English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2018, 17:30   #1
Leo24
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 11
Need help to setup network with an A2065

Hi Amix aficionados,

I finally got hold of an A2065 network card for my A3000. I'm running Amix 2.1x + updates and patches (X11R5, Picasso, Ariadne, etc.).
But I'm not able to figure out how to setup the network right. Here some steps I did:

1.
I created two hosts via amixadm opt. 7:
own machine IP: A3000 192.168.0.80
2nd machine: gateway 192.168.0.1
With that I'm able to ping all hosts in my lan 168.192.0.*, but none outside my network. Makes sense, as "netstat -r" confirmed that I have no route to the outside world.

2.
I manually added a route with "route add default gateway 192.168.0.1". This works only if I have the gateway also in the /etc/hosts file.
With that I can now ping the internet servers (via IP addresses only). But the route is gone after a reboot. So, were do I configure the gateway permanently in SVR4? I could put the above command line in some startup config file, but there is certainly a proper way to do this as it is originally intended.

3. How do I setup DNS correctly. I'm pretty sure that SVR4 supports DNS so that I don't have to populate my /etc/hosts file with hundreds of entries. Out of experience I created /etc/resolv.conf with two entries:
nameserver 192.168.0.1
nameserver 8.8.8.8 (that's a public google one)

But this doesn't seem to work. With "nslookup <server>" I get the following messages:
*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.0.1: Not implemented
*** Can't find server name for address 8.8.8.8: Timed out
*** Default servers are not available

But I'm able to ping both IPs. Not sure what's going on. I'm certainly missing something important. Any idea?

Regards
-Leo24
Leo24 is offline  
Old 12 February 2018, 19:02   #2
Leo24
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 11
OK, after going through all scripts and config files in /etc, I think I found out how to setup the network correctly:

1. Configure with amixadm (opt. 7) the host IP and name + IP of the router. In my case (/etc/hosts):
127.1 localhost
192.168.0.1 router
192.168.0.80 A3000

2. Add route to gateway. Almost at the end of (/etc/inet/rc.inet):
/usr/sbin/route add default router 1
(use the same name as in hosts files. I my case the name is "router".)


Now the only remaining issue I have is setting up DNS. I have no idea how to make it work.

Regards
- Leo24
Leo24 is offline  
Old 12 February 2018, 19:45   #3
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 175
This should be of help:

https://web.archive.org/web/20140104...age=Networking
Noth is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 20:16   #4
Leo24
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 11
Thanks, Noth!

Unfortunately, the page is down and via web.archive.org the linked files are not available. I will have to figure it out for myself how to configure "named".

By the way, I have another topic. On AmigaOS side the clock is set correctly, but Amix doesn't seam to like the date. I suppose it's an Y2K issue. Do you know if there is a patch for this issue?
Leo24 is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 19:48   #5
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo24 View Post
Thanks, Noth!

Unfortunately, the page is down and via web.archive.org the linked files are not available. I will have to figure it out for myself how to configure "named".
Yes and Bind 4 being so ancient it's been out of support since December 2001. I'm going to see if I can get those files from some equally old operating systems, NeXTSTEP for one might have what I need. I'll get back to you as we need those files anyway.

Quote:
By the way, I have another topic. On AmigaOS side the clock is set correctly, but Amix doesn't seam to like the date. I suppose it's an Y2K issue. Do you know if there is a patch for this issue?
Yes all you need is a new setclk. I've uploaded it in the Zone for you. Overwrite the one provided by AMIX and you should be fine.
Noth is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 21:10   #6
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 175
Ok I managed to get the relevant BIND named files off a jagubox mirror. You'll find them attached here, just unzip in / and all should be in place. The files are set up to work in WinUAE, but so far I can't get nslookup to work. Hopefully you'll have better results than I'm getting!
Attached Files
File Type: zip named-conf.zip (3.1 KB, 41 views)
Noth is offline  
Old 25 February 2018, 17:33   #7
Leo24
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 11
Thank you very much!
Leo24 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aridane network setup Viserion support.Hardware 2 27 March 2016 01:03
Network Setup issue Greyspirit support.WinUAE 5 19 July 2015 04:37
For Sale A2065 Network Card Ami_GFX MarketPlace 0 14 December 2011 23:53
Best network setup? Dreedo Amiga scene 3 11 October 2011 19:11
Network/A2065 problems, WinUAE 2.3.0 hceline support.WinUAE 25 10 October 2010 13:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07857 seconds with 16 queries