English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2015, 00:29   #1
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 791
Best way to play Monkey Island 2?

I have the actual box with disks and I've got .adf files for each floppy (phew!). I also have a .hdf file and was hoping to create a config file that pointed to it - but it doesn't boot which I assume is because workbench is required.

I also have ClassicWB installation media but at this stage I'm very confused. Do I need to create another disk image and install Classic WB on it, boot that and attach the Monkey Island 2 disk image also?

Any guidance appreciated!

Ten
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 00:39   #2
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,975
I'm sure there is already a WHD load version of this game which might be the best option to avoid having to change through all those floppy disks...
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 02:25   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
I also have a .hdf file and was hoping to create a config file that pointed to it - but it doesn't boot which I assume is because workbench is required.
Since no-one can guess what this .hdf file you have contains, it is impossible to give a guaranteed correct answer. But yes, it is possible you have a non-bootable hard drive image which contains the game. If so, you could try booting with a Workbench disk in DF0 (and with the .hdf added as a hard drive) and see if the hard drive shows up, and if so, if you have the game there...

(I don't see any reason why you need to install ClassicWB for this...)[/QUOTE]
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 06 February 2015, 11:46   #4
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 791
Thanks guys. Frode, I went with your idea because it was more straight forward. But I'll also consider going the ClassicWB + WHD load option in future for a more retro experience so thanks lesta_smsc too!

PS: Frode, I used the FS-UAE launcher to quickly experiment with adf/hdf/amiga model settings. But now I'm going to create a config file so I can call it with a desktop icon. It would be nice if there was a feature to spit out an fs-uae config file for a given config in the launcher.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monkey Island Play on YouTube Bloodwych Nostalgia & memories 15 15 November 2008 15:13
monkey island 2 gotmashed MarketPlace 0 16 June 2006 12:43
Monkey Island LaundroMat support.Games 6 17 January 2005 02:07
Monkey Island Unregistered support.Games 3 23 September 2002 15:44
monkey island 2 phill request.Old Rare Games 2 28 December 2001 15:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07112 seconds with 15 queries