English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2020, 22:06   #1
Solar
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Verl / Germany
Posts: 2
FS-UAE caching ADF contents?

Apparently FS-UAE is somehow caching floppy disk image content, and doing a bad job of it...



I'm starting FS-UAE through FS-UAE-Launcher 2.8.3 on Linux Mint 19.3.

I also own an A3000, with a Gotek USB floppy emulator mounted. I used that to format several ADF images.

I then unhooked the USB stick from the Gotek drive, and plugged it into the Linux box. I used unadf to list the image contents, and indeed unadf showed their new logical names, and them being empty.

But mounting those images in FS-UAE, I saw the old logical names and old contents of those images from when I had last mounted them in FS-UAE.


This is rather counterproductive; how can I turn off this behavior, and make FS-UAE actually read the images I provide?
Solar is offline  
Old 18 May 2020, 22:36   #2
Solar
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Verl / Germany
Posts: 2
OK, so...

FS-UAE by default does not write to ADF images. Instead it saves "overlays" with the data written, in ".../FS-UAE/Save States/<Configuration>/#?.sdf" files. Note, .sdf, not .adf, and the format is not compatible.

To disable this rather surprising behavior, you have to:
  • set "writable_floppy_images = 1" in your ".../FS-UAE/Configurations/<Configuration>" file. Make sure of the spelling, it's "writable", "writeable" is not recognized.
  • Delete the overlays. Even with the configuration option set, existing overlays will continue to be used.

I understand the idea of protecting your ADF's, but backup copies are cheap, and hiding this behavior behind an option that can't be set by the loader and requires some hoops to jump through to disable...
Solar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE ADF to real Amiga? GavinG support.FS-UAE 0 31 December 2019 14:52
Fixing an ADF DOS contents sTe support.Other 19 10 July 2019 21:34
Flink ADF | FS-UAE Keylonta support.FS-UAE 13 10 December 2016 13:28
AmigaForever's Workbench 1.3.4 ADF contents amigasith support.Amiga Forever 0 10 May 2014 23:10
How to use contents of 'Lords of Chaos' .adf save disk with WHDLoad? Port_H project.WHDLoad 11 28 October 2008 17:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07446 seconds with 13 queries