English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2019, 15:14   #1
SID-6581
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oldenburg/Germany
Posts: 34
Test Drive II - Heavy flickering with amiberry

Hello,
i run the newest version of amiberry under RetroPie 4.5.2 on my RPi 4. Everything runs fine.... No not everything...


I run a Workbench 3.1.4.1 with WHDLoad installed. From here i start the games. I noticed only on Test Drive II (WHDLoad) very heavy flickering of the picture. The game is unplayable for me.


I send you my uae-configfile.
What am i doing wrong?


Cheers
Sid
Attached Files
File Type: uae AmigaOS3.1.4.uae (3.4 KB, 9 views)
SID-6581 is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 16:17   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,735
I don't have a pi4, though with Amiberry, try dripping down the cpu cycles... Amiberry does not have cycle exact option like winuae does...
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 16:32   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,294
This game is terribly written. For instance on a 68060 if I enabled fastmem (to speed it up), the game flickered. I never could fix it...
jotd is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 16:42   #4
SID-6581
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oldenburg/Germany
Posts: 34
Thank you. Do i load the game and set then the CPU Speed to 7 Mhz the flickering is gone.
This has the advantage that i only slow down the CPU Speed while iam gaming Test Drive II. Not very elegant, but it works. ;-)

Cheers
Sid
SID-6581 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 22:27   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,294
yeah, I know. I've tried several times to fix it, because it would be a killer without those glitches (and with more speed). I have to try to fix that again using WinUAE to debug it.
jotd is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 12:31   #6
SID-6581
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Oldenburg/Germany
Posts: 34
Yes, what a shame for such an important game. The C64 Versions of TD1 and TD2 have no issues with higher CPU Speeds and are then muuuch better playerable.
SID-6581 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test Drive - faster than hell? Reynolds project.Amiga Game Factory 3 19 September 2014 00:21
get test drive running on my minimig mcbone support.Games 0 13 July 2014 18:09
Test Drive 2: *.SHP mombasajoe support.Games 0 26 January 2012 13:55
Test Drive II Play Disks Numinous support.Games 9 06 November 2006 08:20
Test Drive 2 The Duell Eggsplosion HOL data problems 0 26 June 2004 16:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06386 seconds with 16 queries