English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2003, 22:08   #1
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094
Power Supplies

Ages ago now there was a post somwhere around here about power suppies, I posted a reply to this boasting that I had mounted a PC power supply inside an Amiga power supply casing and promised I would post a picture, well almost a year later here is a picture:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pwr.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	5112  
Mick_AKA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 May 2003, 00:27   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 32
Posts: 2,231
mmm looking like a real good power upgrade !

hehe better late than never )
kriz is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 02:37   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,353
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
It was me that asked you to post the pics of this psu m8!
Ive done loads of AT psu's but ive never thought of sticking the guys of one in an a500 supply

have you got some more detailed shots?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 07:56   #4
gunatm
Junior Member
gunatm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hamburg (Germany)
Age: 40
Posts: 80
Send a message via ICQ to gunatm Send a message via AIM to gunatm Send a message via MSN to gunatm
Great! This looks nice! Some sort of an faq would be quite interesting!
gunatm is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 19:16   #5
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094
Charging up my cam now for some closeups
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 19:45   #6
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,353
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I fancy doing this myself later m8, got a few spare supplys here!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 20:10   #7
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094
Ok here are the pics of the power supply:




Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 20:11   #8
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094


Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 20:21   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,353
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
right thats done it m8! i have two custom built towers that i did many years ago but i feel the old amiga design looks better imho so im going to do the psu mod and maybe spray the box part too... and the 1200's case!

what kind of paint did you use on the 1200? i want to use Vynil dye as it keeps the texture of the plastic intact.

what kinda psu did you rob btw? AT? did you write down the psu boards measurements? i have about 3 different AT's and a couple ATX's!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 12 May 2003, 20:52   #10
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094
The blue paint was left over after I painted my RC Mini (see right of above pic) its just model spray, the finnish came out great after just one coat!!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 13 May 2003, 18:48   #11
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 50
Posts: 584
That's got to be the best Frankenstein PSU job I've seen in a long time. Excellent work!
Syko is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 20:43   #12
Mick_AKA
crusader of light
Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
That's got to be the best Frankenstein PSU job I've seen in a long time. Excellent work!
Well thanx very much *smug mode*
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 16 May 2003, 17:48   #13
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 50
Posts: 584
Real hardware hackers always use con-blocks, that way you can change it if it goes bang...


I also have a PSU out of a photocopier (10 4 years ago...) and I think I'll start measuring. Not sure whether I'll do the original A500 PSU or the Plus one, hmmm.
Syko is offline  
Old 16 May 2003, 19:30   #14
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,353
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
All my psu's have big heatsinks on the mosfets! so i cant get a fan inside the a500 like Mick_AKA did!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 17 May 2003, 14:06   #15
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 50
Posts: 584
If you get a Maplins catalog, you can compare the heatsinks in it to the ones you have in the PSU. Find one that looks to be about the same, and that will give you an approximate dissipation (W/cm2) of the heatsink.

Then find one that gives about the same dissipation (perferably better ), but with clearance for the fan. Also check out The Overclocking Store for low-profile fans, which may help.
Syko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK/Australian power supplies A1200 twenty90seven support.Hardware 2 10 June 2013 05:06
Killer power supplies Quagliarulo support.Hardware 27 11 April 2011 01:50
Changing capacitors in Amiga power supplies 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 7 23 February 2010 01:05
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 16:55
PIC interesting a1200 m/b power hack: takes power from normal HDD power cable plug! keropi Hardware pics 40 16 July 2006 22:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22735 seconds with 12 queries