English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 30 September 2017, 14:31   #1
Bprepared

and another CD32 Riser!

Well this one is a little left field, so I want to take a moment to explain the reasoning and theory behind it.

The FB-32 was conceived the day after Stedy decided to permanently shelf the Hermes project.
I first read his blog shortly after I brought my CD32 out of its 20 year slumber in a garaged crate 6 months ago, and was excited at the thought of being able to acquire something resembling a SX-32...I really wanted one of these when Amiga's were my main stay computer systems back in the day.
Needless to say I was gutted at the news of the projects death, but with the birth of the TF328, the major functionality had been met, and I completely understand the "too many spinning plates" analogy, as being a design engineer myself I have so many projects of different disciplines on the go.
That said, I still wanted to squeeze as much functionality out of the sadly mis-understood console, and although Kippers Riser would enable me to use the TF328, and give me RGB/Keyboard, I wanted something that would allow me to eventually have a floppy interface, serial and parallel ports, a clockport etc.
The trouble was that I didn't (and still don't really yet) have the VHDL/Verilog skills to be able to implement the necessary logic, and with the limited real-estate on a riser, standard logic chips are not really an option unless I wanted something that was the size of the CD32 Debug board.
So I pondered how I would go about learning the language (I have previous in C, C++ and 68K Assembler from my days in Uni where I studied Avionic Systems Engineering), and figured that if I took a leaf out of Stephen's (aka Plasmab, aka TerribleFire) book and only bite off small chunks at a time I would eventually get there.