English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 October 2019, 06:50   #1
badflame
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 58
[SOLVED] Might & Magic III - Isles of Terra WHD WinUAE error

Hi,

after slave file loads, this error appears:



I have tried a lot of tooltypes: NOCACHE, NOAUTOVEC, EXPCHIP, NOMMU, PRELOAD, NOWRITECACHE...

It's the version 1.2

Please, helpme

Last edited by badflame; 29 October 2019 at 20:29.
badflame is offline  
Old 29 October 2019, 08:13   #2
badflame
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 58
Ok, it seems that it's necessary add tooltype CUSTOM1=1 for intro or CUSTOM1=2 for game (none info in the ReadMe file)

But... when I start the game (using CUSTOM1=2) after this form:



shows some credits and the game returns to the AmigaDOS.

badflame is offline  
Old 29 October 2019, 12:30   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,496
I also had issues with Might And Magic III: Isles Of Terra; and ended up doing a "native" installation from .IPFs and copying the crack over...

See this thread for more details: Might And Magic III: Isles Of Terra - Issues
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 October 2019, 20:27   #4
badflame
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 58
I have tested your .hdf and it works correctly.

As all my Amiga roms are compressed in 7z, I also have compress your hdf. Then, the same error occurs, that is, after entering a name for the game it stops and goes to AmigaDos.

In this way it follows that the error occurs because "Might & Magic III" necessarily needs to work with writing attributes. Therefore it must be executed from an hdf file or from a directory, but it is not possible from a compressed file (7z or zip).

So, mystery solved!

Thanks DamienD
badflame is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 07:54   #5
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,714
My HDF Works..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	64989   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	64990  
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 09:36   #6
badflame
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
My HDF Works..
Yes, that's what I said. The hdf works and also the WHD, but not compressed, because the game needs writing attributes. Since I used a compressed file in 7z, this is why the game didn't work for me.

Greetings.
badflame is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 12:50   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by badflame View Post
As all my Amiga roms are compressed in 7z, I also have compress your hdf. Then, the same error occurs, that is, after entering a name for the game it stops and goes to AmigaDos.

In this way it follows that the error occurs because "Might & Magic III" necessarily needs to work with writing attributes. Therefore it must be executed from an hdf file or from a directory, but it is not possible from a compressed file (7z or zip).
I wouldn't ever suggest zipping up .HDFs as these usually need to be written to... even just booting to Workbench and not doing anything writes files.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Might And Magic III: Isles Of Terra - Issues DamienD support.Games 15 22 October 2018 14:15
ERROR: Magic Marble (resload_Diskload) killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 9 28 July 2010 16:48
Heroes of Might and Magic III almost made it to the Atari! Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 10 31 May 2009 09:02
Might and Magic III - Isles of Terra tomtom request.Old Rare Games 2 21 November 2001 17:45
Terra Cresta & Impact Maverick357 Nostalgia & memories 32 09 November 2001 04:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06993 seconds with 16 queries