English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2017, 09:28   #401
E-Penguin
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 86
Try doing a soft reset (ctrl+amiga+amiga) after it's frozen
E-Penguin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2017, 16:33   #402
softiron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Katowice / Poland
Posts: 5
It seems 28Mhz was too much.
Switched to 14, worked fine, then 21 - this one is also solid rock for my configuration.
softiron is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 22:57   #403
Marty_McFly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
I bought some weeks ago ACA500plus but after about 27 years of honorable career I have been forced to remove my A500 expansion to allow to ACA500plus to work properly.
From what I remember it is a fast ram memory. I always seen 1.8MB of total fast ram as available/free from WBench screen (then I suppose it is a 1.5mb expansion card). The strange thing is that has not a clock despite other expansion cards. I found it connected to a chip, I suppose it is Gary CHIP, right?
Just to help me to identify it, you can find some images below:

http://i63.tinypic.com/oayg5f.jpg

http://oi64.tinypic.com/2lwm1om.jpg

Are you able to identify it?
Is there a way to allow its working with ACA500plus?
Thank you for any help.
Marty_McFly is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 23:19   #404
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,905
The chips on it are each 256k x 4 bit, so that amounts to 1.5MB in total. Have you tried installing it without using the Gary adapter? Perhaps then it would be seen as a 512k expansion.
demolition is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 00:25   #405
Marty_McFly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
I will surely try without the Gary connection. I hope that next versions of firmware could find a solution for this trouble.
I have been forced to remove it because every selection from the ACA500 plus menu gave me a green screen and some mem addresses of error, followed by a fast blink of the red light of my Amiga.
About the name of the expansion card as you can read is written "PC WARE 4990" but I din't find any result via Google...
Thank you for your precious tips.
Marty_McFly is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 13:48   #406
E-Penguin
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 86
It can't be fixed in Firmware - the Gary adapter does stuff the ACA500plus can't "see", so it can never be compatible.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 14:11   #407
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 5,979
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Perhaps just sell the big ranger mem board to someone and get a commonly available 512k expansion in its place, or if you have a rev6 motherboard, solder the chips to the motherboard. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 21:08   #408
Marty_McFly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
Bad news my friends. Just made an attempt only connecting the expansion without the Gary Chip plug and It resulted impossible to start my Amiga. Switching on the power supply the computer remains with a permanent green screen and the blinking red light.

I don't know which revision no. is my Amiga. I bought it in Dec 1989. It has a Kickstart 1.3.
I could evaluate to buy a 512k expansion card, but apart from that I would like at least to understand the difference between chip and fast mem. If I have to look for a 512 chip or fast expansion mem. I had a look to some wiki pages but the difference is not totally clear.

Getting back to ACA500plus, hoping it could be useful to other users of this forum, I tested the following CF cards and I confirm that are perfectly working, both in boot and aux slots (in this case with a simple FAT partition):

- Transcend 4GB 133x
- Kingston 8GB (serial no. 9904318)
- SanDisk Ultra II 4GB 15MB/s

About Aux slot I discovered that it can works as a single floppy.
I made an attempt copying the entire content (files and dirs) of a WB 1.3 disk to an amiga formatted CF, inserting it in the aux slot (insted of boot slot).
After I switched "aux slot on" in ACA menu (F10->F7) and I was really surprised of the outcome because WB has been run as on a floppy!

I tried also inserting the CF with WB inside in the "CF boot slot", I hoped that the CF was handled at the same way as in the other slot (considering that it is a boot slot for formatted amiga CF...) but the CF has been totally ignored. Why?

Anyway I would like to know better the role of the "amiga boot CF slot". Can the latter be used only as HDisk?

Last edited by Marty_McFly; 20 April 2017 at 12:56.
Marty_McFly is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 18:22   #409
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
Is it me, or does the 7MB chip RAM expansion not work in the 0.97 firmware?
vext01 is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 20:29   #410
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 44
The boot CF slot is for your Amiga CF "hard disk".

The AUX slot can be FAT formatted and hot-swapped. Easy to transfer files between PC/Mac and your Amiga.

Very handy!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty_McFly View Post
Bad news my friends. Just made an attempt only connecting the expansion without the Gary Chip plug and It resulted impossible to start my Amiga. Switching on the power supply the computer remains with a permanent green screen and the blinking red light.

I don't know which revision no. is my Amiga. I bought it in Dec 1989. It has a Kickstart 1.3.
I could evaluate to buy a 512k expansion card, but apart from that I would like at least to understand the difference between chip and fast mem. If I have to look for a 512 chip or fast expansion mem. I had a look to some wiki pages but the difference is not totally clear.

Getting back to ACA500plus, hoping it could be useful to other users of this forum, I tested the following CF cards and I confirm that are perfectly working, both in boot and aux slots (in this case with a simple FAT partition):

- Transcend 4GB 133x
- Kingston 8GB (serial no. 9904318)
- SanDisk Ultra II 4GB 15MB/s

About Aux slot I discovered that it can works as a single floppy.
I made an attempt copying the entire content (files and dirs) of a WB 1.3 disk to an amiga formatted CF, inserting it in the aux slot (insted of boot slot).
After I switched "aux slot on" in ACA menu (F10->F7) and I was really surprised of the outcome because WB has been run as on a floppy!

I tried also inserting the CF with WB inside in the "CF boot slot", I hoped that the CF was handled at the same way as in the other slot (considering that it is a boot slot for formatted amiga CF...) but the CF has been totally ignored. Why?

Anyway I would like to know better the role of the "amiga boot CF slot". Can the latter be used only as HDisk?
mattsoft is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:16   #411
E-Penguin
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
Is it me, or does the 7MB chip RAM expansion not work in the 0.97 firmware?
Do you mean 1mb chip or 7mb fast?
E-Penguin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aca500 cfaux elpiloto support.Hardware 0 30 December 2014 23:35
ACA500 in A2000 - possible or not? amigoun support.Hardware 3 21 November 2014 20:09
ACA500 slowdown DonutKing support.Hardware 0 15 April 2014 13:50
ACA500 install gurth support.Hardware 19 23 March 2014 23:16
ACA500 - Who Will Sell This? Smakar support.Hardware 6 01 March 2013 10:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14177 seconds with 14 queries