English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2020, 22:57   #41
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 770
I forgot to say: For this drive, for the track 0 signal, it will only appear when you have the motor spinning - so only do any track 0 test with the motor on.
solarmon is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 14:15   #42
Tumppi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Calibration test shows 11/11 Okay on both sides.
I can load workbench with this drive if I push heads back to track 0 after every read error.
Every time when heads should move towards track 0, it gives read error. And I think thats because drive gets false TR0 signal.
There is something wrong with the signals I think. I have measured the traces and everything looks good. There was some corrosion because of leaking caps.
Tumppi is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 15:30   #43
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumppi View Post
Calibration test shows 11/11 Okay on both sides.
I can load workbench with this drive if I push heads back to track 0 after every read error.
Every time when heads should move towards track 0, it gives read error. And I think thats because drive gets false TR0 signal.
There is something wrong with the signals I think. I have measured the traces and everything looks good. There was some corrosion because of leaking caps.
Oh, I get what you mean now about getting a false /TRK0 signal (i.e. it goes low to ground, when it is not actually at track 0). If you have logic probe (or maybe you can use a multimeter) then you can probe the pin and see whether that is the case or not.

Unfortunately, I think, the read test in ATK doesn't show the /TRK0 signal.
solarmon is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 15:39   #44
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 912
use version 1.5 for test trk0, trk40 and trk79, in this version use dot for ok, x for error and + or - for next or prev trk
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 17:35   #45
asapreta
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SAO PAULO
Posts: 23
Thanks for all the info on this thread.

I already repaired one of my roctec drives by replacing the belt and recapping and it works like a charm.

The belt was given to me by a friend so I didn't need to buy one.
Now I got another roctec drive (boxed in mint condition) but the belt perished.

I got the dimensions here and tried to buy locally (I live in Brazil) and I have a doubt, the size of 69mm is with the belt fully stretched? it didn't seem so small when I replaced it.






Thanks in advance.

Last edited by asapreta; 15 March 2020 at 17:48.
asapreta is offline  
Old 15 March 2020, 20:54   #46
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by asapreta View Post

I got the dimensions here and tried to buy locally (I live in Brazil) and I have a doubt, the size of 69mm is with the belt fully stretched? it didn't seem so small when I replaced it.

Thanks in advance.
From my own personal experience, the 71mm belts are slightly too loose. I have found the 69mm belts (from where I have sourced them) to be a better fit. I've replaced about 5 Roctec drives now with 69mm belts.
solarmon is offline  
Old 19 March 2020, 12:58   #47
asapreta
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SAO PAULO
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
From my own personal experience, the 71mm belts are slightly too loose. I have found the 69mm belts (from where I have sourced them) to be a better fit. I've replaced about 5 Roctec drives now with 69mm belts.
I will buy the 69mm ones but my doubt is, when I asked the seller about the belt, they usually streches them to get the size, and I found 69mm stretched too small. So, the size is the diameter or it stretched?

Thanks.
asapreta is offline  
Old 19 March 2020, 13:04   #48
asapreta
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: SAO PAULO
Posts: 23
Making the calculations I suppose it is about 11 cm (110mm) streched. It looks like the one I replaced once.
asapreta is offline  
Old 19 March 2020, 13:15   #49
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 770
I would assume the value is the diameter of the belt when not stretched. I did not bother to measure it.

I initially did purchase the 71mm belt because that was what was recommended. I found it got stretched over time and got too loose and was slipping.

I then found a 69mm belt and that seem to be working OK, so that is the one I am recommending, based on my personal experience.
solarmon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM Floppy drive -> External Amiga floppy drive? Rampage support.Hardware 9 14 January 2019 15:54
Fs: External amiga floppy drive, fully working NanoBabe MarketPlace 4 12 October 2018 23:10
Normal 34-pin floppy drive on external 26-pin roctec SilverZguru Hardware mods 34 29 December 2017 00:19
Floppy drive power connector (on Amigastore's External Floppy Disk Drive Adapter) arkpandora support.Hardware 4 18 September 2017 23:41
External floppy drive not working, comes up as DF2 when should be DF1 Hewitson support.Hardware 6 16 December 2007 03:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07139 seconds with 16 queries