English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2004, 20:19   #1
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
wireless lan

Hi all,

anyone got a wireless NE2000 compatible PCMCIA network card up and running on an amiga?

would save me no end of agro......
Interceptor is offline  
Old 13 February 2004, 22:15   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
It´s not possible (yet ?) ....

You need to have extra software that handle the data transfer between the TCP/IP Stack and the WLan Card and that software isn´t available on AmigaOS
RetroMan is offline  
Old 20 February 2004, 11:32   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Re: wireless lan

Quote:
Originally posted by Interceptor
Hi all,

anyone got a wireless NE2000 compatible PCMCIA network card up and running on an amiga?

would save me no end of agro......
cnet.device might partially work, but where do you enter the SSID and the WEP key..

I think the way to go with Amigas is to use a media converter connected to a normal wired ethernet card.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 February 2004, 12:40   #4
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,548
Re: Re: wireless lan

Quote:
Originally posted by Jope
cnet.device might partially work, but where do you enter the SSID and the WEP key..

I think the way to go with Amigas is to use a media converter connected to a normal wired ethernet card.
I too was wondering this.

My belief is that you would need a specially coded wireless driver, and what cards are compatible with CBM's half arsed attempt at PCMCIA ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 26 February 2004, 13:59   #5
FromWithin
Music lord

FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 619
Re: Re: Re: wireless lan

Quote:
Originally posted by whiteb
I too was wondering this.

My belief is that you would need a specially coded wireless driver, and what cards are compatible with CBM's half arsed attempt at PCMCIA ?
It wasn't half-hearted. The final PCMCIA specifications hadn't yet been finished, so Commodore just had to go with the then current draft.
FromWithin is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA 32 BITS LAN for the A1200 Fabie support.Hardware 5 07 October 2010 22:42
Amiga <-> Pc Lan piemmeweb support.Hardware 12 14 February 2010 23:32
A500 upgrade (harddisk, KS, LAN) Benighted support.Hardware 68 21 August 2009 21:44
USB to LAN adapter. Charlie Amiga scene 6 11 November 2007 21:26
Lan Adapter Dr. Dude support.Hardware 5 27 December 2004 22:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06258 seconds with 13 queries