English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2019, 21:13   #1
Irl
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver
Posts: 66
Anyone deeply familiar with tick generators?

Just curious if there are any problematic tick generators out there to avoid, or if there is a newer product that is appealing. My 200W Lite-On Amiga PSU is still kicking, but I might need more wattage as I continue expanding my A2000.

I don't want to switch to video timing, as I want to use the Video Toaster and I have read there are issues with using a Video Toaster in a system using the video timing because it isn't quite accurate enough.

This is the same concern I have with the tick generators. Do they actually time from line voltage, or are they emulating it? Do they work with VT2000?

If nothing else, I did find a schematic of a Commodore brand PSU and might be able to isolate the tick circuit and rebuild it as a stand-alone. (not ideal)

I appreciate any info, thanks!
Irl is offline  
Old 01 May 2019, 21:59   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 739
Ian Stedman (Stedy) is your man: http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/de...x_adaptor.html
indigolemon is offline  
Old 01 May 2019, 22:28   #3
Irl
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Thank you!
Irl is offline  
Old 01 May 2019, 22:50   #4
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 134
I have a couple of Ian's big box PSU adapters and they work really well.
DofD is offline  
Old 02 May 2019, 00:12   #5
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,963
This is for the adaptor but can you clarify which picoPSU you've had success with please? I have read various clones are out there.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 02 May 2019, 00:26   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,393
Simple 555 timer circuit will be suitable.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 May 2019, 01:21   #7
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 654
Hi,

I should have the next batch of Big box/original PSU adaptors, with Tick circuit, on sale next week. The 50/60Hz tick signal accuracy was <1Hz, the PIC microcontroller timer takes care of this nicely.

@lesta_smsc

My guide to spotting fake picoPSUs:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...ml#fakepicopsu
Stedy is offline  
Old 03 May 2019, 01:51   #8
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
@lesta_smsc

My guide to spotting fake picoPSUs:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...ml#fakepicopsu
Thank you! This looks very tempting to do in my A600 and A1200... but I'm not sure whether to wait until the PSU actually dies before resorting to hacking away at it lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad - display tick buttons... DamienD project.WHDLoad 8 24 August 2017 23:51
A1000 Tick Circuit doubledecca support.Hardware 1 12 November 2015 15:07
Familiar tale stulec52 Member Introductions 3 18 April 2009 03:49
Always run with this settings tick G.Longsword request.UAE Wishlist 4 19 March 2006 18:01
Low-res tick-box????? crl support.WinUAE 1 28 August 2003 11:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07340 seconds with 15 queries