English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2014, 19:45   #1
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
When workbench starts with fs-uae i cannot found (asks two times) ENV why?

When workbench starts with fs-uae i cannot found (asks two times) ENV why? same files works fine with amiga. dont work even i make env use shich is this virtual harddrive. but after this when click cancel two times wb loads fine. any reasons for this. How i can fix it.
JPQ is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 07:29   #2
Goingdown
Registered User
Goingdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 160
Your harddisk name is different under FS-UAE? And then in your workbench startup sequence, there is reference to the wrong harddisk?

EDIT. You may use option hard_drive_0_label to set up hard disk name to be what it should be
Example: hard_drive_0_label = My Volume Label
Goingdown is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 03:19   #3
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
Its same name. copy is almost exactly same i current only removed cv64/3d drivers and idefix 97.
and added few programs which dont need startup-sequence/user-startup modifaction.
JPQ is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 12:34   #4
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,577
Would this work: Put <set echo on> as the first line of your startup-sequence so you can see what's calling for ENV:
zipper is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 14:07   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,939
First of all you should make sure that these lines are not missing from your startup-sequence:

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 40.2 (25.2.93)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

C:SetPatch QUIET

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER
thomas is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 18:02   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,577
I think he is an Amiga user since 22 years - too trivial
zipper is offline  
Old 03 March 2014, 18:17   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Sometimes the Makedir and assignment of Ram:Env is later on the s-s. I also found my system asking for Env after BB4 and I had to put that assignment before on the s-s.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 02:25   #8
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I think he is an Amiga user since 22 years - too trivial
very likely. and i think i test this echo on thing. and tell what happens.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 02:31   #9
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
i mean look what happens. and this before on what this mean this assignment. btw this startup-sequence works real amiga fine.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 02:39   #10
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
set echo on shows this:

ps. btw i copy my bit messy staryup-sequence and user-startup for there if someone wants.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 3.37.51.png
Views:	159
Size:	85.6 KB
ID:	39297  
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 02:44   #11
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
ENV asking goes away when i remove startup sequence scsiupdate lines and other related lines.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 02:45   #12
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
makes using now much nicer. I hope i can soon develop something for amiga. i have few BIG ideas. i dont know if made them ever all is related if i can found nice way do them.
have also Smaller ideas.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 04:10   #13
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPQ View Post
ENV asking goes away when i remove startup sequence scsiupdate lines and other related lines.
Perhaps you didn't read my answer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Sometimes the Makedir and assignment of Ram:Env is later on the s-s. I also found my system asking for Env after BB4 and I had to put that assignment before on the s-s.

Try moving them to stay before on the s-s.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPQ View Post
ps. btw i copy my bit messy staryup-sequence and user-startup for there if someone wants.

And you haven't posted your s-s. The User-Startup isn't necessary.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 04:50   #14
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
my startup-sequence gomes soon here. is here:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 45.2 (19.1.2001)
; Startup-Sequence for AmigaOS 3.9
Set Echo on
If EXISTS C:SquirrelSCSI
C:SquirrelSCSI
EndIf

;Set SCSIUpdate 1
;If EXISTS C:IDEFix
; C:IDEFix
; Set SCSIUpdate 0
;EndIf
If EXISTS SYS:Expansion/XSurfIDE
Set SCSIUpdate 0
EndIf
If EXISTS SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/NOSCSIUPDATE
Set SCSIUpdate 0
EndIf
If $SCSIUpdate EQ 1
SetPatch QUIET
Else
SetPatch SKIPROMUPDATES "scsi.device" QUIET
EndIf
Unset SCSIUpdate

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
Workbench:Boottidelay
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVSOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

C:LoadMonDrvs

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
Run > NIL: "Workbench:VisualPrefs"
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

SYS:System/REXXMast >NIL:

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:

ps. and if i remove these scsi speffic commands which make this env problem i get another problem says workbench.library is 40.5 not 45 as it should...
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 04:50   #15
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
oops shows some text wrong way i bet you know what place i mean.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 05:22   #16
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
and this makes amidock for example non working state!. is funny amiga emulator is much harder use than real amiga.
JPQ is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 09:13   #17
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 427
Insert "assign ENV: ENVARC:" before these SCSI lines. This should prevent the ENV-dialog.

some steps later in the startup sequence ENV: will be assigned to RAM:ENV...

So this shouldn't be a problem

And the problem with workbench library is, that no ROM Update is running. The variable "SCSIUpdate" isn't set to "1".

Try this:

Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 45.2 (19.1.2001)
; Startup-Sequence for AmigaOS 3.9
Set Echo on

assign >NIL: ENV: ENVARC:

If EXISTS C:SquirrelSCSI
C:SquirrelSCSI
EndIf

Set SCSIUpdate 1
If EXISTS C:IDEFix
   C:IDEFix
   Set SCSIUpdate 0
EndIf

If EXISTS SYS:Expansion/XSurfIDE
   Set SCSIUpdate 0
EndIf

If EXISTS SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/NOSCSIUPDATE
   Set SCSIUpdate 0
EndIf

If $SCSIUpdate EQ 1
   SetPatch QUIET
Else
   SetPatch SKIPROMUPDATES "scsi.device" QUIET
EndIf

Unset SCSIUpdate

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
Workbench:Boottidelay
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVSOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

C:LoadMonDrvs

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
Run > NIL: "Workbench:VisualPrefs"
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

SYS:System/REXXMast >NIL:

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
   Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:

Last edited by TCD; 07 March 2014 at 09:23. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
amigafreak68k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insert ENV Message - OS3.9 LuMan support.Apps 6 28 April 2013 00:24
E-UAE Workbench Speed Washac support.OtherUAE 5 21 February 2012 21:25
UAE KXLight and my Workbench 3.9 SCSI HDD from my Amiga Drake008@ support.WinUAE 4 07 September 2008 03:51
Drakkhen asks for disk 2!? NLS project.WHDLoad 2 18 January 2008 17:17
cannot save files to env: amifreak support.Hardware 2 20 December 2004 02:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08344 seconds with 14 queries