English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2018, 08:36   #1
BitAnnihilator
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
screen partly cut off on some games

I just got my A500 hooked back up, installed a gotek, and made an adapter to hook it to my Applecolor RGB monitor, but i'm having some issues with some games. Workbench takes up the full screen OK, but some games end up cutting off part of the screen.

Like this, Pinball fantasies:


While others like this (Lotus Turbo Challenge II) are okay:


Any suggestions?
BitAnnihilator is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 February 2018, 08:54   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,734
PAL vs NTSC problem.
Predseda is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 09:33   #3
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,351
What Predseda said.
That Apple screen looks sweet, BTW.
idrougge is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 15:32   #4
BitAnnihilator
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Would it be something that switching my A500 to PAL mode would fix, or would I need a different monitor too?
BitAnnihilator is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 16:02   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,056
Depends if your monitor can handle 50Hz
alexh is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 17:29   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yeah I don't know if those IIGS monitors do 50Hz, but if they do, yeah, if you get your Amiga modified (you need the right type of Agnus chip to be able to do a PAL/NTSC switch), then it will work.
Akira is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 17:30   #7
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,834
Monitor for Apple II, huh ? It may just be displaying a partial screen region, as Amiga can use the whole possible surface.
Check if the monitor doesn't have vertical pos / vertical size settings somewhere. CBM 1083 does, for example, but i have an old tv that does not and shows partial image due to ill-suited hardwired settings.
meynaf is offline  
Old 05 February 2018, 18:08   #8
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,022
The Apple monitor is NTSC/60Hz which is around 200 lines, a lot of Amiga games and 99% demos are PAL/50Hz and take up 256 lines, so on this monitor, the bottom will always be chopped off. There's practically nothing you can do about it, except maybe get a monitor designed for PAL territories. The Apple has, to my knowledge, always been NTSC.

Last edited by Foebane; 05 February 2018 at 19:34.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retro Wars cut off bottom of screen ChefDeadpool support.Games 3 05 January 2018 05:12
Cut down re-released games? PopoCop support.Games 10 03 September 2017 19:53
Mouse becomes uncaptured when window partly off-screen mark_k support.WinUAE 25 07 May 2017 13:22
bottom of screen cut off :( ghosty777 support.WinUAE 6 22 July 2015 20:28
back2roots.org server crash - partly fixed hippie2000 News 1 14 May 2009 01:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06567 seconds with 13 queries