English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2003, 22:26   #1
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Question WinUAE cd drive problem!

Hi guys! Ive been trying to set up another wb3.9 on uae.
ive done this many times before and never had a single problem until tonight!

My main machine is running XP with sp1, xp1800+ and 512megs of ddr. I have the aspi layer installed so uae can pick up devices like the cd drive as a proper unit.

For some reason every amiga cd I use makes uae complain that its got a read write error? the cd's are fine tho! on my other pc with uae they are fine too! even both pc's will read them ok!
*the second pc is running 98se!

*also! i have tried all the available uae betas which allow uaescsi.device to be used and the same problem arises!

anyone know what the problem might be? the only thing i can think of is SP1 which i installed recently!

ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2003, 22:43   #2
kafiend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Narnia
Posts: 29
Try this thread for starters.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6430

I had a similar problem, the emu-install fixed it. I *think* I ran it from hardrive in the end. It was either that or I did it via Daemon.
kafiend is offline  
Old 18 May 2003, 22:57   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
nah m8 this is worse! ive always been able to install 3.5 or 3.9 (both original btw) off the cd's using winuae!

for some reason this dam pc decides that every amiga cd is corrupted if im trying to open them with uae?
ive tried dozens of amiga cd's! covermounts, cd32 games, pd collections etc! they all say they have read-write error's?

Im thinking about using ISO buster/tools deamon to mount an iso of my 3.9cd and try again! just bugs the hell out me whenever i want to set up some amiga stuff my reall miggys work ok lol
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 18 May 2003, 23:02   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,792
add "MaxTransfer = 0xfc00" to CD mountlist (ASPI limitation, no other workaround)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 00:15   #5
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
M8 your a star! it works ive never had to mess with the maxtransfer on an amiga before so it never crossed my mind to check it out!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 11:28   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo

Toni, as far as it isn't already there, I'd suggest that you put that into the readme so that it doesn't have to be asked again.
andreas is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 14:50   #7
kafiend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Narnia
Posts: 29
Hey ElectroBlaster i just noticed the OOOAAR comment. Where are you exactly. I'm in Devon.
kafiend is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 16:05   #8
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,437
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I live in Exeter m8!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mike the Magic Dragon: in-game problem or WinUAE problem? petran support.WinUAE 14 10 December 2013 16:12
"winuae.exe - Drive Not Ready" when trying to add CF card as hard drive vroom6sri support.WinUAE 20 20 June 2012 23:55
WinUAE 2.3.3 Weird problem with a real hard drive logs attached ancalimon support.WinUAE 15 12 December 2011 11:03
Amiga drive to a PC drive for WinUAE Ed Cruse support.WinUAE 5 05 August 2009 23:09
WinUAE disk drive problem Shinobi support.WinUAE 2 14 June 2004 16:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13276 seconds with 14 queries