English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2014, 18:06   #1
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Accelerator board emulation

Hy Tony,
it possibile emulate too Apollo 4040/4060.

Thanks, By.
Zilog is offline  
Old 21 July 2014, 19:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Hy Tony,
it possibile emulate too Apollo 4040/4060.
I don't see much point. Hardware has no unique features and SCSI is fully software based (software directly writes and reads SCSI data and status lines)

There is one interesting point: ROM dump download contains full Apollo rom and driver sources. (http://amigaromarchives.limewebs.com/). But still not worth the trouble because there is no low level SCSI emulation, all existing SCSI drivers use 33c93 or 53c710 chips in high level mode. ("Do this data transfer command, thanks. I don't care how you do it, just do it.")
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 July 2014, 15:10   #3
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Emulate CyberStorm Mk3

Hy Tony,
onother question, i ask if possibile

It possible emulation CyberStorm Mk3?

Thans.
Zilog.
Zilog is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 12:11   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
(Moved from 282 beta thread)

Cyberstorm boards surprisingly are possibility because they have 53c770 SCSI which is sort of emulated (by using original qemu 53c8xx code, not 53c710 hacked version. 720 and later chips are quite similar, 710 is very different)

Most fun feature would be CSPPC without any PPC chip emulated emulation. It would cause lots of confusion. Which would be interesting to see
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 13:46   #5
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Most fun feature would be CSPPC without any PPC chip emulated emulation. It would cause lots of confusion. Which would be interesting to see
You want to see lots of threads named "Why won't AmigaOS 4.1 run with CSPPC emulation" in support.WinUAE then
jbenam is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 17:32   #6
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(Moved from 282 beta thread)

Most fun feature would be CSPPC without any PPC chip emulated emulation. It would cause lots of confusion. Which would be interesting to see
Ok, i understand
Anyway i am interesting only at 680x0 version http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/cyberstorm3 and not at http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/cyberstormppc with ppc cpu

Ok! Thanks a lot
By Zilog.
Zilog is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 21:53   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
It was easier than I expected. CyberStorm MK3 is now working, mostly. Boot menu appears (ESC key), SCSI (cybppc.device) automounts and boots!

Board register information is mostly unknown. Fortunately there was one linux patch that included register names (but not function). I mostly guessed how the most important one works (SCSI interrupt) but the rest is unknown, including maprom or memory mapping.

(Yes, totally pointless and so on except for system level/OS developers)

EDIT: Flash update utility also runs now and updates the virtual ROM

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 July 2014 at 22:47.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 23:40   #8
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 405
Great - throw in the MK2 as well and I finally have a near 1:1 replica of my 4000 in software.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 24 July 2014, 01:58   #9
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It was easier than I expected. CyberStorm MK3 is now working, mostly. Boot menu appears (ESC key), SCSI (cybppc.device) automounts and boots!

Board register information is mostly unknown. Fortunately there was one linux patch that included register names (but not function). I mostly guessed how the most important one works (SCSI interrupt) but the rest is unknown, including maprom or memory mapping.

(Yes, totally pointless and so on except for system level/OS developers)

EDIT: Flash update utility also runs now and updates the virtual ROM
Very Great!
Zilog is offline  
Old 24 July 2014, 11:43   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
CS MK3 emulation has one problem/feature: flash rom is also used for storing CyberStorm bootmenu settings. (last 16k sector of flash) which means flash contents also needs to be saved back to disk under emulation if it is modified. (by bootmenu or flash update utility).

Flash also contains board serial number (which is zeros in flash update file, serial number data is preserved when flashing)

This also means it is not possible to autodetect rom image using checksums.

I guess yet another rom selection box is needed..

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
Great - throw in the MK2 as well and I finally have a near 1:1 replica of my 4000 in software.
We'll see.. SCSI is the annoying part (FAS216 = 53C94 clone and it needs external DMA controller) and imho without SCSI it isn't that interesting..

SCSI flash update contains unscrambled contents but CPU board rom ("diagrom") contents are not included. Could you do following test (without SCSI board connected if you have one):

Does CSMK2 autoconfig entry/entries appear in early boot menu? EDIT: and if there is any, find the autoconfig base address (showconfig, artm, scout, sysinfo and so on) and save it to file too. (It is probably either 64k or 128k autoconfig slot). This may not create 100% correct image but should be good enough for testing.

Dump $f00000 region to file. (It probably has usual "VER: 68060 BootStrap V1.x..." string)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 24 July 2014 at 12:21.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 July 2014, 22:07   #11
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
CS MK3 emulation has one problem/feature: flash rom is also used for storing CyberStorm bootmenu settings. (last 16k sector of flash) which means flash contents also needs to be saved back to disk under emulation if it is modified. (by bootmenu or flash update utility).

Flash also contains board serial number (which is zeros in flash update file, serial number data is preserved when flashing)

This also means it is not possible to autodetect rom image using checksums.

I guess yet another rom selection box is needed..
Ok, is perfect. I wait for at beta version when possible.
Zilog is offline  
Old 24 July 2014, 23:19   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Some more news but first lets repeat: No, there is no PPC emulation!

CyberStorm PPC (which is practically same as CSMK3) and Blizzard PPC (which is mix of both Blizzard 12xx and CSMK3 designs) boards are now supported.

Technically it emulates board without PPC chip (and PPC extra logic). Which surprisingly does not break m68k side, boot rom still works, boot menu works, flash updater works, SCSI works and so on.

Beta will be out tomorrow, maybe.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 July 2014, 23:41   #13
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Some more news but first lets repeat: No, there is no PPC emulation!

CyberStorm PPC (which is practically same as CSMK3) and Blizzard PPC (which is mix of both Blizzard 12xx and CSMK3 designs) boards are now supported.

Technically it emulates board without PPC chip (and PPC extra logic). Which surprisingly does not break m68k side, boot rom still works, boot menu works, flash updater works, SCSI works and so on.

Beta will be out tomorrow, maybe.
Yes, no pcc, ok!...Perhaps, too CSMK3 is same CyberStorm PPC, the name of board in the menu winaue is better
"CyberStorm Mk3 (No PPC emulation)"; to avoid confusion.
Zilog is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 00:58   #14
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Which surprisingly does not break m68k side, boot rom still works, boot menu works, flash updater works, SCSI works and so on.
Does that mean the real card should behave in the same way?

I'm asking because I have a BlizzardPPC which I bought as broken (oscillator sockets completely torn off and other mad "repairs" done on board...) and it's not booting. I started wondering if a bad PPC could stop the card from booting entirely, but I never got a real answer on that

Maybe you can enlight me on that one with your unlimited Amiga knowledge, Toni Thanks!
jbenam is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 09:09   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
Does that mean the real card should behave in the same way?
No idea. It is possible PPC glue logic gets confused or it needs some signals from the PPC CPU before m68k is enabled or something. It is very complex hardware.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 15:28   #16
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Cybervision Ppc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Some more news but first lets repeat: No, there is no PPC emulation!

CyberStorm PPC (which is practically same as CSMK3) and Blizzard PPC (which is mix of both Blizzard 12xx and CSMK3 designs) boards are now supported.

Technically it emulates board without PPC chip (and PPC extra logic). Which surprisingly does not break m68k side, boot rom still works, boot menu works, flash updater works, SCSI works and so on.

Beta will be out tomorrow, maybe.
Great!

Another quest...Tony you thinks that interesting and possible emulate the graphics card Cybervision PPC ;not centre with cpu ppc, but function also with CyberStorm Mk3.

By.
Zilog is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 17:54   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,337
53C94/FAS216 SCSI chip emulation is now working (esp.c from qemu, was really easy to use in UAE). Blizzard 2060 SCSI now boots. Blizzard SCSI Kit and others later..

EDIT: 1230 / 1260 + SCSI Kit IV done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Great!

Another quest...Tony you thinks that interesting and possible emulate the graphics card Cybervision PPC ;not centre with cpu ppc, but function also with CyberStorm Mk3.

By.
Graphics chips are really complex (VGA stuff is complex and strange and most of them have very custom blitter chips and other stuff that Amiga RTG, especially CGX uses very heavily).

QEMU has some other chips (than already used Cirrus Logic chip) but at least CL was not very well emulated for non-PC platforms and required lots of changes. Maybe someday..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 25 July 2014 at 18:58.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 18:12   #18
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is serious answer from me, for once about PPC: I don't do anything PPC but it is possible (unlikely but possible) to bolt some external PPC CPU-only emulator to Blizzard/CSPPC emulation and see what happens.
Following on this from the WinUAE Beta thread - do you surmise it would be possible to get the PPC emulation core from something like PearPC and have that run the PPC while WinUAE does the 68k part?
jbenam is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 18:21   #19
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
53C94/FAS216 SCSI chip emulation is now working (esp.c from qemu, was really easy to use in UAE). Blizzard 2060 SCSI now boots. Blizzard SCSI Kit and others later..



Graphics chips are really complex (VGA stuff is complex and strange and most of them have very custom blitter chips and other stuff that Amiga RTG, especially CGX uses very heavily).

QEMU has some other chips (than already used Cirrus Logic chip) but at least CL was not very well emulated for non-PC platforms and required lots of changes. Maybe someday..
Ok! Great Work with the acceleration card, really great work!
Zilog is offline  
Old 25 July 2014, 18:35   #20
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Could you do following test (without SCSI board connected if you have ...
Dump $f00000 region to file. (It probably has usual "VER: 68060 BootStrap V1.x..." string)
Give me a few days...
bubbob42 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted A1200 accelerator board rossi46 MarketPlace 0 16 January 2012 00:11
A1200 Accelerator Board Lorfarius MarketPlace 2 06 April 2010 23:58
Will someone fix my A1200 accelerator board? bigfoot support.Hardware 37 18 December 2008 17:37
[Wanted] A1200 Accelerator board bob808 MarketPlace 6 04 May 2006 11:02
A1200 Accelerator Board confusion Nicadeemas support.Hardware 4 11 May 2002 18:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09017 seconds with 14 queries