English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 December 2005, 17:19   #1
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
Running WHDLoad games from toolmanager dock

i've setup some games on my a1200 as a test, and i'm launching them from a Toolmanager dock. currently, i'm using the 'Shell' exec type, so effectively when i click the image it runs:

"c:whdload hd0:games/gamename/gamename.slave"

so far the 3 games i've tried look like they work, but i noticed that one of them "Stardust" has a bucket load of tooltype lines in the normal workbench icon. am i rught in assuming these are then being ignored as i'm effectively running them from a shell? or do they check the .info file anyway?
Interceptor is offline  
Old 13 December 2005, 17:23   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Use WBRun or similar command, it takes options directly from the icon itself, so you don't have to bother with them.

Btw. i've setup all WHD-games to launch within Wangipad.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 13 December 2005, 17:24   #3
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
brilliant, thanks!
Interceptor is offline  
Old 13 December 2005, 18:55   #4
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 44
Posts: 722
!! i though i would teach something... yes wbrun rocks baby! (i also use toolmanager for up to 600 registered games/demos/utils)

but what is the other tool you are refering too...
pbareges is offline  
Old 13 December 2005, 21:19   #5
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
You mean Wangipad? You can create a list of programs in a sizable window, double-click on an entry and it runs, simple.

Can be found on Aminet, a free keyfile is there too
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 13:16   #6
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 44
Posts: 722
seems a lot like toolmanager (except for the sizeable option..). what would be the more important advantages in switching from toolmanager to your tool...in terms of ressources consumption (CPU, memory...because 600 entries is heavy on toolmanager), ease of use, good looking, speed and reliability ?

thx dude.
pbareges is offline  
Old 14 December 2005, 17:05   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Wangipad is rather easy to use, i use it just for games listing. I usually open the prefs program and drag'n'drop game icons to that window, then rename the game name, that's it. After adding e.g. 30 games to the list, there's a SORT alphabetically option, after that SAVE.

I think it consumes less memory than Toolmanager because it's just a text list of programs. I have about 1300 entries in the list and it still loads up pretty fast.

DL the package and read the guide for more.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems running some WHDLoad games Basquemactee1 support.Other 27 21 May 2010 13:06
Running WHDLoad Games in Winuaex Bigby project.WHDLoad 3 28 February 2009 23:21
Running WHDLOAD games with an Indivision Peter support.Games 5 21 February 2009 23:55
Gamebase [black flashing screen when running WHDLoad games] sjakie43 project.MAGE 2 25 July 2007 01:15
Running old AGA games with ppc and whdload Giana support.Games 0 16 October 2002 16:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09317 seconds with 13 queries