English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 October 2010, 18:09   #1
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
single/seven slot zorro busboard or mediator which do you think

has anybody got/used/had one of these

a single slot zorro busboard if so was it anygood?

what cards did you use in it?

also i remember eyetech sold a seven zorro busboard has anyone used one of those.

the point of this is how much do either sell for if ever they do and that my current tower is a ez eyetech tower which both of these cards busboards go in or would i be beter of starting with a new tower and going for a mediator.

I am looking to improve quake visually with such a device

any help/advise would be good cheers dave
lambrettadave is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 18:38   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,802
Don't buy the RBM busboard, they are not very reliable due to them being only two-layer.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 18:46   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,526
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Dave,

I have the same Tower (I think) EZ Z4 Tower that I got from Amigakit. The first busboard I tried in this setup was a Micronik Z3i Zorro Busboard and I tried to run a CyberVision 64/3D off of one of the Zorro slots.

I didn't get very far becuase the slots did not line up (I would have had to modify the case) and it did not like my Apollo 1240 (Fast Ram disn't show up)

However I soldiered on and used my Typhoon 1230 which did work with the Z3i however when it came to setting up the RTG card nothing I tried worked, could not get any picture from a known working card, I tried for many many hours and evenyually gave up.

I sold that lot LOL and got myself a Mediator PCI and honestly, best decision I ever made! After a little trouble (mostly noob stuff) I got the the Voodoo 5 5500 card setup and looking awesome in workbench and games

Plus there was no problem fitting it in the case and the slots all line up as they should.

With this setup you should be able to run the GL version of Quake (although I didn't get that working yet) amoungst other Warp3D apps/games.

There's also access to cheap Sound/Networking options (SoundBlaster 128/Realtek LAN) and Elbox are in the process of releasing new drivers so you even have support!

As I said I am so pleased I ditched the Zorro busbard and went PCI

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 18:59   #4
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
@steve i wil post a photo of my tower, as it is different from the Z4 type but here is a rough idea

http://amr.abime.net/issue_255_pages

or have a look on http://www.amiga-hardware.com/ and look at tower kits mine is a mk VI but look at the PC one as well as this shows how me motherboard is mounted in
lambrettadave is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 19:01   #5
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
@jope

what do you mean by the trem 2 layer

i know these are Zorro2 only

is this what you mean

Dave
lambrettadave is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 19:36   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,526
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambrettadave View Post
@steve i wil post a photo of my tower, as it is different from the Z4 type but here is a rough idea

http://amr.abime.net/issue_255_pages

or have a look on http://www.amiga-hardware.com/ and look at tower kits mine is a mk VI but look at the PC one as well as this shows how me motherboard is mounted in
Wow, thats huge Tower, mine is the EZ Tower Z4 so it is different.

If you deceide to get a mediator it might only be that you have to move the slots, or else you could get a EZ Z4 or Zetr0 was posted somewhere that the D-Box is the Daddy of Amiga Tower/Cases

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 20:49   #7
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
i think the Mediator board would make the cards point the wrong way due to the Pcmica port being at the top of the tower
lambrettadave is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 20:51   #8
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
I was reading about the RBM boards and it apears that they dont like apollo acceloraters

anyone else have one that works
lambrettadave is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 21:25   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambrettadave View Post
what do you mean by the trem 2 layer

i know these are Zorro2 only
Ah, so you're talking about A1200 busboards? (you never specified)

In that case the RBM is probably as good as any other.

By layers I mean how many layers of copper traces are on the board. A two layer board has traces on top and on the bottom. A four layer board (as is required by the Zorro III spec) has two additional layers inside the circuit board.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 21:59   #10
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
OK so the Zorro3 standard is of cause higher quality and better speed because of the newer technology that was designed in it

Dave
lambrettadave is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a1200 zorro busboard for a4000 zorro busboard OverDose Swapshop 0 11 August 2009 16:51
A1200 Single Right angled Zorro 2 Zetr0 Hardware mods 3 30 May 2008 23:10
Mediator busboard, Zorro busboards, etc for sale. DoctorQ MarketPlace 20 27 November 2005 19:41
Dragon1200 busboard with Coldfire in cpu slot Effy News 6 19 April 2005 22:05
Zorro II Card - Zorro III Slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 4 03 May 2003 11:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10322 seconds with 13 queries