English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2004, 02:32   #1
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 49
Posts: 97
Amiga 500 with Commodore Key ?

Just found an old non-working Amiga 500 (KS 1.2) with an interesting keyboard (US layout)...Instead of two Amiga keys, what would be the left Amiga Key is an A1000 style Commodore key....Anybody knows more ? The keyboard also has a nicer feel to it but other than that it seems to be standard...Any help is greatly appreciated....
HCF is offline  
Old 11 December 2004, 05:55   #2
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 37
Posts: 185
i think i've heard something about early a500 models having a commodore key
my kick 1.2 model has a normal amiga key so this must have been changed before they stopped making kick 1.2 miggies
other that that i don't know much about this
hal is offline  
Old 11 December 2004, 21:28   #3
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,781
I've got one (working!). The keys are worse than the ones that came after it imo, feels more "numb", the keys "bottom out" too soon. The color feels a bit strange too, the print on the keys is not as black as the newer ones.
Photon is offline  
Old 11 December 2004, 21:37   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Here is mine. The keyboard came from a 1.2 machine. Now I'm using it on my main 1.3 machine because it is the BEST amiga keyboard I have ever used. The keys are heavy and you feel the clicks unlike later keyboards.

The keyboard is also completely different inside. If you lose a key, a replacement isn't likely to be found.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ckey.jpg
Views:	833
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	7676  

Last edited by oldpx; 11 December 2004 at 21:47.
 
Old 12 December 2004, 00:39   #5
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 37
Posts: 185
wait a minute...
i do have a miggy with a commodore key..
it's the kick 1.3 miggy of my brother's
but it might well be an upgraded former kick 1.2 machine
(and yes it does feel nicer...)
(i've got 3 a500's)
i guess you can put that keypboard into a functioning a500 or repair that one
hal is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 07:16   #6
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal
wait a minute...
i do have a miggy with a commodore key..
it's the kick 1.3 miggy of my brother's
but it might well be an upgraded former kick 1.2 machine
(and yes it does feel nicer...)
(i've got 3 a500's)
i guess you can put that keypboard into a functioning a500 or repair that one
All *MY* A500's (1.3 or upgraded to 2.04) all have normal keyboards, not the CBM key.
whiteb is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 08:42   #7
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 49
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal
wait a minute...
i do have a miggy with a commodore key..
it's the kick 1.3 miggy of my brother's
but it might well be an upgraded former kick 1.2 machine
(and yes it does feel nicer...)
(i've got 3 a500's)
i guess you can put that keypboard into a functioning a500 or repair that one
Definitely going to replace my current A500 keyboard if it is in working condition since I like how it feels....Wish my PC keyboard would be like that....<sigh>

Actually I looked into one of the User Guides (KS 1.3 I believe...got a few around so not 100% sure) that came with the Amiga 500 and it has the Commodore key in the pictures but only refers to Amiga keys....Seems Commodore standardized that as much as they have the LED colors...

Wonder if any different functionality was planned since the keys are treated differently...? Anybody has more information on that or on how the different parts were referenced by Commodore if I wanted to do research on my own...?
HCF is offline  
Old 12 December 2004, 11:35   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,435
No different functionality, just a matter of design. I guess Commodore wanted a bit of their legacy there.

I have one for the A500 and one for the A2000 and they're really great to type on, much nicer than the mitsumi keyboards that came later.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 December 2004, 20:00   #9
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Yes, only the very first Amiga-500s had the C= key.
Actually the case was different, too ! The C= logo on the upper right side of the A-500 was molded in plastic and is not an extra part like it was on later A-500s.
These first Amiga-500s are quite expensive ! Collectors buy/sell them for about 60 to 80 Euro !
Overdoc is offline  
Old 14 December 2004, 20:54   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParallaxScroll
The keys are heavy and you feel the clicks unlike later keyboards.
I hate clicky keyboards. What I love about my A600, A1200 and iBook is that the keys are soft and you dont have to smash them nor feel an impact coming from the key because they click. Typing like this is faster and inobstrusive.
Akira is offline  
Old 14 December 2004, 21:21   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
They are not clicky. You feel the clicks
 
Old 15 December 2004, 16:24   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Same shit
Akira is offline  
Old 15 December 2004, 18:56   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
No
 
Old 19 December 2004, 10:55   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,435
I like a little tactile feedback to know when to stop pressing.. My ideal keyboard is pretty loose, but with a tactile click to tell my fingers that the connection was made (Mmm, Keytronic KT-102).. I can type really fast on keyboards like that.. (and no, I don't press the keys with a lot of force)
Jope is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 17:28   #15
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 837
yep my A500 with kick 1.2 has got a commy key too my other A500 with kick 1.3 doesnt so Im sure the keybaords with the commie key were very early models..
klx300r is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 22:04   #16
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 45
Posts: 617
my first A500 did have a CBM key... pity I sold that one (but how should I know back then)

I also remember different mobo revisions... this first one if I recall correctly had 16 RAM chips for the 512Kb chip RAM...

The A500 I have in my closet (I have to check the kb on this but I doubt it has CBM key) has 4 RAM chips plus 4 I added (on chip plugs please!), and made them switchable as chip or fast...
NLS is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 22:15   #17
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
commie key
commie key, harr, harr...
Shoonay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500: main return key dead. Muzer support.Hardware 2 22 September 2012 02:07
Wanted - Commodore Amiga 500 j_sntos MarketPlace 7 30 April 2012 17:53
FS Boxed Commodore Amiga 500 gavt2003 MarketPlace 7 13 November 2011 22:51
for sale: very old Amiga-500 with C= key - boxed !! Overdoc MarketPlace 12 08 December 2010 21:25
Blinky Capslock key in Amiga 500 pulley support.Hardware 5 19 October 2002 01:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08521 seconds with 14 queries