English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2018, 15:49   #3341
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 56
I had a firmware mismatch issue with mine as well. For the TF530 board, I used the Dirty PCBs link from the MASTER branch of the TF530 repo.

When I used the firmware (dated 2017 March) from the same branch I got a black screen at bootup. I changed the firmware to the DEV version (RC2) and it booted.
chue is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 15:52   #3342
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 56
Also, the TF530 videos on YouTube are back online. They were offline for a bit.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCu4...y1ILAxNh7TGsmQ
chue is offline  
Old 18 July 2018, 08:38   #3343
Anonymous32768
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Marina Del Rey
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
I had a firmware mismatch issue with mine as well. For the TF530 board, I used the Dirty PCBs link from the MASTER branch of the TF530 repo.

When I used the firmware (dated 2017 March) from the same branch I got a black screen at bootup. I changed the firmware to the DEV version (RC2) and it booted.
Do you have a link to the location of the DEV firmware? I am having the same issue. Black screen.
Anonymous32768 is offline  
Old 18 July 2018, 15:11   #3344
LADmachining
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southampton
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous32768 View Post
Do you have a link to the location of the DEV firmware? I am having the same issue. Black screen.
Towards the left side of the github page, there is 'Branch' drop-down box. Select 'Dev' here, then you can download the RC1 and RC2 binaries from the 'bin' folder.

Or try this: https://github.com/terriblefire/tf530/tree/dev/bin

LADmachining is offline  
Old 18 July 2018, 18:22   #3345
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Yes just remove the Clock buffer jumper and the TF328 is disabled, you could make a fly lead like this so you donr have to keep opening the CD32
I just tried this and when I turn on cd32 without jumper screen stays black and power light dimmed.
Cobe is offline  
Old 18 July 2018, 18:25   #3346
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
I just tried this and when I turn on cd32 without jumper screen stays black and power light dimmed.
then you have an early firmware , you need to update it if you have the programmer tools
supaduper is offline  
Old 18 July 2018, 21:24   #3347
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 604
Ah..damn...
Thanks for prompt customer support!
Cobe is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 00:56   #3348
Pitka_Masa
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
So how is it with thw tf328, are there differences in early and late CD32's? Mine is assembled in february 1994 and i was wondering if the tf328 works in it.
Pitka_Masa is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 07:08   #3349
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitka_Masa View Post
So how is it with thw tf328, are there differences in early and late CD32's? Mine is assembled in february 1994 and i was wondering if the tf328 works in it.
In some some very early CD32`s there was a early rom version that can prevent the tf from working but yours will be fine ,there will no problem working with a TF328

Last edited by supaduper; 20 July 2018 at 10:13.
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 11:41   #3350
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
I've been digging through the Xilinx reports generated by the fitter. I then wrote some parsers in python to compare what I expected the pinouts to be vs what Xilinx set them as. There is a mismatch!!

TF530 Rev2
Code:
stephen@debiandev:~/git/tf530/build$ ./validate.py rev2 | grep -e 'Mismatch\|Error\|bus\|ram'
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/bus_top_rev2.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_bus_control_rev2.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 60 PIN: IPL<2> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 PIN: IPL<1> UCF: A<13> Error
Checking pin 57 PIN: IPL<0> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 UCF: A<13> PIN: IPL<1> Error
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/ram_top_rev2.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_ram_control_rev2.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 46 PIN: EXTINT UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
TF530 Rev3

Code:
stephen@debiandev:~/git/tf530/build$ ./validate.py rev3 | grep -e 'Mismatch\|Error\|bus\|ram'
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/bus_top_rev3.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_bus_control_rev3.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 34 PIN: IPL<0> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 PIN: DSACK<0> UCF: A<13> Error
Checking pin 43 UCF: A<13> PIN: DSACK<0> Error
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/ram_top_rev3.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_ram_control_rev3.ucf .... Done
plasmab is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 19:40   #3351
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 56
Does the pinout mismatch issue affect existing firmware (e.g. RC2), or is the issue only present in your unreleased firmware?
chue is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 00:44   #3352
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
Does the pinout mismatch issue affect existing firmware (e.g. RC2), or is the issue only present in your unreleased firmware?
If i understand it correctly - it affects the card itself, as it is routed not like Xilinx expected to be.. Don't know is this causing instabilities though..
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 22:54   #3353
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
If i understand it correctly - it affects the card itself, as it is routed not like Xilinx expected to be.. Don't know is this causing instabilities though..
It will affect all firmwares. I'll recompile them when i get a chance.
plasmab is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 00:45   #3354
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I've been digging through the Xilinx reports generated by the fitter. I then wrote some parsers in python to compare what I expected the pinouts to be vs what Xilinx set them as. There is a mismatch!!

TF530 Rev2
Code:
stephen@debiandev:~/git/tf530/build$ ./validate.py rev2 | grep -e 'Mismatch\|Error\|bus\|ram'
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/bus_top_rev2.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_bus_control_rev2.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 60 PIN: IPL<2> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 PIN: IPL<1> UCF: A<13> Error
Checking pin 57 PIN: IPL<0> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 UCF: A<13> PIN: IPL<1> Error
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/ram_top_rev2.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_ram_control_rev2.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 46 PIN: EXTINT UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
TF530 Rev3

Code:
stephen@debiandev:~/git/tf530/build$ ./validate.py rev3 | grep -e 'Mismatch\|Error\|bus\|ram'
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/bus_top_rev3.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_bus_control_rev3.ucf .... Done
Comparing pincounts... Mismatch!
Checking pin 34 PIN: IPL<0> UCF: Error - PIN NOT IN UCF FILE!
Checking pin 43 PIN: DSACK<0> UCF: A<13> Error
Checking pin 43 UCF: A<13> PIN: DSACK<0> Error
Parsing Pinfreeze File: work/ram_top_rev3.gyd .... Done
Parsing UCF File ../ucf/tf530_ram_control_rev3.ucf .... Done
I checked the UCF files/schematic and fitter reports and found something else.

A13 is an unused input and was optimised out by the fitter.
IPL1/2 connect from the 68000 socket to the 68030, not to the CPLD. I removed them.

Comparing the Rev 2 UCF aginast Rev3 and the schematic, I saw the following errors
Code:
Signal   Rev 2 pin     Rev 3 pin  Schematic
AVEC    35                63           35
DSACK0 63             MIA         63
FC0       34               40           34
FC1       33               35           33
After making those edits and adding a timing constraint on the clock from the V2 file, I rebuilt the design and checked the fitter reports against the schematic. Attached is a JEDEC file to program the board, new UCF file, ISE project file and the Verilog source. Can someone try the attached image and report their findings?

Ian
Attached Files
File Type: zip tf530bus_rev3.zip (12.3 KB, 34 views)

Last edited by Stedy; 03 August 2018 at 00:45. Reason: Editing code section
Stedy is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 20:13   #3355
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
My worry with removing them from the UCF file is that they can get set as ground pins randomly by ISE :/
plasmab is offline  
Old 05 August 2018, 15:56   #3356
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 413

known working update from Poland
it's 534
https://www.ppa.pl/graffiti/obrazek/...0-4mb-fast-ram
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 22:29   #3357
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 32
Could someone look at these voltages for me? this will fail " initialize jtag chain " the 68000 socket pins are not soldered in yet I tested the board without the pins. I am using a bench power supply. did not get anything at C2. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-rev3-eeror.png
Views:	58
Size:	719.5 KB
ID:	59138   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2025.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	872.0 KB
ID:	59139  
TimT is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 00:18   #3358
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimT View Post
Could someone look at these voltages for me? this will fail " initialize jtag chain " the 68000 socket pins are not soldered in yet I tested the board without the pins. I am using a bench power supply. did not get anything at C2. Thanks
1. as for me - it looks like tiny short at the resistor array beneath FPU socket. Take a microscope and have a check
2. You need both CPLD's to be able to program them...
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 02:05   #3359
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 32
I checked the resistor's, all seem good. I did a " hot pull " of a CLPD and soldered it in. Now it will initialize chain, but can't program them. I did try the bus CLPD only but got errors. I ordered more CLPD'S.. Sorry can't rotate the image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2028.JPG
Views:	40
Size:	128.7 KB
ID:	59145  

Last edited by TimT; 07 August 2018 at 02:11.
TimT is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 02:14   #3360
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 32
8 Bit Dreams what soldering tip are you using on the Caps ect..? I am just getting to much solder on the joints. also is there anything better then Alcohol to clean the boards?
Thanks
TimT is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15012 seconds with 14 queries