English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2013, 20:53   #1
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 275
miami or miami dx key?

miami or miami dx key? please?

havent had the amiga on the net in a while...

cheers
mjnurney is offline  
Old 14 March 2013, 20:57   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,488
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
It's inside every Classic Workbench pack Full and above (look in 'my files')
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 August 2014, 21:48   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,492
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Sorry to crash this old thread but where do the keys go? I cannot get it regged

EDIT: Scrap that! I sussed it out

Last edited by ElectroBlaster; 02 August 2014 at 22:03.
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 02 August 2014, 22:03   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,488
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
The Key files in the drawer 'DX Keys' go in the same location you installed MiamiDX.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 August 2014, 03:50   #5
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,492
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Thanks Steve

I finally sussed it after googling.

I do have one other question though, can I access and see the amiga with a windows or linux machine? for file sharing.

The last time I had an amiga on the internet was around 1997/98. This was fed by a Trust 56k serial dialup modem on the Eclipse network. Those were the days lol
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 03 August 2014, 12:44   #6
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 1,131
Its a pain in the arse to set up a samba server so that you can see the amiga drive on windows/linux.

MUCH easier to set up the samba client so that you can access your windows/linux machine FROM the amiga.

Perhaps a FTP server on the amiga is easier (should be), but with samba, I would not bother.
Turran is offline  
Old 03 August 2014, 15:27   #7
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 518
I just use amitradecenter on the miggy to access a shared folder on my Nas drive. On the pc I just drop any files into there that I want the miggy to be able to access.
crazyc is offline  
Old 04 August 2014, 20:23   #8
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,492
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Hmm being a little lazy I pulled Amigatradecenter over into Winuae and ClassicWB Full to give it a quick once over.

It crashes? every single time I load it it just bombs out...

Is this just a bug within Winuae?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 04 August 2014, 20:35   #9
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 518
I haven't used it under winuae being honest. Just under cwb 3.9 on a real a1200 as per my signature . I have the right click menu option to access my Nas which runs Miami and then atc immediately. No crashes here.
crazyc is offline  
Old 04 August 2014, 20:38   #10
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,492
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I am hoping this is just Winuae being finnicky!

I shall get this sorted out and installed on the real thing in a bit
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 04 August 2014, 22:12   #11
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 518
I am trying to find a way to skip the first screen where you choose the server, and go straight to a specified server, either by tooltype or cli. That would make it perfect for me.
Am away from miggy till Sunday but will provide any insights I can from memory in the mean time if it helps.
crazyc is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 16:35   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,525
Samba is a PITA to set up indeed, but if accessing a NAS share from the Amiga is good enough then SMBFS would do fine. It's a Samba client rather than server. You can use it with SMBMounter to get a nice GUI...

Alternatively, RC-FTPd is excellent for accessing the Amiga from Windows, Linux etc. as an FTP site.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 17:04   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Samba is a PITA to set up indeed
Really? I never felt like this. It's basically about adding some entries into the inetd config. Then you can already open SWAT in a web browser which gives you a nice GUI and a lot of help to create a configuration.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 18:06   #14
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,525
In fairness it took me a couple of goes to set up properly - in my case editing the config files wasn't that straightforward. I can't remember what exactly the issue was but it went beyond the installation guide and at the time that meant a struggle for me as I didn't have that much experience.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 01:55   #15
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
In fairness it took me a couple of goes to set up properly - in my case editing the config files wasn't that straightforward. I can't remember what exactly the issue was but it went beyond the installation guide and at the time that meant a struggle for me as I didn't have that much experience.
I can copy that. Last time I tryed it with an Amithlon setup it took me a few days to get samba working with Win XP. Years later and after upgrading to Win7 I gave up on trying again.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 14:47   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turran View Post
Its a pain in the arse to set up a samba server so that you can see the amiga drive on windows/linux.
Just use AmigaExplorer. It's just two clicks.

http://www.amigaforever.com/ae/
alexh is offline  
Old 30 September 2014, 14:34   #17
Rotzloeffel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wolfach / Germany
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
I can copy that. Last time I tryed it with an Amithlon setup it took me a few days to get samba working with Win XP. Years later and after upgrading to Win7 I gave up on trying again.
Samba is easy! If you follow the the instructions give it a try!

http://sambaforamigaos.wordpress.com/

Rotzloeffel is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miami Mice hipoonios request.Old Rare Games 4 04 September 2015 17:24
Miami 3.0a keys burf2000 request.Apps 8 21 August 2012 10:12
Miami Parsec support.Apps 7 23 February 2009 18:39
Miami lopos2000 support.Apps 1 12 November 2005 03:34
Miami DX adgloride request.Apps 3 18 September 2005 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09893 seconds with 13 queries