English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2009, 21:14   #1
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Mediator and AHI sound query

I've set up my Mediator and SoundBlaster 128 combo ok...but is it only some things that play through AHI? By this i mean it plays mp3's superbly through the 128 but if i play demo's or games do they automaticly just use Paula and if so is it a Paula to Line in jack job to hear all audio through the 128?
DoogUK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 November 2009, 21:51   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
IIRC non OS compliant / non AHI coded stuff shuts the mediator and its associated cards off. Therefore if you did an Amiga phono to SB128 IN jack then this sound would not be output by the SB in non compliant OS circumstances, I use a Y port doubler on my speakers to accept both SB and Native Amiga output.
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 21:58   #3
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
there is an easier solution thany Y cable. Simply connect paula output to the AUX input of SB128 and voila
Chain is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 22:02   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,349
yep, it will work as long as you boot into workbench and then start the games/demos..
kriz is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 23:04   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain View Post
there is an easier solution thany Y cable. Simply connect paula output to the AUX input of SB128 and voila
This doesnt work if you want sound from WHDLoad games/demos
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 14:03   #6
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
This certainly works for me this way, the only thing needed is running the mixer app that activates the soundcard (there are Ghostmix, TaskiMixer...). WHDLoad games are no exception and work OK.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 18:59   #7
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Running paula through linein/aux on the SB will be fine, but the mixer has to start first to unmute the input. not an issue for starting hd instaleld stuff, only booting floppies without the mixer started will their be no paula passthrough.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 18 November 2016, 12:52   #8
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 600
Sorry to revive this old threat. Can you script this, unmute input, when a whdload game starts (similar like it disables usb).
spudje is offline  
Old 18 November 2016, 13:18   #9
cmsj
Registered User

cmsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London / UK
Posts: 146
@spudje: If you run a mixer program at boot (e.g. GhostMix) your mixer settings will be applied, so the input will already be unmuted by that, if that's what you've saved as your mixer settings
cmsj is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 23:51
AHI doesn't work with Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Apps 3 22 June 2008 11:12
AHI - no sound icewizard2k5 support.Apps 6 28 March 2005 12:48
UAE and AHI with soundblaster mediator drivers? ElectroBlaster support.WinUAE 1 21 June 2002 23:12
Sound emulation on WB, AHI support?!? Guest New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 21 January 2002 21:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17055 seconds with 12 queries