English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2020, 02:09   #1
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 284
File size limit

Hello, I'm a bit confused with the max file size (not partition, I'm ok with this since a change to PFS3 system) but I'm stuck with the 2GB file size , I have update my sci device to 43.45, I have managed to make SFS partition (who is supposed to support to 4GB file) but when file is up to 2gb, cannot copy, I'm on classic workbench 1.3, did I need to install the 3.9 or have 64 bits support ? , someone asked me to put load. module in the startup sequence.... all this is for using big cdxl files . thanks for your help

thairacerjp is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 08:14   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,948
Currently there is no way to make 68k AmigaDOS work properly with files >2GB. Yes, SFS can do larger files, but only if you use SFS\2 DosType. And still the rest of the OS does not handle these files correctly. Only very few programs which are especially designed to use the new 64bit DOS packets can handle such large files. The only program I know is TSGUI which I wrote myself.

File size limit has nothing to do with IDE or SCSI driver version. It's a pure DOS issue.

Harddrive size is limited by the interface between file system and HDD driver.
Partition size is limited by file system only.
File size is limited by the interface between DOS and file system.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 19:28   #3
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 284
thanks Thomas for your explanation, it"s more clear for me now, I like this avatar, my childhood !
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 09:21   #4
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 284
i've just notice that my dos type is not DOSType 'SFS', so it should be the problem for support more than 2GB file ? , i have followed this tutorial :
[ Show youtube player ]

, the dostype is shown on HD INSTOOL program but in this tutorial, i only put 0x53465300 and using hdtoolbox


so what i did wrong for cannot put some file larger than 2 GB ?

and when i check, all seems ok for support file up to 2GB

Last edited by thairacerjp; 22 February 2020 at 09:56.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 09:32   #5
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by thairacerjp View Post
i've just notice that my dos type is not DOSType 'SFS', so it should be the problem for support more than 2GB file ?

so what i did wrong for cannot put some file larger than 2 GB ?

You are using AmigaDOS, this is the problem. AmigaDos can only indicate files up to a maximum size of 4GB, though many programs may then indicate a negative file size. Some file operations will not work safely for files larger than 2GB.


Hence, no way.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 09:36   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,948
The DosType is a 4-byte identifier. Four bytes can be written as four characters or as eight hexadecimal digits. In fact 0x53465300 is the same as SFS\0.

0x means a hexadecimal number follows.
53 is the hexadecimal ASCII code for S.
46 is the hexadecimal ASCII code for F.
53 is S again.
00 is an unprintable character and is therefore used as-is, prefixed by \ to indicate a number rather than a character.

As I mentioned above, to activate large file features you should use SFS\2 a.k.a. 0x53465302 instead. And I also mentioned that with existing programs you won't be able to handle large files properly. You can read or write them sequentially, but as soon as a program tries to determine or change the current position in the file, it will fail. The same applies to the file size, you won't find a program which displays the file size correctly.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 11:54   #7
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 284
Quote:
SFS2 is not intended for OS3.9 or below: it is only for OS4/4.x
so, the problem is close, thanks again for your awser thomas
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 14:46   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,948
SFS2 does not exist any more. The author merged SFS1 and SFS2 into one. You can select one or the other by DosType.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIGA 4000D internal ide cf card size limit? oguzog support.Hardware 4 25 January 2019 09:12
Limit reported PC Harddrive size Dan request.UAE Wishlist 0 28 July 2018 16:06
Limit file size directory Seiya support.WinUAE 2 19 February 2018 19:29
Is there Compact Flash (via PCMCIA) size limit? Nostromo support.Hardware 30 20 November 2013 16:03
lha size limit or Winuae ? gibs support.Apps 5 03 February 2012 22:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07102 seconds with 15 queries