English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2019, 11:51   #1
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
Is changing the AmigaDOS font possible in 3.1?

Hi all!


I really like the original TOPAZ font in AmigaDOS in 1.3, but I use 3.1 because of WHDLOAD.
So, is there any way to change the font used in 3.1 to the original TOPAZ font in 1.3?
I mean for AmigaDOS, no WB involved.



Also, is there a way to disable/hide mouse cursor in 3.1?


Thanks!
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 20:29   #2
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 34
You mean without using Font preferences? I don't think you can because it uses the font in ROM. but there might be a program/hack that allows it, like everything in Amiga.
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 20:33   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,116
Assuming you have a disk-loadable version of the old-style Topaz font, you can use the FF command like this: FF -n fontname.font
(Optionally remove the -n if you want to use FF's fast-text routines, but they can fail on faster CPUs.)
mark_k is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 20:37   #4
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 34
What is ff and where do you get it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Assuming you have a disk-loadable version of the old-style Topaz font, you can use the FF command like this: FF -n fontname.font
(Optionally remove the -n if you want to use FF's fast-text routines, but they can fail on faster CPUs.)
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 22:34   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,353
FF (Fast Font) is an AmigaDOS command. In C: (WB1.3) and implemented internally in WB2.0+.
It accelerates the text output on screen.
Two argument :
Code:
> FF -0 <.font file>
(number 0) to turn Fast Font on
> FF -N <.font file>
to turn Fast Font off
FF is nice but you may have issues on certain configuration, thus you can use one of the fixed FF available on aminet

Last edited by malko; 13 November 2019 at 22:42.
malko is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 17:46   #6
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 34
Thank you so much, I didn't know that command!
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 15:59   #7
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
Thanks guys! FastFonts on Aminet (http://aminet.net/package/text/font/FastFonts) does NOT seem to be able to actually SET the font for use. It seems to be intended for speeding up the font and thats all. But it does not set the font to the console....
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 16:08   #8
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
In theory even 3.1 should respect original system-configuration file from 1.3.
So look in devs: to find it and bring it into your 3.1 system (but keep original one somewhere, just in case).
Does it have an effect ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 17:02   #9
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 34
system-configuration does not set the font, only colors, mouse speed, pointer.
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 17:28   #10
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
@meynaf:


I found that there is an FF program in 1.3 C: drawer. I copied it over to 3.1 C: drawer, and the command works, I can pass it a font in .font format (I used topaz.font contained here: http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/RetroWB), but the console does not seem to change, it does not change to TOPAZ font, the default 3.1 font remains.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 17:36   #11
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bren McGuire View Post
system-configuration does not set the font, only colors, mouse speed, pointer.
There is no font prefs in 1.3 then ?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
@meynaf:

I found that there is an FF program in 1.3 C: drawer. I copied it over to 3.1 C: drawer, and the command works, I can pass it a font in .font format (I used topaz.font contained here: http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/RetroWB), but the console does not seem to change, it does not change to TOPAZ font, the default 3.1 font remains.
It does not need to change to Topaz font, as default font is topaz (actually topaz 8).

Anyway, in your startup-sequence you may try something like this :
setfont topaz.font 9
(or whatever font you want to use)
meynaf is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 18:12   #12
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
@meynaf: the setfont commad DOES what I wanted!!! Thanks!!!
Whats the maximum size for the TOPAZ font? Is it possible to, lets say, put the MS-DOS font on it for fun? Or other mythical fonts..


Also, do you know how to disable/hide the mouse cursor? There is this small program (http://aminet.net/package/util/mouse/MouseOff) but it does nothing from AmigaDOS in 3.1. Maybe there is a simple C or ASM sequence for hiding the mouse that I can compile with SASC?
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 18:40   #13
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
Whats the maximum size for the TOPAZ font? Is it possible to, lets say, put the MS-DOS font on it for fun? Or other mythical fonts..
If you have a font that's usable by AmigaOS then yes. But of course it must exist in the form of an Amiga font and no, i don't know how to convert these.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
Also, do you know how to disable/hide the mouse cursor? There is this small program (http://aminet.net/package/util/mouse/MouseOff) but it does nothing from AmigaDOS in 3.1. Maybe there is a simple C or ASM sequence for hiding the mouse that I can compile with SASC?
I guess you could setup some empty (only transparent pixels) mouse pointer in 1.3 pointer prefs, then use the resulting system-configuration file...

But why do you want to hide the mouse ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 18:47   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
Also, do you know how to disable/hide the mouse cursor? There is this small program (http://aminet.net/package/util/mouse/MouseOff) but it does nothing from AmigaDOS in 3.1. Maybe there is a simple C or ASM sequence for hiding the mouse that I can compile with SASC?
MouseOff works, but as per ReadMe:

Quote:
'MouseOff' will cause the mouse pointer to disappear after about 10
seconds of inactivity. It will reappear again upon movememt of the
mouse.
You can actually "clear" the mouse pointer through Prefs --> Pointer



What I would do is as follows:
  • Make a copy of your WB 1.3 disk and boot this.
  • Go into Prefs --> Pointer, Clear the mouse pointer and then Save in Preferences.
  • Now copy the "Devs/system-configuration" to the disk / hard drive you want this on.

Last edited by DamienD; 15 November 2019 at 19:20.
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 22:48   #15
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post

But why do you want to hide the mouse ?

Because I LOVE command line interfaces. And I LOVE the Amiga. So I want my Amiga to start as a commandline machine


@DamienD: Wouldnt that imply launching WB so the mouse is hidden? I am building a WB-less enviroment, AmigaDOS only. Does MouseOff work for you in AmigaDOS?
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 11:19   #16
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
Because I LOVE command line interfaces. And I LOVE the Amiga. So I want my Amiga to start as a commandline machine
Me, I don't like having the mouse pointer annoy me when i type text, and found out a simple mouse blanker does the trick. The pointer disappears when you type, and reappears when you move the mouse.
There is one given with the system, in Tools/Commodities/MouseBlanker.
meynaf is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 13:37   #17
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 459
@meynaf: That commoditie is ALMOST what I want. Instead of waiting for text input to hide the mouse, I would like it to hide the mouse as the blanker is executed.
Isnt there a simple system call to hide the mouse? Something I can compile in C.
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 14:33   #18
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
@meynaf: That commoditie is ALMOST what I want. Instead of waiting for text input to hide the mouse, I would like it to hide the mouse as the blanker is executed.
Isnt there a simple system call to hide the mouse? Something I can compile in C.
There is no simple system call to hide the mouse, sorry.
meynaf is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 19:48   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
@DamienD: Wouldnt that imply launching WB so the mouse is hidden? I am building a WB-less enviroment, AmigaDOS only.
No, not at all. Just follow my instruction in post #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaula92 View Post
Does MouseOff work for you in AmigaDOS?
You mean as opposed to a Workbench installation?

Hmmm, I believe I tested this and it worked but...

Thing I don't like about MouseOff is that you can't just completely switch it off immediately. I don't want a 10 second delay and some people may also not want the mouse to re-enable upon movement.
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 20:28   #20
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,116
You can set a blank pointer for a window your program owns using SetPointer().

For a global change, you could use GetPrefs() to get a copy of the current Preferences structure, modify the pointer data then use SetPrefs() to make the change take effect. However that won't work if running on Kickstart 2.0+ after IPrefs has been run. But it should be okay for use on a bootable floppy disk.
mark_k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing date/timestamp of AmigaDOS directory? rhester72 support.Apps 1 28 May 2015 00:42
AmigaDos Hockmiester New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 April 2013 09:01
AmigaDOS manual amiga request.Other 5 29 November 2009 00:34
AmigaDOS Swordlord New to Emulation or Amiga scene 28 06 March 2004 00:31
AmigaDOS help BippyM Amiga scene 1 09 July 2003 00:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09846 seconds with 13 queries