English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 February 2012, 14:40   #61
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonlight View Post
I've decided to release my Workbench compilation ISO in it's current state. You can download it from here: [copyrighted material download link removed]
I know Workbench can't be hosted, but this CD seemed to have useful utilities, like the onscreen keyboard. Anybody has these extra tools?

I tried to make a bootable Workbench CD and I failed, I am obviously doing something wrong.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 February 2012, 17:49   #62
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,584
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I know Workbench can't be hosted, but this CD seemed to have useful utilities, like the onscreen keyboard. Anybody has these extra tools?

I tried to make a bootable Workbench CD and I failed, I am obviously doing something wrong.
Didnt the cd32 dev toolkit have an OSK util?
FOL is offline  
Old 19 February 2012, 18:19   #63
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Hmm, it could be. I have to check it out. Thanks.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2012, 18:29   #64
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,584
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Hmm, it could be. I have to check it out. Thanks.
I know theres loads of cool tools in the devkit.
Theres also a joystick tester in there to.

With regard to your not working cd's, are you adding the CDTV trademark file to the image creator in ISOCD?

I found that using CD32 trademark file, causes nearly all my cd's not to work.
Using the CDTV one, every CD worked.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 February 2012, 18:53   #65
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yup, definitely not allowed...

Thanks for checking though guys
Really !! Even though they are free on mags and clearly state they cannot be sold....Got to be honest i thought that would be the only occasion you could get away with putting it up on the zone if it was already given free to the general population.

Just checking thats all ?
synchro is offline  
Old 19 February 2012, 19:23   #66
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
With regard to your not working cd's, are you adding the CDTV trademark file to the image creator in ISOCD?

I found that using CD32 trademark file, causes nearly all my cd's not to work.
Using the CDTV one, every CD worked.
Yeah I put CDTV.TM in the compilation, but then again, I used NERO. That could explain something :P
Akira is offline  
Old 19 February 2012, 23:05   #67
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,584
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Yeah I put CDTV.TM in the compilation, but then again, I used NERO. That could explain something :P
Thats what I do, create image in isocd (on amiga) then burn with nero.
Works fine, easiest thing to do is make iso, then use winuae in cd32 mode pointing to the iso.
General rule is, if it works there, then it should work on a real cd32.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 February 2012, 02:11   #68
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Thats what I do, create image in isocd (on amiga)
YEah well, I didn't do it with the AMiga. It seemed inconvenient. I'll have to do it I guess!
And yeah, I should have tried it on WInAUE too.

But for example, some games I downloaded off the fileserver, don't run. Example: Theme Park, Bubble Heroes. Seems they don't boot just like the one I made. All the files are in there.

Any ideas?
Akira is offline  
Old 20 February 2012, 07:20   #69
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Bubble Heroes needs extra RAM, so won't run on a stock CD32. I made a bootable CD for my CD32 which was an exact copy of the setup I have on an A1200. They both have 8MB FastRAM, so it booted up fine. I used MakeCD, chose the root drawer for the CD ( DH0: ), gave it a volume name, selected the CDTV.TM file in the Boot Options, and made a RAW file, which I burned with K3B on Linux.

NeonLight's Workbench CD was awesome though, the way it decompresses to RAM instead of loading every file from CD really helps speed up boot times, so I'd advise you to get that and use it as a base for your own Workbench disc, or at least copy some of the Startup-Sequence and components the way it is on that CD. The only problem for me is it has the CD32 version of WHDload, which doesn't work on expanded CD32s, so I can't play the few games on the disc.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 20 February 2012, 13:55   #70
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
NeonLight's Workbench CD was awesome though, the way it decompresses to RAM instead of loading every file from CD really helps speed up boot times, so I'd advise you to get that and use it as a base for your own Workbench disc
Well, nobody seems to be able to share it here, so I am stumped :/
Akira is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 16:34   #71
Skeletorn
 
Posts: n/a
Hi, i looking for neonlight version of Workbench. Please give me link where to find it !
May be private message if can not be placed on regular forum...
Thanks.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using CD32 pad on A1200 running CD32 games issue RetroPaul support.Games 23 15 October 2013 00:51
Beneath a Steel Sky CD32 crashing on WinUAE/CD32 mk1 support.Games 0 18 September 2008 18:45
CD32, amiga to cd32 network cable! ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 13 26 March 2008 21:33
CD32 games not working on winuae'CD32 emulation laser support.WinUAE 8 03 July 2007 22:49
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 21:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23530 seconds with 13 queries