English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2009, 09:21   #1
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
2ND button joystick on a real Amiga

I have rebuild a Logitech pad to work on my A1200
and I have added a 2nd button joystick

(pin 9 + ground)

but it does not works on all games

it works perfect on Turrican 1 ,2 and 3, and on Rtype 1 & 2

but pin 9 + ground doesn't works on games like BCkid,Bubble & squeak,Aladdin and Lionheart and maybe others

my question is this:

what schematic for the 2nd button joystick is the genuine for all games?

what should be added there? a resistor? a diode?
Fabie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 November 2009, 09:30   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 34
Posts: 13,731
Are you sure these games have second button option?
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 09:56   #3
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,794
Yes, all of them have a 2 button joystick setting in the options.
TCD is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:14   #4
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,593
I know this sounds obvious - and is possibly stupid (too lazy to check the HRM at the moment and find out ) but my guess would be that the games that the second button doesn't work on don't perform the same check in their code for a press of that second button as the games that it does work on...

Edit: To clarify, what I mean is: Is there only one standard defined signal that can come from the joyports that should be regarded as "second joytick button has been pressed"
pmc is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:22   #5
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,794
Hmm, R-Type and Turrican just support the second button (no need to go to the options). I wonder if it's that simple...
TCD is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:37   #6
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
PMC,

you can't check on the code of that games how the 2nd button joystick works
************
and according to my A1200 manual page F-8:
(Mouse/game controller ports)

pin 9 is button 2
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:41   #7
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,762
Ive had problems with both BcKid and Aladdin with a sega pad - these problems have gone away with latest Whd Slaves.

Last edited by Boo Boo; 19 November 2009 at 10:47.
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:41   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,321
Some games forget to initialize POTGO register (Paula io-register) and only work under KS 1.x..

KS 1.x always enables both joystick port direction bits. KS 2.x+ only enables mouse port (right mouse button = 2nd firebutton)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:50   #9
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
btw,

I think that some games were designed to work with the megadrive or mastersystem pad or maybe any other strange joystick or pad
and that games not use the standart 'amiga 2nd button schem

however Im sure that they make use of pin 9 thorugh a resistor or through a diode or any other way


so....the point of this is.... find a way to make your own 2nd button schem that will work on all games

Last edited by Fabie; 19 November 2009 at 11:02.
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:58   #10
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Some games forget to initialize POTGO register (Paula io-register) and only work under KS 1.x..

KS 1.x always enables both joystick port direction bits. KS 2.x+ only enables mouse port (right mouse button = 2nd firebutton)
OK I understand

so ....if I softkick Kicstart 1.3 on my A1200 using relokick or rekick and then run that games from floppy....2nd button will work?
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 10:59   #11
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,762
Aladdin was realy fucked up -
your not using WHDload? - Can you use WHDload?
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 17:03   #12
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Aladdin was realy fucked up -
your not using WHDload? - Can you use WHDload?
The only way to run Aladdin on my A1200 is whdload cause prodigy crack doesn't work
My A1200 is a rev 1.D1 and has a strange bug and Aladdin does not works from floppy

back to the point,using whdload the 2nd button on Aladdin partially works,but there's a delay issue between you give up apples
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 17:33   #13
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,762
I guess if your using Aladdin slave 1.4+ then this is not a software issue.
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 19:06   #14
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Age: 100
Posts: 4,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Some games forget to initialize POTGO register (Paula io-register) and only work under KS 1.x..

KS 1.x always enables both joystick port direction bits. KS 2.x+ only enables mouse port (right mouse button = 2nd firebutton)
^ Here's the answer.

Second joystick button is a simple physical pin connection, so it's not easy to mess that up.

Toni, does reset on those kickstarts actively set the wrong direction on softreset? If not, one could make a simple reset patch.

I'm pretty sure I can use both firebuttons on kick 2.0 on my A500 - but let me check one of those games above. I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't, I usually kickswitch into 1.3 or 1.2 when I know I want to play games/watch demos.
Photon is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 19:12   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,321
At least 3.1+ always rewrites POTGO when it reads status of mouse buttons. (I guess this must have something to do with included CD32 pad support etc?)

AFAIK KS 1.x does it only once during reset.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 19:38   #16
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: #pspuae chatroom
Age: 33
Posts: 2,415
maybe some of these game read CD32-Blue button instead of the normal 2nd button check? i cant be sure, but that might cause a few problems with some.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 20:28   #17
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
maybe some of these game read CD32-Blue button instead of the normal 2nd button check? i cant be sure, but that might cause a few problems with some.
that games do not read Blue CD32 button
they were made before CD32 release

Im sure they look for C button of the megadrive Pad...however I haven't a megadrive pad so I can't confirm that
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 20:31   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 9,015
Bubble & Squeak and Lionheart work indeed with a Sega Mega Drive C-button, but my Tecno Plus pad not.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 20:36   #19
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Bubble & Squeak and Lionheart work indeed with a Sega Mega Drive C-button, but my Tecno Plus pad not.
thanks for the info

can you check also if the games Yojoe and BCkid 2nd button works with your megadrive pad?
Fabie is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 20:38   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 9,015
BC Kid doesn't work with the MD pad, but with the Tecno Plus. Not sure about YoJoe, have to test it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd button support for Mean Arenas rmcin329 Games images which need to be WHDified 0 17 June 2013 16:56
edit joy 2nd button ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 4 15 November 2012 10:30
Killing Game Show 2nd button support Bamiga2002 project.WHDLoad 0 23 January 2008 16:06
Amiga 2 Button Joystick to PC USB Zetr0 support.Hardware 4 24 July 2007 12:47
2nd Fire Button Doozy support.WinUAE 7 22 January 2002 19:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22894 seconds with 11 queries