English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2017, 16:05   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Boot problem after changing Kickstart to/from 1.2

Boot the attached config. It uses Kickstart 3.1 and boots HDF to Workbench. There's also a non-bootable shared directory.

Press F12 and in ROM settings change to Kickstart 1.2. Click Reset. Machine boots to V1.2 insert Workbench screen. OK so far. Press F12 again and change ROM back to 3.1 (or 1.3). Click Reset. Machine doesn't boot properly, instead showing a "No disk present in device DF0" requester.
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/file/59mh2f21wuijgbh/my_test_JIT_uaegfx.zip
mark_k is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 17:16   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Important non-anwered question is: does it need the harddrive? Always test it first because without HD: immediately too many unknown variables.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 November 2017, 19:02   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Yes the issue only seems to happen with a (uaehf) HDF configured. You can use Crash_test_HD_4GB.bin to illustrate the problem. Shared folder isn't necessary. Config with no shared folder, 1.2 ROM:
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/file/fiobjz970b5je3p/my_test_JIT_uaegfx_NoZ3RAM3.zip
Load config, start emulation. See 1.2 insert Workbench disk screen. Press Ctrl-A-A. Machine resets then "No disk present in unit 0" requester appears. This in log:
filesystem: diagentry 00202da0 configdev 00000000
Pre-KS 1.3 automount hack: DF0: boot block faked.


At that point you can press F12, change to 3.1 ROM and click Reset. Same requester appears. Press Ctrl-A-A, same requester appears. With 3.1 ROM there is this in the log:
filesystem: diagentry 00200098 configdev 00000c48
filesystem: diagentry 0020be68 configdev 00000000
Pre-KS 1.3 automount hack: DF0: boot block faked.
Pre-KS 1.3 automount hack: init drives.
mark_k is offline  
Old 19 November 2017, 10:16   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Fixed. KS 1.2 boot hack patches uae boot rom which is not reinstalled during hard reset because it was not supposed to get modified.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2017, 13:17   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Thanks. There's still a problem with 1.2 ROM though.

On starting emulation the insert WB disk screen appears. If you then press Ctrl-A-A you get the no disk present requester. Is the system supposed to be able to boot from an (OFS) partition on the HDF?
mark_k is offline  
Old 19 November 2017, 14:58   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Include new log.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2017, 17:33   #7
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
(Lines about e.g. input devices & D3D deleted for brevity.)

Hopefully you should be able to reproduce this with Crash_test_4GB_HD.bin.

On loading config:
config reset
load config 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\Configurations\my_test_JIT_uaegfx_NoZ3RAM3_Kick12.uae':0
KS ver = 33 (0x21)


On clicking Start and seeing insert WB disk screen:
WinUAE 3.6.0 (Public Beta 8, 2017.11.19) 64-bit (10.0.16299 [1]) 64-bit 9.6.3F02 8 15:21 0
'C:\Program Files\WinUAE\winuae64_3600b8.exe'
EXE: 'C:\Program Files\WinUAE\', DATA: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\', PLUGIN: 'C:\Program Files\WinUAE\plugins\'
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 02: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 03: 'Pre-KS 1.3 UAE FS ROM'
c1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K IO 0
END
MMAN: Selected REAL Z3 mapping mode
Total 256M Z3 Total 256M, HM 0M
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 02: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 03: 'Pre-KS 1.3 UAE FS ROM'
c1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K IO 0
END
MMAN: Our special area: 0000000080000000-0000000090000000 (0x10000000 256M)
KS ver = 33 (0x21)
RTAREA located at 00F00000
shmget of size 65536 (64k) for rtarea (UAE Boot ROM)
0000000080F00000: VA 00F00000 - 00F10000 10000 (64k) ok (0000000080F00000)
TRAP_ENTRY = 00f01d9a
shmget of size 8388608 (8192k) for * (Fast memory)
0000000080200000: VA 00200000 - 00A00020 800020 (8192k) ok (0000000080200000)
shmget of size 524288 (512k) for kick (Kickstart ROM)
0000000080F80000: VA 00F80000 - 01000020 80020 (512k) ok (0000000080F80000)
shmget of size 2097152 (2048k) for chip (Chip memory)
0000000080000000: VA 00000000 - 00200000 200000 (2048k) ok (0000000080000000)
ROM VP 00F00000 - 00F03000 3000 (12k) UNPROT
ROM VP 00F80000 - 01000000 80000 (512k) UNPROT
ROM loader.. (<none>)
Known ROM 'KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000)' loaded
ROM loader end
memory init end
No disk in drive 0.
Resetting frame rate hack
1870 CPU functions
Notify error code = 80004005 (-2147467259)
Notify error code = 80004005 (-2147467259)
Resetting frame rate hack
Building CPU, 45926 opcodes (3 0 0)
CPU=68030, FPU=68882 (host), MMU=0, JIT=CPU=8192. fast
clipboard: reset (00000000)
hfd attempting to open: 'E:\my_amiga_hd\my_amiga_hd_4gb.bin'
HDF 'E:\my_amiga_hd\my_amiga_hd_4gb.bin' 000000001797BA68 opened, size=4194304K mode=1 empty=0
memory init end
Reset at 00000000. Chipset mask = 00000003
00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C16 Chip memory
00200000 8192K/0 = 8192K -- F32 <none>
00A00000 2048K/0 = 2048K -- CIA CIA
00C00000 1536K/0 = 1536K -- C16 Custom chipset
00D80000 256K/0 = 256K -- C16 <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (none)
00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 <none>
00DE0000 128K/0 = 128K -- C16 Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
00E90000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F80000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
01000000 4080M/0 = 4080M -- F32 <none>
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 02: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 03: 'Pre-KS 1.3 UAE FS ROM'
c1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K IO 0
END
Card 0: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
ROM VP 00F00000 - 00F03000 3000 (12k) UNPROT
ROM VP 00F80000 - 01000000 80000 (512k) UNPROT
hardreset, memory cleared
SERIAL: period=372, baud=9600, hsyncs=14, bits=8, PC=fc21f8
Card 2: Z2 0x00200000 8192K RAM Fast memory
shmget of size 65536 (64k) for * (Filesystem autoconfig)
0000000080E90000: VA 00E90000 - 00EA0020 10020 (64k) ok (0000000080E90000)
Card 3: Z2 0x00e90000 64K IO Filesystem autoconfig
Memory map after autoconfig:
00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C16 Chip memory
00200000 8192K/1 = 8192K ID F32 Fast memory
00A00000 2048K/0 = 2048K -- CIA CIA
00C00000 1536K/0 = 1536K -- C16 Custom chipset
00D80000 256K/0 = 256K -- C16 <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (MSM6242B)
00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 <none>
00DE0000 128K/0 = 128K -- C16 Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
00E90000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 Filesystem autoconfig
00EA0000 384K/0 = 384K -- F32 <none>
00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F80000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
01000000 4064M/0 = 4064M -- F32 <none>
FF000000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z3
FF010000 16320K/0 = 16320K -- F32 <none>


After pressing Ctrl-A-A and seeing No disk present requester:
KB: reset warning triggered
KB: sent reset warning code (phase=1)
KB: reset warning second phase..
KB: sent reset warning code (phase=2)
KB: reset warning SP = output
KB: reset warning end by software. reset.
CPU=68030, FPU=68882 (host), MMU=0, JIT=CPU=8192. fast
clipboard: reset (00000000)
hfd attempting to open: 'E:\my_amiga_hd\my_amiga_hd_4gb.bin'
HDF 'E:\my_amiga_hd\my_amiga_hd_4gb.bin' 000000001797BA68 opened, size=4194304K mode=1 empty=0
memory init end
Reset at 00FE8A84. Chipset mask = 00000003
00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C16 Chip memory
00200000 8192K/0 = 8192K -- F32 <none>
00A00000 2048K/0 = 2048K -- CIA CIA
00C00000 1536K/0 = 1536K -- C16 Custom chipset
00D80000 256K/0 = 256K -- C16 <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (MSM6242B)
00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 <none>
00DE0000 128K/0 = 128K -- C16 Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
00E90000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F80000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
01000000 4080M/0 = 4080M -- F32 <none>
Autoconfig board list:
Card 01: 'UAE Boot ROM' no autoconfig 00f00000 - 00f0ffff.
Card 02: 'Z2 Fast RAM'
e0.51.00.00.07.db.00.00.00.01.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 81 (51) SER 00000001
Z2 0x00200000 0x00200000 8192K RAM 0
Card 03: 'Pre-KS 1.3 UAE FS ROM'
c1.52.40.00.07.db.00.00.00.03.00.00.00.00.00.00
MID 2011 (07db) PID 82 (52) SER 00000003
Z2 0x00e90000 0x00e90000 64K IO 0
END
Card 0: skipping autoconfig (not autoconfig)
ROM VP 00F00000 - 00F03000 3000 (12k) UNPROT
ROM VP 00F80000 - 01000000 80000 (512k) UNPROT
Card 2: Z2 0x00200000 8192K RAM Fast memory
mapped_free direct Filesystem autoconfig
shmget of size 65536 (64k) for * (Filesystem autoconfig)
0000000080E90000: VA 00E90000 - 00EA0020 10020 (64k) ok (0000000080E90000)
Card 3: Z2 0x00e90000 64K IO Filesystem autoconfig
Memory map after autoconfig:
00000000 2048K/1 = 2048K ID C16 Chip memory
00200000 8192K/1 = 8192K ID F32 Fast memory
00A00000 2048K/0 = 2048K -- CIA CIA
00C00000 1536K/0 = 1536K -- C16 Custom chipset
00D80000 256K/0 = 256K -- C16 <none>
00DC0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 Battery backed up clock (MSM6242B)
00DD0000 64K/0 = 64K -- C16 <none>
00DE0000 128K/0 = 128K -- C16 Custom chipset
00E00000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
00E80000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z2
00E90000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 Filesystem autoconfig
00EA0000 384K/0 = 384K -- F32 <none>
00F00000 64K/1 = 64K -- F32 UAE Boot ROM
00F10000 448K/0 = 448K -- F32 <none>
00F80000 512K/2 = 256K ID F32 Kickstart ROM (A6CE1636)
=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01]
01000000 4064M/0 = 4064M -- F32 <none>
FF000000 64K/0 = 64K -- F32 Autoconfig Z3
FF010000 16320K/0 = 16320K -- F32 <none>
filesystem: diagentry 00202da0 configdev 00000000
Pre-KS 1.3 automount hack: DF0: boot block faked.
mark_k is offline  
Old 19 November 2017, 19:00   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
68030 and JIT and 32-bit address space and more running under KS 1.2? No, thanks. Remove all unnecessary and irrelevant options first, I am not going to waste time by trying to duplicate it with some sane config, like standard A500 KS 1.2 and confirm if all that unnecessary looking stuff is really needed or not to cause it.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2017, 22:16   #9
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
OK, some configs with OCS 68000 cycle-exact here:
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/file/98zql177z8tb30w/KS1.2_configs.zip
512KB chip: Infinite reboot loop at grey screen, resets every ~1/2 second.
512KB chip + 512KB slow: Infinite reboot loop at grey screen, reset every ~4 seconds.
512KB chip + 8MB Z2: After clicking start the insert WB disk screen appears. Press Ctrl-A-A and get reset loop (like with 512KB chip config).

Strangely none of them give the no disk present requester???

Edit: That was testing with 3.6.0b8. With 3.6.0b7 and earlier, at least the 512+8M config does boot to CLI, but you have to press Ctrl-A-A at the insert WB disk screen for it to do that.

Edit 2: With 3.6.0b7, the 512 and 512+512 configs correctly boot: no insert disk screen.
The 512+8M config shows the insert disk screen, but after pressing Ctrl-A-A it does boot.

Last edited by mark_k; 19 November 2017 at 22:30.
mark_k is offline  
Old 20 November 2017, 20:53   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
b8 bug fixed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 November 2017, 19:09   #11
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Thanks.

The doesn't-work-until-you-Ctrl-A-A issue with the Z2 fast RAM config has been present since pre-1.3 booting was first implemented (I checked back to 3.2.0).
mark_k is offline  
Old 21 November 2017, 20:38   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
The doesn't-work-until-you-Ctrl-A-A issue with the Z2 fast RAM config has been present since pre-1.3 booting was first implemented (I checked back to 3.2.0).
Fixed. Extra F0 ROM KS 1.2 boot resident was added when filesystem board was being autoconfigured which was too late if it wasn't first board.
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot different AmigaOS by kickstart version? hyperlogos support.Other 18 02 October 2017 18:35
ACA500 and boot CF with Kickstart 1.3 gurth support.Hardware 9 14 April 2014 22:56
Problem with changing Screenmode after LoadView/WaitTOF StingRay support.WinUAE 4 24 September 2012 10:07
3.1 Kickstart A600 slow boot kipper2k support.Hardware 14 05 July 2009 12:48
Changing the boot priority of RAD: lennonlives support.Apps 7 08 October 2008 21:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.99979 seconds with 15 queries