English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 July 2019, 14:01   #321
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
true. AMMX instructions are not in the OS, but in applications like, such as, RiVA. CoffinOS is made in ths way. if you have Vampire you can use some specific file for the card and if you haven't these ones will be ignored.
If you have Amiga 500 3.1 and lot of RAM you can run CoffinOS also with 68000@7 Mhz processor.
Well "AMMX" uses the same register-sharing tricks as the original x86 MMX did right? New instructions that work on existing FPU registers so that the OS doesn't need to know about them when doing context switches.

Which reminds me. In what version of AmigaOS did the OS learn about FPU registers for context switching? 1.3?
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 15:18   #322
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 981
i really don't know if AMMX work like x86 MMX, so i cannot answer on this side. CoffinOS is made to run on any amiga model. Of coruse there some utilities, some software specific 68080 that run only on that processor.

MMX is integer only and cannot work together FPU, but they share the same registers so switching from registers modes (from FP to MMX and viceversa) take as far as 50 cpu cycles. If AMMX works like MMX could be problems in fpu intensive softwares.
Seiya is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 15:53   #323
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
The mode switching on x86 processors has to do with the (old and deprecated) FPU instruction opcodes being reused for encoding MMx instructions. This is not the case for AMMx where AMMx and FPU instructions can be used together.
grond is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 16:11   #324
activist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: here
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Okay, made a video showing how to install AfA-OS on an OS 3.1.4/3.9

Practically I installed RTG and AfA-OS manually and simply copying the files needed for this purpose, as a basis I used an OS 3.1.4 AGA.

Of course then everything has to be improved by updating OS3.1.4 and Picasso96 drivers and maybe changing the icons with a Dual-PNG version.

Install AfA-OS on OS 3.1.4/3.9
Thanks for that.
Uae, Installed 3.1.4, uaegfx, picasso install,ran the installer for afa 4.8, edited startup sequence to morelibspace, afa_os_loader, reboot. No change.
What other steps are there for 3.1.4 or missed something? Thanks
activist is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 20:17   #325
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 981
i searched some info on Ammx but there isn't so much, so i thought it was like mmx.

Last edited by Seiya; 26 July 2019 at 20:24.
Seiya is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 21:06   #326
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by activist View Post
Thanks for that.
Uae, Installed 3.1.4, uaegfx, picasso install,ran the installer for afa 4.8, edited startup sequence to morelibspace, afa_os_loader, reboot. No change.
What other steps are there for 3.1.4 or missed something? Thanks
AfA-OS you don't have to install it but just copy some files as shown in the video.

You copied wizard.library (v45.1) in libs? without this library AfA-OS Prefs does not work

After the installation you have to start AfA_Prefs that you copied in SYS:Prefs.

As soon as you save the Theme you have to restart the system, then you can change the themes without restarting.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 July 2019, 02:16   #327
activist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: here
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
AfA-OS you don't have to install it but just copy some files as shown in the video.

You copied wizard.library (v45.1) in libs? without this library AfA-OS Prefs does not work

After the installation you have to start AfA_Prefs that you copied in SYS:Prefs.

As soon as you save the Theme you have to restart the system, then you can change the themes without restarting.
Thanks, was missing wizard library. So tried that but big guru when rebooted after loading Afa_Prefs and changing theme/skin to os4. Forgot to say using 68030 in fs-uae chip ram fast ram and memory card ram. Maybe just doesn't work with that sorry.
activist is offline  
Old 27 July 2019, 09:24   #328
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by activist View Post
Forgot to say using 68030 in fs-uae chip ram fast ram and memory card ram. Maybe just doesn't work with that sorry.
I haven't forgotten, if you see the video i used a 68040 FPU.
However it works AfA-OS also works with the 68020, the Guru that you have received is due to the lack of "FPU" necessary to the AfA-OS extension; which is why before, which is why before it couldn't have been installed on the Vampire.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 July 2019, 14:15   #329
ronybeck
Registered User

ronybeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Switzerland/Nirgendwo
Posts: 15
I am looking forward to the V4 standalone for sure. I am super happy with the V2 accelerators in my A500 and A600. A stand alone with AGA support seems like the next logical step. 060 cards are super rare and well over priced. My V2 is super quick and about 1/3 the cost of an 060. The V4 will be even more interesting.
ronybeck is offline  
Old 30 July 2019, 19:59   #330
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tønsberg / Norway
Posts: 41
Got the V500+ and i´m really looking forward to the V4 SA. :-)
hUMUNGUs is offline  
Old 10 August 2019, 21:15   #331
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
For the musical inclined Amigan

Amiga Vampire, Roland SC-55 MK2 and Horny MIDI Sequencer

Machine:
Amiga 2000
Vampire 500 V2+
Core, Gold 2.12, x11

[ Show youtube player ]

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge...22338&z=uLr52i
Overflow is offline  
Old 10 August 2019, 21:50   #332
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
Which reminds me. In what version of AmigaOS did the OS learn about FPU registers for context switching? 1.3?
Before that. 1.2 and 1.3 are, as far as exec is concerned, almost identical. What did change was autobooting. This was important for booting off harddisks. FPU support for the 68881/882 came earlier and was already present at 1.2.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 15 August 2019, 23:52   #333
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Here is a video of playing Diablo on A600 with Vampire V2;

http://www.apollo-core.com/gfx/diablo.mp4

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge...3&x=1&z=iILMN-
Overflow is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 01:21   #334
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
Yeah Arczi and I are working on the Diablo port to 68k
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97950
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 02:56   #335
Ledfoot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Yeah Arczi and I are working on the Diablo port to 68k
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97950

Looks great so far guys!!!
Ledfoot is offline  
Old 18 August 2019, 16:23   #336
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 204
I wonder if a StarCraft port would be possible. I would die a happy person.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 18 August 2019, 17:12   #337
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post
I wonder if a StarCraft port would be possible. I would die a happy person.

R.I.P.


http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44398
TuKo is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 08:26   #338
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Richter View Post
Before that. 1.2 and 1.3 are, as far as exec is concerned, almost identical. What did change was autobooting. This was important for booting off harddisks. FPU support for the 68881/882 came earlier and was already present at 1.2.
Yeah I feel dumb speculating about 1.3 because I remember I had a 1.2 system with a 68881 at one point.

Also I just checked and AMMX apparently *doesn't* work like MMX, and introduces 32 new 64-bit registers for it, but the FPU *can* use the registers? I'm a bit confused by this and I assume that exec will have to be patched at boot because otherwise it will have zero knowledge about how to context switch those registers and you will get fun crashes from two tasks inheriting eachothers registers.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 16:22   #339
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 2,513
I'm looking forward to something I can't afford.
blade002 is offline  
Old 14 September 2019, 09:36   #340
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Join Apollo Team IRC via browser;

https://webchat.freenode.net/#apollo-team

http://www.apollo-core.com/index.htm?page=products

Some V1200 updates

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge...note=22998&x=1




Last edited by Overflow; 14 September 2019 at 09:45.
Overflow is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to forward data to serial port? utri007 support.Hardware 10 11 November 2016 15:26
CF won't boot A1200 - best path forward? AmigaJules support.Hardware 13 28 June 2016 16:46
"LAG 38 meeting date brought forward a month !!!" rockape News 2 11 June 2014 19:42
CD32 Pad Reverse+Forward+Run Reset Game Problem Hillsy_ support.Games 10 04 May 2014 22:14
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga are you looking forward too? digiflip Amiga scene 44 06 June 2011 00:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10376 seconds with 16 queries