English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2018, 19:11   #21
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
we have not tested the PCIE version with required adapter
the card is PCI or PCIE we are using the faster PCI version atm
nexus is online now  
Old 16 August 2018, 09:18   #22
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 739
Lot of blah blah immediately that they are hard to find....Just bought one this morning for 39 dollar. People are just too lazy to look. And read for that matter. They were even linked to in the different threads.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 06:04   #23
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Although I long ago gave up the Sonnet route I'm still following just of of interest. Some naive and probably stupid idea, but since for these PCI-E cards we need a (PCI) adapter anyway, would it make sense to work on an Amiga CPU slot to PCI-E adapter instead of putting it in a PCI slot?

Mmm, would that even work without a 68k CPU, which you would then need on the mainboard.
they are PCI what we support better check ebay ton there atm R088J DELL part#
nexus is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 06:31   #24
knightbeat
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
The Killer cards which this thread refers to goes for around £50~, and you would've known that if you actually read the thread instead of assuming...
I assume you're in the UK, Marlon. Have you found a UK retailer selling this card? I've found various international sellers on ebay, but none in the UK and a trawl of online retailers hasn't turned up anything yet.

As a general Q, is this the first time this card has been used for non-NIC use? It may have value as a way to speed-up QEMU performance.
knightbeat is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 07:24   #25
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
far as i know yeah the card didnt get much use but just being a nic
why there arent really any FNAapps made besides what they gave you
would be even less of them if it wasnt for dell using them as none could justify the cost of the M1 or the K1
as you can see online most didnt even believe it did anything or anything worth $150-$250
why after these 2 they were stripped down and sold for less as you can see on the pcie version no fpga broadcom chips onboard just cpu
visiontech sold 1 the xeno pro that had audio then they got even cheaper with the 2100 that is just a nic nothing else added

now having said all that the M1 and K1 are full SBC the flash runs a full linux kernal that you can access
the cd for these comes with all the tools source etc etc
i have the iso if anyone needs or wants who didnt get the cd
just fyi M1 and K1 are 100% same board just different firmware which lowered the clock to 333mhz and you had to buy the upgrade to use FNAapps
which was then flashed to the card from windows
the windows driver includes flashing tool and bin files etc

Last edited by nexus; 19 August 2018 at 07:41.
nexus is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 13:03   #26
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
just fyi M1 and K1 are 100% same board just different firmware which lowered the clock to 333mhz and you had to buy the upgrade to use FNAapps
which was then flashed to the card from windows
the windows driver includes flashing tool and bin files etc
So can the K1 be reflashed? Or was it a one shot deal?
indigolemon is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 17:15   #27
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
So can the K1 be reflashed? Or was it a one shot deal?

There's no reason to think it can't be reflashed. The tools that came with the card only flash the Linux side not the board parameters. So until someone actually does it successfully, it doesn't work yet to reflash the K1 to M1.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 18:38   #28
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
There's no reason to think it can't be reflashed. The tools that came with the card only flash the Linux side not the board parameters. So until someone actually does it successfully, it doesn't work yet to reflash the K1 to M1.
Ah right, gotcha - will need to do more digging once it gets here. That makes sense though!
indigolemon is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 19:47   #29
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
well really the flash can be disable or taken off and then it would just be waiting on PCI boot
have to do that anyways if anyone wants to set over 400mhz or hex edit the rom
nexus is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 20:22   #30
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
well really the flash can be disable or taken off and then it would just be waiting on PCI boot
have to do that anyways if anyone wants to set over 400mhz or hex edit the rom
I look forward to the results of your hacking about sir Good luck with bumping the RAM up as well
indigolemon is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 20:31   #31
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
There's no reason to think it can't be reflashed. The tools that came with the card only flash the Linux side not the board parameters. So until someone actually does it successfully, it doesn't work yet to reflash the K1 to M1.
from what i see that is not correct
the flash is in 2 parts and each needs to be flashed to correct areas of the chip
you need to know the commands which are hidden inside the exe

this is the update to k1 firmware k 1 _ f n a _ u p d a t e . b i n
ofc that isnt in what we have as it cost you $30
but doesnt do anything but enable FNA anyways

Last edited by nexus; 19 August 2018 at 20:44.
nexus is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 20:43   #32
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
I look forward to the results of your hacking about sir Good luck with bumping the RAM up as well
ram is the easiest part lol anyone with a hot air gun can learn to do in a day
small bga chips should be really easy to get them off and on
some may want to watch some GOOD youtube vids of this process

Last edited by nexus; 19 August 2018 at 20:49.
nexus is online now  
Old 19 August 2018, 21:06   #33
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 72
Upgrading the ram is one thing, but will the card recordnize the new ram ?
esel is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 23:10   #34
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
Upgrading the ram is one thing, but will the card recordnize the new ram ?

It would generally mean a library update, assuming it actually electrically worked.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 August 2018, 23:44   #35
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightbeat View Post
I assume you're in the UK, Marlon.
Your assumption is wrong, I'm in Sweden, and it even says so on my profile.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 00:30   #36
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,333
There are various companies who will reship something if it's only available in the US. http://www.shipito.com is one, I've never used this particular company and don't endorse it.

The company I bought my K1 from on ebay now has more than 10 available, and my board smelled brand new in a sealed anti-static bag.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:14   #37
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 739
Pft If M1 is little, then K1 is micro.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 06:46   #38
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
Upgrading the ram is one thing, but will the card recordnize the new ram ?
well ram is all allocated by software and this runs linux os

as the pcie runs 128mb
so only thing for us is just how the library sets up what it finds
hardware side only matters when choosing incorrect sizes for the bank and or array config types
eg cant go sticking a 2GB chip on 1 spot when you can only read 1GB due to hardware reasons
nexus is online now  
Old 09 September 2018, 22:27   #39
Tucker
Registered User
Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Posts: 20
I'd find it a lot easier to locate one of these cards if there were photos of these cards that are supported by the: MediatorPCI PowerPC Library by Dennis Boon, such as the ...

Sonnet G3/G4 with max. 192 MB - as I understood it to be just the 7200 PCI versions that worked, which are really hard to find, and are usually very expensive. OR are now - ALL Sonnet cards now supported of this type, even the ones with a more Mac type PCI edge connector?

Photos of the Sonnet 7200 PCI are here: https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetA...f-Sonnet-Cards

Also what do these below listed cards look like, and are they likely to be "hidden" away inside PC/Linux hardware cases, with owners of such systems probably unaware that they could be of great use to the Retro Amiga PPC hardware fan base?

Rapture G4 7410@450 MHz with 256 MB
Apocalypse G4 7410@450 MHz with 256 MB

These are mentioned on the GitHub webpages here: https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetA...i/Other-Things

Ragnarok G3 750FX@800 MHz with 256 MB

This card is mentioned on the GitHub webpages here: https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetAmiga/wiki/Ragnarok

BUT ... there are no photos of what to be looking for/trying to locate to use in a Mediator PCI board, AFAIK.

BigFoot Killer NIC M1 e300@400 MHz with 64 MB (Photo on - Dennis Boon's Blog)

http://amigafun.blogspot.com/2018/08...work-card.html

I've seen photos of the KillerNIC card on Dennis's blog, with the big chrome "K" on the board with a PCI edge connector, but this is the only one I've seen shown, and this is the most limited card with only 64MB on it, so knowing what to be looking for, and where I could locate one, to make an offer on one, might be useful, but currently I haven't located seen any of the other cards that are supposed to work, some of which seem to be in a PCI-e format, requiring an adapter to return them to a standard PCI format/so they can be used in a Mediator PCI slot.
Tucker is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 22:46   #40
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 425
no we havent did anything with pci-e cards and adapters for them
this readme tells you which cards we support at the current time
http://aminet.net/package/driver/other/SonnetLibrary

Last edited by nexus; 10 September 2018 at 19:29.
nexus is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Cheap Trap Door Card To Put In A1200 spannernick MarketPlace 3 04 May 2012 14:21
WANTED: Zorro Network card and/or cheap 060 card Madrid MarketPlace 0 10 March 2011 22:52
Cheap PPC pci board Nikolaj_sofus Amiga scene 11 25 April 2010 22:38
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 00:28
For sale: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@175 , 68040 @25 MHz, SCSI Hacky MarketPlace 13 02 July 2006 04:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08676 seconds with 15 queries