English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2020, 18:26   #121
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Just playing Thinking ahead a bit

kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 20:03   #122
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Can anyone suggest/recommend an intense a500 ocs/ECS demo, that can give idea of performance.. (already have SOTA)

thanks
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 20:31   #123
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 697
My go-to performance test when tinkering with the Minimig was the game Zeewolf 2 - it makes good use of Fast RAM when available, and falls over quickly if the RAM or cache is buggy, so it's a good smoke-test too.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 20:36   #124
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 661
The intro sequence for Frontier:Elite 2 is a pretty good benchmark as well.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 21:03   #125
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 117
I was using ADoom for stability tests on mine. Just leaving it running on a high screen res (or as high as you can) and leave the demo looping
Lemaru is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 21:59   #126
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 270
Pressing the nuke button in Lemmings when you have a 100 of them out...
Mathesar is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 23:06   #127
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Can anyone suggest/recommend an intense a500 ocs/ECS demo, that can give idea of performance.. (already have SOTA)

thanks
I'd say ScummVM ECS would have to be the most demanding software that you can run on an OCS/ECS machine


[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 16:38   #128
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Morning All,

Thanks for the demo suggestions. Mike is tweaking the glue logic and the results are very good, games and demos we have tried appear to be very fluid and performance is great. Mike will update when the next phase is done. For the A600 i have designed an adapter board that should work regarding the physical fit, we are adding a logic cct to it to allow the onboard CPU to be enabled /disabled.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 20:42   #129
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 117
Is the adaptor board also going to be closed source?
Lemaru is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 21:30   #130
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemaru View Post
Is the adaptor board also going to be closed source?
naw, cant see why. it will be a simple adapter that just acts as a passthrough with something that will switch over. it may need to be reworked for other boards but that would be simple
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 February 2020, 22:37   #131
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
naw, cant see why. it will be a simple adapter that just acts as a passthrough with something that will switch over. it may need to be reworked for other boards but that would be simple
Sweet! Look forward to seeing more
Lemaru is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 16:32   #132
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
i was referred to this link to solve a600 bus contention, we haven't proved it yet ...

https://retrocomputing.stackexchange...elerators-work
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 20:59   #133
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 117
Kludge had it working with some boards just by tying BR and VPA to ground on the A600 CPU side and to 5v on the accelerator side. There's more info on it over on the Exxoshost forum.

There's plenty of documentation online regarding 68000 bus arbitration though, and what is required, and the signals involved
Lemaru is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 21:22   #134
mkstr
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemaru View Post
Kludge had it working with some boards just by tying BR and VPA to ground on the A600 CPU side and to 5v on the accelerator side. There's more info on it over on the Exxoshost forum.

There's plenty of documentation online regarding 68000 bus arbitration though, and what is required, and the signals involved
VPA isn't involved in the bus grant, but they are tied together on the A600 anyway, looks like just because they were too cheap to use another pull-up resistor. The A600 doesn't use VPA/VMA/E because Gayle generates these signals for the CIAs and turns them into normal DTACK bus cycles - I think this is probably because the 020 doesn't have VPA/VMA/E so that logic was needed for the 1200. Incidentally, without this feature it would have be much harder to defeat the on-board 68000 because the E clock output runs even when /BR is asserted, and would conflict with the accelerator's output. As it is these pins can just be ignored altogether (VPA should be pulled up on the accelerator end).

Something to perhaps be aware of is that the 68000 will carry on and complete the current bus cycle after /BR is pulled down (not sure what happens if it is already low when RESET/HALT are released), and it even asserts /BG a tick or two before it actually releases the bus. To avoid a potential conflict at the point of handover I think it would be sensible to have the accelerator held off until a short period of time after the motherboard 68000 has asserted its /BG output, just to be sure the bus has really been released.

Mike
mkstr is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 21:39   #135
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Here is design layout (beta) for the A600 CPU converter PCB, It is still missing little logic cct but for the most part it is pretty well complete



it can use the Rom socket as an anchor and also use a screw on the left side of the PLCC socket, should be rock solid

Last edited by kipper2k; 13 February 2020 at 21:45.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 21:51   #136
FREEMILK
Registered User

FREEMILK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Garlic Sunshine
Posts: 47
Awesome stuff


FREEMILK is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 22:44   #137
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
that looks brilliant the converter. It makes a lot of sense, as it would allow the 600 to use all sort of a500 accelerators.

There are alot of alternative cases now too.
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 22:51   #138
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by scu98rkr View Post
that looks brilliant the converter. It makes a lot of sense, as it would allow the 600 to use all sort of a500 accelerators.

There are alot of alternative cases now too.

Thanks Once the converter board is connected. Your A600 will still work whether or not an external board is attached so no need to remove
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 23:08   #139
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 446
I really like the progress that is being made here, particularly for the much maligned A600. Sadly it looks like if I were to use this design, I'd have to get someone to desolder my ROM and drop in a socket, as my A600 is one of those weird ones with the 37.350 ROM directly soldered to the mainboard.
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 13 February 2020, 23:11   #140
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyWilkins View Post
I really like the progress that is being made here, particularly for the much maligned A600. Sadly it looks like if I were to use this design, I'd have to get someone to desolder my ROM and drop in a socket, as my A600 is one of those weird ones with the 37.350 ROM directly soldered to the mainboard.
you wouldnt need to remove your rom, the converter board would actually sit above the rom and not interfere, however you would only be able to secure the converter board using friction of the PLCC socket and the screw which for 99% of people is ok

edit: you would need to ask for one without the pin header for the rom so it doesnt interfere

Last edited by kipper2k; 13 February 2020 at 23:35.
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga FPGA and video signal, is there any good FPGA? balrogsoft support.Hardware 8 15 June 2019 17:55
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 18:31
Emulators List for Amiga 68000 -based (A500/600) superturrican2 request.Apps 2 01 February 2010 20:35
Which A500 SCSI interfaces are DMA-based? Photon support.Hardware 21 19 September 2009 19:32
A500 disk based games to cd rom backtoskooldaze Retrogaming General Discussion 7 23 October 2003 04:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09556 seconds with 16 queries