English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2007, 01:48   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,246
Smile Who owns the 'oldest' Amiga?

The requirements are that it MUST be 100% working to enter

My entry;

My beautiful 1000,



Can't believe it'll be 22 years old next year...

The only thing I would say it needs is a new fan for the PSU - still works great just a little noisy.

Anyone else beat that date (28th March '86)? If you own the Lorraine prototype then sell it to meeeeee
Paul_s is offline  
Old 24 November 2007, 11:58   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,269
I've seen some of the beer matts they drew the original schematics on.

(Did you know they did that?)
alexh is offline  
Old 24 November 2007, 12:18   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,501
My A500 1.2 is 1987, and all its failed on is a video pin being pushed in, and its got through about 3 disk drives.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 24 November 2007, 14:47   #4
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 45
Posts: 1,297
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Unfortunately, I sold my first A500 in 1992 to buy the A1200 I still own. My 1081 monitor is 20 years old though!
alkis21 is offline  
Old 24 November 2007, 19:17   #5
formater
Registered User
formater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alicante/Spain
Posts: 192
My A500 Kickstart 1.2 is 1987 (updated kickstart 1.3 later) and work perfectly at this time. I own later a 1200 who work too, bat the 40 Mg HD is dead.
formater is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 06:57   #6
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
It might be me, I'll have to check SN#'s on all my A1000's.

Last edited by Pyromania; 25 November 2007 at 08:22.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 13:02   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
"All" your A1000s? How many do you have?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 14:47   #8
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
For an A1000, it would have to be an NTSC version. The PAL one I have (board is in storage replaced by phoenix but it is a working board) is only dated 8/8/1986 and it came with KS1.1 in early 1987, I think March.
Calgor is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 20:55   #9
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
@Graham

I think I have 6 or 7 A1000's.

@Calgor

All my A1000's are NTSC. Are you using a Phoenix A1000? I heard the Phoenix is a great A1000 upgrade.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 01:38   #10
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
@Graham

I think I have 6 or 7 A1000's.

@Calgor

All my A1000's are NTSC. Are you using a Phoenix A1000? I heard the Phoenix is a great A1000 upgrade.
7?! Man, I'm behind, must buy some more Actually, I do have a soft spot for the A1K
Paul_s is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 01:50   #11
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,325
I need a Phoenix for one of them though. None of my A1000's even have a HDD, that would be a nice upgrade.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 01:52   #12
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,246
Can you still obtain the Phoenix boards? Or are they really rare to come across? I've only ever seen the advert for them
Paul_s is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 15:01   #13
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
@Pyromania

I do have a Phoenix board yes, it is great, better than the a500+. I did blow something on the mouse port though (I can only use it thru an extender) thanks to nothing warning me I could not plug the mouse in while the computer was on (the original A1000 unlike all other amigas had no such warning in the manual as I think it had some special protection to allow you to do so).

My phoenix board does not have SCSI, and only 1meg fast + 1meg chip, for about $1000 bank in 1990 or so. And also a switch to boot off df0/df1, and kickstart switch 1.3/2.04. We were not that rich to afford the 2mb chip or SCSI versions. I think there is a socket for the scsi chip though.

You could get an IDE hard drive on A1000 using the buddha phoenix edition hardware.

@Paul_s
I think there was some idea to get a rerun made, but I don't know what happened to that. The best website for a1000 is by far this one, which may contain rerun details: http://www.a1k.org/

EDIT: Blimey, looks like the website is updated since I last looked. There appears to be full schematics available.
Calgor is offline  
Old 27 November 2007, 15:21   #14
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 45
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
I did blow something on the mouse port though (I can only use it thru an extender) thanks to nothing warning me I could not plug the mouse in while the computer was on (the original A1000 unlike all other amigas had no such warning in the manual as I think it had some special protection to allow you to do so).
Really?

I used to plug and unplug my mouse, trackball and joysticks like there was no tomorrow - while my Amiga was on. I don't remember having any problems with the ports.

Of course I wouldn't unplug my sampler (or printer, if I'd had one) while the Amiga was on but I always assumed it was different with the controller ports..

What can happen? Can it cause other things to break?
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 13:29   #15
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 51
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
...EDIT: Blimey, looks like the website is updated since I last looked. There appears to be full schematics available.
Oh, my! I wonder if Zetro / Narmi etc... know about this?
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 16:03   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Charlie

yepo... i have had them downloaded ages ago...

if you have a pheonix board i would also suggest you look into the PAK r3 project. it gives you upto an 030 with fast ram
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 17:26   #17
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 51
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm.









numbers, numbers always climbing...
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 17:32   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Charlie

have you got a bet on for highest post count ?

heres a yummy pic for Paul s to drool over



Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 December 2007, 17:34   #19
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 51
Posts: 1,792
Very nice p0rn!

No bet, just been goaded into accelerating the rate a bit by a few comments.

BTW: thanks for another excuse.

(mind you I may have lost a few nudge-nudge )
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 April 2017, 00:02   #20
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 634
(I am seriously necroing tonight. Sorry.)
Dave Needle did ofc! He had SN 1.

So, anyone selling a PAL A1000 then? It just looks _so_ nice.
NorthWay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who owns which rights? Amiga Inc/Commodore Inc/Cloanto/Hyperion? 1988 Amiga scene 32 16 March 2018 16:21
Who exactly owns Amiga now? Jonathan Drain Amiga scene 9 09 October 2012 00:49
Who owns a real Amiga ? Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 670 18 July 2012 02:01
Who Owns The Rights To The Amiga? GoldenHeart Amiga scene 61 09 April 2009 13:04
Oldest RTS? Traquer Retrogaming General Discussion 21 05 March 2003 22:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11045 seconds with 13 queries