English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 March 2019, 13:47   #1321
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 656
Thanks, yes you have to configure a card type that Amithlon supports in the kernel. Kernel 3.10 supports the one you listed and kernel4 can support the Intel E1000 option.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 27 March 2019, 20:18   #1322
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
This is how Amithlon AfA-OS performs everything at the same time, see screenshots:

- FFPlay performs MP4 video 640 x 480
- AmigaAMP performs a Playlist of an Internet Radio
- Warp3D runs The Mad Cow
- TKPlayer plays a high quality MP3 player
- NetSurf related to Amiganews.it

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 29 May 2019 at 23:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 March 2019, 02:38   #1323
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Installed my custom version of AfA-OS on Amithlon, see video

Test Video: Amithlon AfA-OS

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 29 March 2019 at 09:15.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 31 March 2019, 15:27   #1324
Falke_34
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Can someone please make me a 50MB bigird.gz?
Falke_34 is offline  
Old 31 March 2019, 21:16   #1325
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 66
@AMIGASYSTEM can you please walk me through how you got networking to work in virtual box with amithlon?
cloverskull is offline  
Old 31 March 2019, 22:12   #1326
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
@AMIGASYSTEM can you please walk me through how you got networking to work in virtual box with amithlon?

See screenshot:

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 20 April 2019 at 11:55.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 April 2019, 09:45   #1327
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Amithlon VM: HardFile sharing with WinUAE

Create shared Hardfiles
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 09 April 2019, 15:10   #1328
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 62
Im curious about what "Setconfig >NIL: Loadroms: 1" do...
anyone of you, older amithlon users knows what can be done with it?
pcotter is offline  
Old 10 April 2019, 00:16   #1329
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcotter View Post
Im curious about what "Setconfig >NIL: Loadroms: 1" do...
anyone of you, older amithlon users knows what can be done with it?
From Bernie himself..

Quote:
loadroms: For development purposes only. Leave this alone
Other than that I haven't looked at it...
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 12 April 2019, 07:38   #1330
basshead
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney/Australia
Posts: 12
This may have already been asked, but searching such detail may be difficult...

Is it possible to copy the original Amithlon CD onto a USB drive and boot from USB drive? The reason I ask is because I have an old netbook that doesn’t have a CD rom drive to see if it will run Amithlon.

I have the original Amithlon box set.
basshead is offline  
Old 12 April 2019, 08:02   #1331
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 59
Yes, it is possible and it also allows you to easily modify the start-up.....to play with the settings.....easier than burning CDs...



I think I used a program called Rufus or something...don't recall right now....it creates a bootable CD image on the USB drive....
croupier is offline  
Old 21 April 2019, 15:11   #1332
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 53
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by croupier View Post
Yes, it is possible and it also allows you to easily modify the start-up.....to play with the settings.....easier than burning CDs...



I think I used a program called Rufus or something...don't recall right now....it creates a bootable CD image on the USB drive....
Do update us if you can confirm which works (and your Basshead). Thx
Methanoid is offline  
Old 21 April 2019, 23:18   #1333
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 59
I created my bootable USB Amithlon install image using Rufus 3.1....but any version will be ok....

Then you can add on the drive all the new Amithlon kernels...3.1 and 4....and modify/create the batch files (called by loadlin @) for each kernel so you can test which kernel will work on your laptop....quite rarely you will get a boot with the old/original kernel....I managed to start Amithlon from a USB installation image using kernels 3 and/or 4 on my Toshiba NB100 and I think I was playing around also on an Asus eee....don't remember how far I managed to get on this notebook....

Anyway....Amithlon installation from a USB works OK....

But there is one issue with these USB only laptops....you have to improvise how to get all the needed Amiga files on the new Amithlon partition.....as the USB port will be accessible for the Amiga only after Poseidon is installed and IF the USB ports are recognised by Amithlon!!
croupier is offline  
Old 08 May 2019, 16:01   #1334
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 53
Posts: 1,748
Hi, back and wondering about AMithlon....

Are there any supported Nvidia PCIe cards (Not VESA!)? Is Amithlon still limited to only having a total of 1GB Ram in the box to boot?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 08 May 2019, 16:09   #1335
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 656
I have not found a Nvidia PCIe card that works other than in vesa mode. The Matrox G550 PCIe card does work.

Yes, limited to 1 GB of installed system ram. This won't ever change unfortunately.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 09 May 2019, 12:41   #1336
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 53
Posts: 1,748
Thanks, so PCI FX5200 it is then!! I picked up a cheap basic machine for a play!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 12:56   #1337
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
The Matrox G550 PCIe card does work.
It was offered for free at one (aside from recipient paying P&P):
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ghlight=matrox
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 09 May 2019, 13:14   #1338
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Thanks, so PCI FX5200 it is then!! I picked up a cheap basic machine for a play!
The nVidia PCI FX5200 is a great card for Amithlon.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 09 May 2019, 13:19   #1339
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
It was offered for free at one (aside from recipient paying P&P):
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ghlight=matrox
That's the PCI version of the card, which does work well in Amithlon. The PCIe version works as well, for those needing to free up a PCI slot or lacking in them.

The biggest issue with the Matrox cards is they are limited to 4 MB in Amithlon, so even a 32 MB card will be configured as a 4 MB card. Granted, 16 MB is the most you'll have in Amithlon for whatever graphics card you have, 4 MB does limit the resolution and color depth you can use.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 09 May 2019, 21:19   #1340
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 53
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
The nVidia PCI FX5200 is a great card for Amithlon.
Gary Colville's kernel says it has "Support for GeForce PCX PCIe cards"

Is that not the same as the FX5200 PCIe card - https://videocardz.net/nvidia-geforce-pcx-5300/ seems to suggest it is?


Also is Intel 82579LM GbE Network Connection (integrated) one of the supported Intel LAN cards (or chips) ??
Methanoid is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first guide - Drakkhen leveling guide Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 08 April 2010 22:35
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 23:51
Amithlon-Guide / PDF-version Paul News 0 10 March 2006 16:43
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 03:43
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 20:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11879 seconds with 14 queries