English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2018, 14:30   #221
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
Does it happen when using direct scsi mode? (PDS\3 dostype)
DS can be logged more easily (using -scsiemulog command line parameter)

It may be also size related: 600G is in "x4" size range. Does it happen if partition size is "standard" (max 104G)? If not, does it happen if size is about 400G (less than 411G).

When it hangs, does all other operations to same partition also hang?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 March 2018, 15:10   #222
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Even more pointing to some bug or stupid assumption in some patch. I am going to ignore this unless it also happens with OS39BB2 + UAE controller. I don't trust most 3rd party patches, never have, never will.
To reproduce this % issue with PFS3AIO:

1) Make 32GB hardfile (uaehf.device)
2) Create one bootable partition with PFS3AIO
3) Install Amiga OS 3.9 + BB2
4) Create textfile, size 2GB-1 (WIN10: fsutil file createnew 2GB.txt 2147483647)
5) Copy that file 11 times to PFS3AIO partition and % counter will rollover



6) Redo with FFS ---> % counter does not rollover

ShK is online now  
Old 27 March 2018, 17:00   #223
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Download the pfs3 package from aminet. It contains the documentation/faq/etc. But install the new pfs3aio from Toni of course
Thank you!
mpattonm is offline  
Old 27 March 2018, 19:46   #224
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShK View Post
To reproduce this % issue with PFS3AIO:

1) Make 32GB hardfile (uaehf.device)
2) Create one bootable partition with PFS3AIO
3) Install Amiga OS 3.9 + BB2
4) Create textfile, size 2GB-1 (WIN10: fsutil file createnew 2GB.txt 2147483647)
5) Copy that file 11 times to PFS3AIO partition and % counter will rollover



6) Redo with FFS ---> % counter does not rollover

Thanks, much better

I'll check but I still think it is WB bug/some stupid assumption. Does it happen with 18.5 pfs3? (It probably does)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 00:39   #225
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 734
@TuKo & @ShK : Out of curiosity, did you try to run pfsdoctor (see post #1 - at the bottom) ?

Does running it change the display of the "full %" ?
malko is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 07:38   #226
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
No change with either old pfsdoctor or experimental one

Last edited by TuKo; 28 March 2018 at 13:18.
TuKo is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 13:14   #227
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 734
OK. Thanks for giving a try
malko is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 15:06   #228
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
It is WB calculation overflow. ACTION_INFO id_NumBlocks and id_NumBlocksUsed are correct.

I remembered PFS3 internals wrong, returned block size is always 512 (not 1024 that is PFS3 metadata block size or larger if large partition). Same overflow should happen if FFS formatted with block size 512.

Returned block size can be faked as a workaround, the larger the block size, the smaller total block count becomes, allowing larger drive without 32-bit overflow in free size calculations. (Recent WinUAE versions directory filesystem does this, fakes block size up to 32k)

WB most likely uses "in use blocks" * 100 / "total blocks" formula to calculate in use percentage where "in use blocks * 100" 32-bit overflows. Overflow happens when about 20G (if 512 block size) of disk is in use. If 1024 block size, overflow happens when about 40G of disk is in use and so on..

btw, there was another WB overflow hint: change height of WB window and when height is small enough, disk usage bar suddenly becomes correct.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 15:29   #229
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it happen with 18.5 pfs3? (It probably does)
Yes.

PFS3-020ds 18.5: Fails
PFS3AIO 18.5: Fails
FFS 45.1: OK
SFS 1.1280: OK
ShK is online now  
Old 28 March 2018, 18:49   #230
antiriad76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westfield
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it happen when using direct scsi mode? (PDS\3 dostype)
DS can be logged more easily (using -scsiemulog command line parameter)

It may be also size related: 600G is in "x4" size range. Does it happen if partition size is "standard" (max 104G)? If not, does it happen if size is about 400G (less than 411G).

When it hangs, does all other operations to same partition also hang?
I tried DS mode (PDS\03) and I am able to copy files over without any hangs however when I reboot the 100GB and 460GB+ Partitions go back to UnInitialized and I have to reformat them.

I have tried formatting via PFS3Format and from within WB with the same results.

Could it be because I have entered the HDD Data manually?

Cylinders: 77764 (595.6GB)
Heads: 255
BpT: 63
BpC: 16065

Also which the Defacto Tool of choice when partitioning a Drive? There are so many programs I have tried and they all give me different data (HDInstTools, HDToolBox etc)

Last edited by antiriad76; 28 March 2018 at 19:04.
antiriad76 is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 19:48   #231
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
Are you trying to debug possible pfs3 issue or something else? Your test case has far too many unknowns that has nothing to do with pfs3, making it offtopic here..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 19:49   #232
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,447
I would avoid HDInstTools, and stick with HDToolBox from OS3.9 (and in the future, I guess, from 3.1.4).

(and yes, suppose this is off-topic - but PFS3 comes with HDInstTools, so there is a link...)
kolla is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 21:29   #233
antiriad76
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Westfield
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I would avoid HDInstTools, and stick with HDToolBox from OS3.9 (and in the future, I guess, from 3.1.4).

(and yes, suppose this is off-topic - but PFS3 comes with HDInstTools, so there is a link...)
I have tried HDToolBox but the problem I have it that it creates a gazillion partitions automatically which causes the OS to crash when I try to modify the partition table.

Any way to prevent HDToolBox from creating partition automatically?
antiriad76 is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 22:09   #234
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,447
Ah yes, the default setup is funny on large drives Though I never had any problem with it causing crashes, I just hit the drop down menu to the right that says "Default Setup" and pick the number of partitions I want - this causes crash for you? What kind of crash?

OK, this is off topic, please message me
kolla is offline  
Old 30 March 2018, 13:24   #235
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfs3aio_v3.1_test1.zip

- Fixed softlink support, they have always been broken (Piru). I have never used softlinks so I have no idea what happened previously.
- TD64/NSD check also validates returned io_Actual value.
- ACTION_INFO InfoData returns fake block size to work around overflow in programs (including WB) that use 32-bit "in use * 100 / total blocks" formula to calculate size. Returned block size depends on partition size. (This is only visual change, "real" block size in DosEnvec is unchanged). UAE already did this with very large drives without side-effects.

TODO: If I manage to hook up filesystem loading to new UAE debugger, I'll try to find out if there is any obvious ways to reduce memory usage when running on low memory systems.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 07:32   #236
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
Confirmed working.
TuKo is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 12:16   #237
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfs3aio_v3.1_test1.zip

- Fixed softlink support, they have always been broken (Piru).
Aaaah, that might explain something. I use to softlink WBStartup to different directories, depending on whether running Workbench or DOpus (well, SYS:WBStartup -> T:WBStartup.dir -> SYS:WBStartup.WB, for example, so only writing to ramdisk on boot) and somewhere along the timeline this stopped working as it did, I never linked (huhuh) to pfs3aio, I will check it up again

Oh, and Piru is still around? That's great! His probably most used piece of software, WhichAmiga, could perhaps need an update too, hehe

Quote:
TODO: If I manage to hook up filesystem loading to new UAE debugger, I'll try to find out if there is any obvious ways to reduce memory usage when running on low memory systems.
Cool I have plenty of low-end systems to test with.
kolla is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 17:40   #238
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,883
Managed to get filesystem debugger working.

I can reduce memory usage about 30k if I decrease size of internal buffers/caches (not same as addbuffers/hdtoolbox buffers). Not yet sure if it causes any side-effects and how to enable it, perhaps if buffers are small enough or with some new dostype. But on the other hand 30k probably is not worth the trouble.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 22:17   #239
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 661
Is that 30k per partition? That might start to add up for some people
E-Penguin is online now  
Old 01 April 2018, 23:56   #240
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
TODO: If I manage to hook up filesystem loading to new UAE debugger, I'll try to find out if there is any obvious ways to reduce memory usage when running on low memory systems.
That's welcome. I don't use such systems myself, but if I disable my accelerator, I appreciate if I'm able to even have my HD active.
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 21:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 22:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 13:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 09:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11830 seconds with 17 queries