English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2010, 21:59   #41
msayed1977
Better than the Original
msayed1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 146
Beta 3 hangs with 'Kick Off 2' after title screen.
Even pressing F12 does NOT work.
msayed1977 is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:01   #42
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by msayed1977 View Post
Beta 3 hangs with 'Kick Off 2' after title screen.
Even pressing F12 does NOT work.

Encounterd the same problem in Hivelytracker... Program locks up., but I can still move the mouse pointer....Pressing F12 does nothing..
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:04   #43
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Hmmm.... Pressing F12 doesnt seem to work at all in any configurations, including Quickstart modes.
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:16   #44
kkgarbod
The Human/Gray Hybrid

kkgarbod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreakyDan View Post
Hmmm.... Pressing F12 doesnt seem to work at all in any configurations, including Quickstart modes.
Can Confirm it
kkgarbod is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:18   #45
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Actually no keys work at all...
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:28   #46
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
It is quite obvious that F12 works fine here -> more information required, including logs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 July 2010, 22:33   #47
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Here you have Toni..
Actually the emulation doesnt seem to register any keypresses.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.1 KB, 188 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (7.9 KB, 186 views)
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 23:21   #48
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip work better?

Do you have any keyboards listed in input panel compared to previous beta? (not inckuding possible "null keyboard")

If still not working: press random keys 10 or so times and attach winuaelog.txt again.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 July 2010, 23:35   #49
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Yes, this new one works better.
I now see an HID Keyboard Device 0a81/0101
The previous beta showed no keyboard in the input panel.
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 16 July 2010, 23:52   #50
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreakyDan View Post
Yes, this new one works better.
I now see an HID Keyboard Device 0a81/0101
The previous beta showed no keyboard in the input panel.
Great but I don't understand why it worked in previous beta.. (one rawinput keyboard = ignore them completely, "unfortunately" both of my test PCs have two logical keyboards)

Do you also see "winuae null keyboard" in keyboard listing?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 July 2010, 23:53   #51
FreakyDan
Freaky Dan

 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 92
Yes, there is a null keyboard in both versions.
FreakyDan is offline  
Old 17 July 2010, 15:30   #52
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
This was quite stupid bug..

Rawinput enumeration still had old compatibility test (single very normal looking "if" hiding there), if only one rawinput keyboard: skip rawinput keyboard enumeration but "null keyboard" was still added -> directinput fallback code detected rawinput as enabled -> no fallback -> no keyboard input..

This also explains reports of no found rawinput keyboards.

I never noticed because G-series Logitech keyboards have 2 logical keyboards (main keyboard and G macro keys), even my laptop have 2 logical keyboards (PS/2 and HID, perhaps PS/2 is some backwards compatibility feature?)

Better wait for next beta (unless you have 2 or more keyboards )

Final big CD related change needs to be finished first, unified CD handling, each CD unit "slot" can have different CD setup (image file+scsi emulation, drive+scsi emulation, drive+scsi passthrough) at the same time and all can be changed on the fly. Plus SCSI audio CD emulation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 July 2010, 21:58   #53
Maccara
The Spanish Songstress
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I never noticed because G-series Logitech keyboards have 2 logical keyboards (main keyboard and G macro keys), even my laptop have 2 logical keyboards (PS/2 and HID, perhaps PS/2 is some backwards compatibility feature?)
Not directly related to the issue, but close:

BIOS -> legacy mode USB input supoprt -> PS/2 keyboard visible when connected to USB.

(not sure if this is "exactly" the same way on every MB, but has been on a couple I tested so far)
Maccara is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 13:57   #54
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2210b3.zip

Beta 3 (I guess it will be 2.3 after all..)
Keyboard stopped working altogether. Only Alt-Tab and Alt-F4 work, nothing else, not even F12. Beta 2 works ok.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (14.7 KB, 181 views)
thomas is online now  
Old 18 July 2010, 13:59   #55
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Have you tried that fix thomas?
TCD is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 14:41   #56
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Have you tried that fix thomas?

Sorry, I must have been blind. I completely missed the second page of this thread. Yes, with this fix it works again.
thomas is online now  
Old 18 July 2010, 18:26   #57
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2210b4.zip

Beta 4:

- rawinput was disabled if only one keyboard device was detected, input didn't work at all in b3 because of null keyboard (detected only one rawinput keyboard = it was ignore but null keyboard was still added later -> more than one keyboard -> do not fallback to directinput..)
- redirect unknown rawinput messages to null keyboard (shouldn't happen but you never know..)
- spaces not allowed in directory filesystem volume name (wrong validation routine used)
- bottom border was half-blanked in some doublescanned modes

Another major CD update. CD configuration unified, now any CD unit "slot" can point to different CD backend (image mounter + scsi emulation, IOCTL drive + scsi emulation, SPTI drive + scsi passthrough) On the fly changes fully supported. CD mess is nearly gone, code is finally structured logically without special cases. (this finally made SCSI emulation quite easy to implement)

- SCSI emulation is now the default SCSI mode (CDFS and audio tracks always work, switch to SPTI if you need advanced stuff like cd writing) Some audio CD players work for the first time now because some SCSI commands have been obsoleted long time ago like PLAY TRACK/INDEX
- CD audio DAE emulation does not attempt to play data tracks anymore
- added most common CD audio SCSI commands to SCSI emulator, OS3.5+ PlayCD confirmed working. Following new SCSI command added: START/STOP, STOP PLAY/SCAN, SCAN, PLAY AUDIO MSF, PLAY AUDIO, PLAY CD, PLAY TRACK/INDEX, PAUSE/RESUME, READ SUB-CHANNEL, READ TOC, MODE SENSE/MODE SELECT (cd audio volume page only), READ CD and READ CF MSF (only audio extraction supported + subchannel options)
- added CD audio io commands to uaescsi.device (most programs use HD_SCSICMD)
- emulated INQUIRY vendor, product and revision fetched from real device if possible

Testing:

Load your normal WB3.x configuration (that uses uaescsi.device CDROMs), start emulation normally. (This and following betas force SCSI Emulation mode!) Report all changes, including logs, SCSI emulation logging is enabled.

Notes:

GUI selection overrides slot 0, for example if you normally have D:\ = uaescsi.device unit 0 and E:\ = uaescsi.device unit 1, mounting a cd image "ejects" whatever is in unit 0 and replaces it with image file.

If CD32 or CDTV is started in "autodetect" mode and it chose unit 1 or later (CD32/CDTV or Audio CD inserted), unit 0 changes are ignored until original drive becomes empty. This needs to be more intelligent.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 July 2010, 19:39   #58
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Not sure if showing sucess is ok in beta thread, but I can confirm a few titles working/not working scsiemulation and uaescsi.device.

Working: OS39 CDPlayer, Bubble Heroes, T-Zero, Kang Fu,

Not working: Clickboom Quake, Hyperion Quake II, Napalm, Genetic Species, Foundation, Earth 2140 , Exodus Last war, Land of Genesis (Almost works - Title track plays, but breaks at a track change), Shadow of Third Moon, Virtual Ball Fighters

Note: foundation seems to work in spti mode with analogue audio cable connected to drive if supported)

Bad stuff: Winuae crashes if swapping between image and real cd modes.
Diskchange seems to be broken. When ejecting disk, audio tracks dismount but filesystem is still shown mounted. (both spti and scsiemu modes)

If a cd is inserted or mounted before workbench has booted then the emulated amiga will crash when workbench screen opens. This can happen on real amiga as well, but not everytime like is happening here. Latest CacheCDFS used, but ive had it happen on any cdfs on real amiga.

Edit: Had CD0 mountfile break a couple of times - not really sure what going on here.

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 19 July 2010 at 22:30.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 18 July 2010, 21:42   #59
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Not sure if showing sucess is ok in beta thread, but I can confirm that Bubble heroes is now working with CD Audio through uaescsi.device. Quake and Napalm currently not working. Will add some more as i test a few.
It is perfectly fine, at least they confirm that something is working correctly
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 July 2010, 14:10   #60
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2300b5.zip

Beta 5

- version number bumped to 2.3
- few lines of non-filter scanlines was missing in bottom part of display
- audio DMA start interrupt is now immediate after starting DMA in too fast CPU modes (normally when audio state changes to 5), fixes EasyACDDA hang. Seems to be yet another audio.device bug when CPU and memory is "too fast"..

More CD related changes and updates:

- unified CD32/CDTV CD unit allocation, also internal unit number is always zero = GUI CD media change now work as expected
- CDTV frontpanel Stop now quits frontpanel/CD+G mode correctly
- added more obsolete SCSI commands: PLAY AUDIO TRACK RELATIVE (10) and (12) and PLAY AUDIO (12) (10-byte version was added in b4)
- CDTV subchannel hardware interrupt timing improved, CD+G works in cycle-exact mode now
- cd configuration code cleanups
- added mds/mdf image format (only v1 and first session, v2 appears to be scrambled..)
- cdimage0 in configuration file now disables all following units (backwards compatiblity) add 2 or more cdimage[0-7]= lines in increasing order if you want multiple units configured
- cue/ccd/iso/mds detection in zipped cd images stopped working
- moved 2048 to 2352 byte sector conversion code to generic image mounter code from CD32 emulation, CD32 FMV ROM now detects VideoCDs (and then it hangs)
- mp3 cd audio: detect audio length using ID3v2 TLEN tag if it exists, assume it is CBR MP3 if first 100 frames have equal bit rate, fallback to original slow full file scan if no tags and VBR
- remove mp3 decoding time from audio playback delay time, keeps av sync if decoding takes less than 2 seconds
- FLAC CD audio tracks supported (cue/iso/flac), perhaps this will be useful in future.. (remember to redownload winuaeinclibs.zip if you want to recompile this or future versions)
- note that currently both mp3 and flac decoding needs to finish before playback starts which can take few seconds on slow machines
- some XP-only CD access issues fixed, tested on VMware workstation (donated by Cloanto). VirtualPC sucks too much.
- when looking for cue/iso/ccd/mds inside archives: do not attempt to autodetect (unpack) other files. CD image archives containing audio tracks should start faster now (all audio tracks are still unpacked at startup but previously they were unpacked twice)

Future todo: hardware IDE (ATAPI) and SCSI emulation to CD SCSI emulation connection, no big CD GUI updates until it has been designed. (won't be done in this beta series)
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 11:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 16:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 1.5.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 58 09 November 2008 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09346 seconds with 14 queries