English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2016, 04:03   #41
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
And just like that I found a nice 4GB 50 Pin SCSI drive on ebay for $35. Can't beat that (assuming it works). Hopefully this drive (it's an IBM just like my current one) will partition without issue.

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 12 May 2016 at 16:05.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 13:12   #42
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,669
Gurus sound like termination issues to me.
idrougge is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 16:05   #43
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Gurus sound like termination issues to me.
You think so? I have a cable with a terminator on the end and the CD-ROM drive that's at the end of the chain also has termination (I figure it couldn't hurt). I thought the 8000 errors were usually memory related somehow?
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 17:40   #44
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
You think so? I have a cable with a terminator on the end and the CD-ROM drive that's at the end of the chain also has termination (I figure it couldn't hurt). I thought the 8000 errors were usually memory related somehow?
Two terminators at the same end of the chain? You must use only one per end.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 17:53   #45
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Two terminators at the same end of the chain? You must use only one per end.
Yes. The last device in the chain (CD-ROM) has a built in terminator and the cable itself also has a terminator on the end. Since the cable has a built in terminator I'll turn the CD-Rom's termination off (it's a jumper setting).

Out of curiosity, why would this be problem? I assumed that since the CD-ROM drive has termination enabled the chain would end there and not even see the terminator at the end of the cable.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 18:11   #46
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,879
It's not quite like that, the terminators don't physically cut the bus, it continues as normal from the device..

You should only use a device's internal terminator if the cable end plugs into the actual device itself and doesn't continue. If your drive is inside an external box, then you should always use an external terminator at the actual physical end of the bus and leave the device inside unterminated.

But even with internal devices, I would always recommend to not terminate the devices themselves, but have a cable that is terminated instead.

Last edited by Jope; 12 May 2016 at 18:16.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 May 2016, 18:57   #47
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
I'll unterminate (is that a word?) the CD-ROM drive tonight and see if my Guru errors go away.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 04:37   #48
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Arrgh! I got my new 4GB hard drive (an IBM DCAS-34330) which is similar to my old 1GB drive, but HDToolBox isn't reading it properly. It shows up as a 20MB drive (although it *IS* seeing it which is good) and the get info command isn't working (it gives me that "Not Supported" error I mentioned earlier). I tried ExpertPrep as well but it also shows the wrong size drive (it reads it as a 34MB drive).

I'm at my wits end here, can anyone help? I'll gladly enter all the information into the definition manually if someone can help me with the numbers. I think this may be my only hope.

EDIT: I found this http://comp.sys.amiga.hardware.narki...isk-parameters but I don't see the final solution. By using some of those numbers and fiddling around with things, I got it to see it as a 2GB hard drive, but if I went past that it went to negative numbers. I know the partitions are limited to 2GB, but I thought the drive itself could be at least 4GB.

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 19 May 2016 at 05:01.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 09:30   #49
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,716
For the drive in the link (8467200 Blocks) these values can be used:

Cylinders = 8400
Heads = 16
Blocks per track = 63
Blocks per Cylinder = 1008

Negative values are ok, just ignore them. Like I mentioned earlier, HDToolbox cannot deal with large numbers. But that's only the display, not the internal calculation. (Everything between 2G and 4G is displayed negative, above 4GB it wraps around to 0.)

All that matters is that Cylinders * Heads * Blocks per track <= Total number of blocks and Blocks per cylinders = Blocks per track * Heads.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 16:06   #50
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Ok I'll try those and see what happens. Thank you for all the help.

What's the recommended partition scheme for a 4GB drive? Two 2GB partitions? A small system partition (200MB or so) and two 1.9GB partitions? I think I read somewhere that you should keep the system partition small for speed reasons.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 18:02   #51
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,669
I keep my system partition small <50 MB and add a secondary system partition for regular backups. The rest I split at leisure.

Do note that you don't have to partition the entire drive unless you need the space — and in that case you may add another partition later; the old ones aren't harmed. Big partitions eat memory.
idrougge is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 18:29   #52
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Big partitions eat memory.
Can you explain that? This system is mainly for playing games so I was going to have two big partitions full of games, but if they eat up too much memory I might have an issue. My system as 1MB of Chip RAM and 8MB of other RAM.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 19 May 2016, 20:33   #53
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,879
There's no official recommendation really, use what works for you. I personally do not split any hard disk / CF card, one big partition per disk.

You'll end up eating the RAM anyway if you have a big disk, fewer partitions = less total ram usage, even though bigger partitions will eat more RAM. 8MB is enough to have any size partition you like and still be left with enough for software.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 May 2016, 17:05   #54
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
Can you explain that? This system is mainly for playing games so I was going to have two big partitions full of games, but if they eat up too much memory I might have an issue. My system as 1MB of Chip RAM and 8MB of other RAM.
The system allocates buffers for your drive to speed up reading and writing. You can set the number of buffers in HDToolbox to keep down memory requirements, but at the cost of access speed.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 04:22   #55
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
I'm having some weird issues now. I put those numbers into the HDToolsProgram and it worked. It showed I had two partitions of about 2.06GB (2066MB) each. I then did a quick format on them and all seemed well. However when I went to go use the install program it gave me a weird error:

Unable to compile script
Error: Unmatched parenthesis on line 2598 (or 1962)

Now whenever I boot to WB 3.1 from the install disk and try to run and run any of the programs I get an error that says

Workbench
Program Failed (error #80000003)
Wait for disk activity to finish

This happens whenever I access the disk. Sometimes I can start programs, but other times it happens right away. At first I thought maybe the disk had gone bad so I remade it, but I'm still getting those errors. Could it be a bad disk drive or cable?

I'm kind of curious as to why this is happening now. The only thing that has changed is that I partitioned and quick formatted the hard drive. Interestingly my system works just fine under WB 1.3 when I plug in my other hard drive. Absolutely no issues.

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 21 May 2016 at 05:20.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 21:09   #56
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 407
I figured out the problem. One of the sticks of memory on my card are bad. I took them all out and all the problems went away. I'll have to find a memory test program I guess. I'll make a different thread about that since it's not hard drive related.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 12:50   #57
breech
Asking stupid questions
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd.Oz
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
I figured out the problem. One of the sticks of memory on my card are bad. I took them all out and all the problems went away. I'll have to find a memory test program I guess. I'll make a different thread about that since it's not hard drive related.
So how did you go? Ultra SCSI to 50 Pin Adapter + 4gb drive worked out in the end? Have you have any success adding extra partitions?
breech is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with hard drive and save states, and a few other questions gryf support.FS-UAE 7 29 January 2013 16:49
Hard drive, partitions, buffer questions. fc.studio support.Hardware 15 01 September 2007 14:37
Compact flash drive Vs. 2,5" hard disk drive fc.studio support.Hardware 5 16 June 2007 17:40
A600 Hard Drive Questions Wingnut New to Emulation or Amiga scene 20 21 March 2006 03:42
Hard Drive Questions killergorilla support.Hardware 1 23 March 2003 20:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08835 seconds with 15 queries