English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 27 March 2019, 17:26   #1
howtoretro

YouTube Copyright Claims on Amiga PD Demo Video

I've uploaded a video to YouTube today as part of my channel and it's been flagged up as being partially blocked due to a copyright claim by 'Crowley Media'. I did think I should have no issues at all as the video is a few PD demo highlights, although it seems to be the Hardwired demo that has caused the copyright flag.

I'm pretty new to the YouTube game and just wondered if this is a blip perhaps and if I dispute it, it will be easy enough to resolve given the content is pretty much public domain by nature(!) or are there people/organisations who somehow lay claim legitimately to some old content such as PD Demos?

Here's my video - [ Show youtube player ] - It's apparently blocked in the following countries:-

Ecuador, Bolivia, Paraguay, Canada, Venezuela, Colombia, Chile, Guyana, Mexico, United States, Uruguay, Peru, Brazil, French Guiana, Argentina

A curious selection!

Should I just let it go, I don't want to dispute it and start racking up copyright strikes, but just feels slightly unfair on this occasion!

Old 27 March 2019, 17:33   #2
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

Sounds like YouTube being over zealous with it's algorithms, does seem quite odd. Perhaps the Hardwired demo contains a copyrighted image?

It wasn't unusual for people to rip art from copyrighted stuff back then and plonk them into demos..

EDIT: As you're using this footage for the purposes of highlighting the demo scene (and not passing it off as your work), I'd dispute it with "fair use" terms.
Old 27 March 2019, 17:40   #3
roondar

The YouTube content ID system compares against a known list of music (and maybe video). It's not perfect so maybe it incorrectly flagged the video. It's also possible that the Hardwired demo features copyrighted music (for instance a sample that is clearly from some song).