English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 December 2019, 23:39   #41
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Fabulous work jotd - just tried it on my a1200 config and it works... keep up the awesome work, it's excellent!!!

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 21:41   #42
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 93
This looks fantastic!!!
VincentGR is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 21:46   #43
zzbylu
Saberman

zzbylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kielce/Poland
Posts: 119
Gameplay:
[ Show youtube player ]
zzbylu is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 21:52   #44
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
thanks a million for the support

Also thanks for the video. In this video we can clearly see that:

- there isn't any double buffering so it flickers like crazy (I'm fixing this right now)
- you're missing the basics about that game you can move the barrow to block the ladder and kill the guards and get it closer to the bags (specially in other screens). you can also use the pickake to scare the guards. And you have to break the wall with the pickaxe to get the blue bag (which is heavier and slows you down a lot, so better use the wagon or the elevator to get it in the barrow faster)

I'm still looking for someone willing to recreate the original tunes (there are 2 of them) as amiga modules.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 December 2019, 12:07   #45
Ami
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 107
Until today, I've never knew about this game. Looks like Lode Runner which I love. Also, massive respect for system friendly programming.
Ami is offline  
Old 24 December 2019, 15:15   #46
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
It's not like Lode Runner (you don't trap enemies in holes). And it's not system friendly since it's using double buffering & direct blitter / custom chip calls (sorry to disappoint). It's just not using assembly but C++.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 23:43   #47
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
did so much progress that I've published a beta version on my website: https://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/bagman/index.html

now what's missing:

- music
- pause/esc (inc. joypad controls)

The rest is pretty much working and debugged. It's been a hard time since I have the flu and had to make a difference between image boundaries for blitter (+16) and for collisions, just for this platform...
jotd is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 00:09   #48
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
did so much progress that I've published a beta version on my website: https://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/bagman/index.html

now what's missing:

- music
- pause/esc (inc. joypad controls)

The rest is pretty much working and debugged. It's been a hard time since I have the flu and had to make a difference between image boundaries for blitter (+16) and for collisions, just for this platform...
Might I recommend ADRDesign, he is excellent and turns out great work.

He worked with me on Where Time Stood Still and Recoil (about to be released) and Starquake.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 08:59   #49
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
thanks, someone already proposed his services. He PMed me and is currently working on the music.

Oh, maybe a moderator can now move/split this thread to Project/Amiga game factory? Since it's now a full fledged amiga game.

Last edited by jotd; 27 December 2019 at 09:08.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 December 2019, 17:57   #50
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
thanks, someone already proposed his services. He PMed me and is currently working on the music.

Oh, maybe a moderator can now move/split this thread to Project/Amiga game factory? Since it's now a full fledged amiga game.
Which post do you want it splitting from? Or the whole thread moved?
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 December 2019, 19:32   #51
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
well, up to post #19 (http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...8&postcount=19) it was about SDL (windows, then NDS, then amiga but not playable even on 68060).

After that I switched to real hardware programming. Keeping 2 threads leaves the Windows version in "retrogaming". Keeping only one thread in factory is okay except that the first posts will make no sense ... until you read post #19
jotd is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 23:37   #52
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
final version (amiga) here: https://jotd.pagesperso-orange.fr/bagman/index.html

requires 68020+/OS3 (gcc compiles to 68020+ only, and probably too slow on 68000 anyway, I can invest time on this if needed). AGA not required (16 colors used in the game)

- joypad support with pause (play) & ESC (play+fwd+esc)
- music by Saimon69
- lots of bugs removed

I couldn't make a floppy with that. On a floppy the same data refuses to load (imploder-packed executable refuses to decrunch). But on A1200/2MB and a hard drive it should run. If someone can fix it to run from floppy I'm interested.
jotd is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:11   #53
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,462
Great work!

ADF version into the Zone!
ross is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:20   #54
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,592
Very well done excellent

Can I just ask and its not criticism what is the main overhead? because I have to ask what would happen if you tried to convert something like your Gods?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:29   #55
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
ADF version into the Zone!
May I ask how you created that ross?

I was in the middle of trying a few things:
  • Used "xfddecrunch" on the file "bagman" to decompress.
  • Used "CrunchyDat" on the file "bagman" to compress.
  • Copied to a floppy disk, but the same issue occurred.
  • Just started to load the game with SnoopDos running to see if there were any clues.
DamienD is online now  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:35   #56
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
May I ask how you created that ross?
Sure. I've used Cranker by Bifat/TEK.
ross is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:40   #57
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Sure. I've used Cranker by Bifat/TEK.
Thanks

...but your disk has the same issue mine does when using a Quickstart A1200 i.e. you just get a black screen after loading.

What config are we supposed to use?
DamienD is online now  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:46   #58
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thanks

...but your disk has the same issue mine does when using a Quickstart A1200 i.e. you just get a black screen after loading.

What config are we supposed to use?
A Quickstart A1200 with Turbo Floppy active.

But you are right, normal Floppy speed -> black screen.
Interesting
ross is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:51   #59
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
I'm sure you'll work out the issue ross

Very strange that the exact same files all work perfectly from hard drive though.

Edit: even jotd's original files copied to floppy work fine if you select "Turbo" floppy drive emulation speed in WinUAE... very bizarre.

Last edited by DamienD; 04 January 2020 at 01:02.
DamienD is online now  
Old 04 January 2020, 01:00   #60
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I'm sure you're work out the issue ross

Very strange that the exact same files all work perfectly from hard drive though.
Yep, I'll investigate (and report to jotd).
In the mean time removed the ADF.
It's the first time that an ADF does not work at normal speed but turbo (should be the opposite in seldom cases).
So I guess it's a timing issue (badly modifying some floppy related register during initialization).
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Remake" C64 Amiga International Karate + video amiman99 Retrogaming General Discussion 9 22 January 2013 17:54
Speccy remake of Amiga tune on Youtube Hewitson Nostalgia & memories 4 01 April 2011 21:42
not Amiga-like, not remake, but still brilliant s2325 Nostalgia & memories 14 13 September 2007 15:01
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 00:51
Amiga Remake killergorilla Amiga scene 2 12 October 2003 11:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10554 seconds with 16 queries