timdemo" on vampire V600 and Standalone. However Standalone is much faster then 68060.

Last edited by Seiya; 20 July 2019 at 12:36.
Seiya is online now  
Old 22 July 2019, 14:22   #159
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,409
I scanned quickly through all pages of this thread, but I think that I didn't see a download link anywhere. Neither for the executable nor for the source.

What I would like to know (sorry, if I missed that information): does this port include any 68k assembler optimizations? If not, then there is still a lot of potential. For Quake 1 this made a huge difference.
phx is offline  
Old 23 July 2019, 03:04   #160
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
What I would like to know (sorry, if I missed that information): does this port include any 68k assembler optimizations? If not, then there is still a lot of potential. For Quake 1 this made a huge difference.
Hiya,

This is a very old port now, written when this was all fields

It's on AmiNet and yes it does contain a few Quake 1 ASM performance improvements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya
i'd like to see a "timdemo" on vampire V600 and Standalone. However Standalone is much faster then 68060.
Well as one is a modern computer and the other one is well over 20 years old now......you'd kinda hope that it was faster wouldn't you?

NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM ported to AGA NovaCoder News 604 15 August 2019 00:24
AmiQuake new 68k Quake Port for AGA/RTG NovaCoder News 170 10 February 2019 21:54
AmiQuake2 - Quake 2 AGA NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 111 16 October 2015 21:23
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 21:11
Quake III ported to Os4 Outcast News 7 09 July 2006 22:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09630 seconds with 16 queries