English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2013, 10:33   #1
clownstyle
Registered User
clownstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 139
A600 with Samsung TV!

Hey again.

Wanted to get my Amiga downstairs and the only TV I have to run it down there is this beast...

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/t...UE46C8000XKXXU

Would the picture be any good? I'm running composite cable at the moment but will be upgrading to this method ->

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=226

Will the picture be good or should I just use a junk old TV? I thought the size of the screen may be an issue

clownstyle is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 12:39   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
it should work fine.
roy bates is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 13:06   #3
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Itll be ok. My amiga is hooked up to a 32" samsung led in 4:3 mode and it looks great.
john1979 is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 13:16   #4
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,279
Does it not look far too pixelated?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 13:29   #5
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
It does if youre too close. With an even bigger screen like ops it could be worse but fine for living room gaming.

My main issue with samsung leds is 2d scrolling performance is bad. Lots of dimming and blur.
john1979 is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 13:46   #6
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,279
Not sure if anyone aware, but using the SVGA out on my old laptop to a large TV made even DOS games look like Amiga (i.e. not pixelated as they appear on monitors!), so I assume the TV down-scales the resolution when connected tvia S-Video/SVGA?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 February 2013, 14:59   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I use my cd32 on the big tv (42in toshiba) and the picture is perfect via composite but ymmv...
fitzsteve is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling 20" Samsung Syncmaster TFT LCD Monitor PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 1 04 March 2010 17:55
Free : Samsung IDE CD-RW/DVD-ROM combo alexh MarketPlace 1 31 August 2009 20:28
Using Samsung CDRW drive on Amiga macce2 support.Hardware 3 19 June 2008 03:32
samsung syncmaster 940mg @UAE support.Hardware 7 06 March 2008 20:44
harddisk Samsung 40GB - A1200T OS3.5 recognize only 7GB huschel5 support.Hardware 10 09 September 2007 15:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09760 seconds with 13 queries