English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2019, 12:57   #1
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
Directory Opus Version for A500+

I just made another virtual Amiga with a Amiga500+ Workbench 2.1 with a 68000 and OCS.



I am looking to install Directory Opus on it, so does anyone know what would be a good version compatible of Directory Opus with this Amiga?


I know it seems silly to run a A500 in Winuae with 68000 when I can run a A4000 just as well but I have plans for other virtual Amiga's with better specs later on.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 13:11   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,576
Does this version not run well on an A500+?

Directory Opus v4.12CU (1994-10-31)(GP Software)[CU Amiga version].adf
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 June 2019, 13:31   #3
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
I tried 4.16 but it wanted Kickstart 3.0 and a 68020, basically a A3000 or A1200 or something.

Thank you for your help I probably have it already but if not I will download from you.

Thank you again DamienD.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 22:24   #4
MrD
Registered User
MrD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 73
I've found that on my A600, most versions of DOpus had high requirements especially memory - I had to use DiskMaster 2 in the end as an alternative.
MrD is offline  
Old 30 June 2019, 23:08   #5
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,250
There was an old 4 colour dark palette version that came on fish disks.
redblade is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 04:40   #6
EchoesFox
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Buckeye, AZ (US)
Posts: 10
I'm using 4.12CU on my 2000, it should work fine on your 500+
EchoesFox is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 08:44   #7
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
I have 2mb fast ram and pretty bare bones. I also had the 4 color version for my real 1mb Amiga 500 in 1990, I think it was shareware or something and more than likely came on a fish-disk.

I just looked and I have 4.0 on ADf, if that does not work my Amiga 500+ will just have to do without and I will make a new A3000 with workbench 3.0 or maybe 3.1 if 3.1 will install on a Amiga 3000 I never made a A3000 I just went from A500+ to a A1200.

The real reason for the Directory Opus is that I do not like my Workbench 2.1 desktop right now, my games HDF drive has that ridiculous floppy icon instead of a drawer and I would like to have faster access to my Workbench 2.1 files via Directory Opus to work on customizing it.

I have that Retro Computer Fever again that I had (but not near as much) back in 2008 when I found Amiga Forever, TOSEC and the ever lovely WHDload.

Thanks again guys.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 10:02   #8
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
The Directory Opus 4.0 ADF worked, Now I have it starting up when I start the Amiga which is not what I wanted but at least it installed and works.

I wish I could put-away the 2 Ramdisk icons away but it will not let me.

Now on to the Amiga 3000, why is this so exiting I do not know.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 21:52   #9
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
Well not that exiting and I cannot get a A3000 rom to work & I do not think even Cloanto has one officially out yet, everyone I pick including what came with Amiga forever 8 will not boot for some reason.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 22:38   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobrpggamer View Post
The Directory Opus 4.0 ADF worked, Now I have it starting up when I start the Amiga which is not what I wanted but at least it installed and works.
There is also Dopus v2 and Dopus V3 (rare)

Quote:
I wish I could put-away the 2 Ramdisk icons away but it will not let me
What exactly would you like to delete, or simply replace, 2 Ramdisk icons? because 2, the system has only one Ramdisk!
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 July 2019, 06:25   #11
XPD
Registered User

XPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Loved 4.12, still got a copy installed along with the config I spent hours on.... all those buttons to do everything I ever needed even play MP3's back when they first came out But alas, even an 030/40MHz struggled with MP3s then
XPD is offline  
Old 18 July 2019, 06:26   #12
XPD
Registered User

XPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Age: 42
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobrpggamer View Post
The Directory Opus 4.0 ADF worked, Now I have it starting up when I start the Amiga which is not what I wanted but at least it installed and works.

I wish I could put-away the 2 Ramdisk icons away but it will not let me.

Now on to the Amiga 3000, why is this so exiting I do not know.
Sure its not a RAM Disk and a RAD disk ?
XPD is offline  
Old 18 July 2019, 16:39   #13
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 52
Yeah its a RAD disk. I have never seen one before, so I was surprised to see two floppy disk icons instead of the usual 1 RAM Disk floppy icon.
bobrpggamer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Directory Opus 2 ptyerman request.Apps 8 05 July 2016 03:50
Directory Opus 5.92 HanSolo support.Apps 1 04 August 2014 17:40
'Loaded' version of Directory Opus 4 Nostromo support.Apps 5 16 September 2013 19:40
Directory Opus 4.12 or later haribootje request.Apps 17 11 October 2009 16:33
Directory Opus 4.12 Steve request.Apps 24 20 November 2001 02:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07610 seconds with 13 queries