English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2018, 17:20   #1
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 205
TBL-CD & Dreams Demos

Hi all,

Has anybody got the two above Demos running?
I run both from the shell and they don't do much. I get these with most of the demos I liked back in the day. Not sure what to do?

One is called TBL-CD and the other Dreams by Cydonia.
The music on both of these are amazing.
I have 8MB of fast ram, but they still don't seem to run right.

http://aminet.net/demo/tg97/tbl-cd.lha

http://aminet.net/demo/slide/CDN-Dreams.lha
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 February 2018, 17:34   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,854
Did you run SetPatch before starting the demos?
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 February 2018, 17:42   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,043
Thread moved from the Amiga scene section
DamienD is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 13:09   #4
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 205
Setpatch is set in Startup-Sequence
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 13:35   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
I have 8MB of fast ram, but they still don't seem to run right.
TBL Captured Dreams says it requires an AGA + 030@50MHz or better.

I imagine it doesn't work well on A1200 with just a FAST RAM card (EC020@14MHz+8MiB)

However the WHDload install says that it should work. Have you tried the WHDload version?

http://www.whdload.de/demos/TBL_CapturedDreams.html
alexh is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 14:25   #6
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,854
Captured Dreams works fine with 8 MB fast. There is a system check included, which result does it give?
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 15:29   #7
dodke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: London / UK
Posts: 15
And by shell do you mean a shell in Workbench? If you have things installed that eat a lot of chip (graphics) memory you might need to boot without startup and only run setpatch manually.
dodke is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 08:46   #8
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 555
Yeah, the best way to run demos generally is to boot without startup-sequence (keep both mouse buttons pressed on boot and select the appropriate option), run Setpatch (just type "setpatch" in the shell window the machine booted), and then navigate to the directory you have the demo and run it.
jPV is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 10:28   #9
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 205
Ahhh thanks guys, what an awesome response. I thought there would be no way around this haha.
I don't have an 030 - I thought it might run slow, but the music I wanted to hear.
It's amazing to hear there is a WHDLoad version.
Yes I meant the shell in Workbench... I'm not too up on workbench configuring, just enough to get by.

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=3809

The link above is the Dreams demo by Cydonia, it starts, but as soon as you click to do an auto show it goes black screen?

Last edited by RiotRetroGaming; 14 February 2018 at 10:34.
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 10:51   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
The link above is the Dreams demo by Cydonia, it starts, but as soon as you click to do an auto show it goes black screen?
I have just replied on Pouet. Make sure to extract the archive in an (emulated) Amiga environment.
StingRay is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 20:05   #11
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 205
Ahhh Stingray, I'll have a look.
I have one by Iris called Kilkenny that just gives a error #00000004 suspend or reboot when running from no startup-sequence and setting setpatch first, any ideas? I'll come back about the other two in a tick.


Thanks
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball Dreams & Fantasies - 8 Table Loader! hansel75 Retrogaming General Discussion 42 08 February 2015 17:56
Fairlight & Virtual Dreams 242 Amiga-demomusic Remix trackah123 Nostalgia & memories 6 10 September 2008 23:38
Virtual Dreams Demos MortimerTwang request.Demos 1 13 April 2005 01:42
Captured Dreams from TBL problems Tony Landais support.WinUAE 29 01 May 2003 15:51
TBL-Captured Dreams Akira support.Demos 0 05 March 2002 21:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07245 seconds with 15 queries