English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2018, 23:38   #21
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 367
Brilliant!
Viceroy is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 02:58   #22
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 969
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 02:58   #23
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,898
@Nobby_UK
You need to have ZDoom minimum v3.3.0 (latest v3.6.0) -> https://zdoom.org/downloads

Now it would take a porting ZDoom 3.6.0 for OS3

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 17 November 2018 at 03:29.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 03:48   #24
Devlin
Sorcerian

Devlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
I got the same error trying to launch it in Zandronum - I will probably install (G)ZDoom to try this though.

Great work, looks pretty sweet from the screenshots!
Devlin is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 06:08   #25
Cherno
Registered User
Cherno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 673
It won't work in Zandronum. As stated in the OP, you need the newest GZDoom version
Cherno is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 11:43   #26
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
@Nobby_UK
You need to have ZDoom minimum v3.3.0 (latest v3.6.0) -> https://zdoom.org/downloads

Now it would take a porting ZDoom 3.6.0 for OS3
as said, it works from the beginning of the version 3.3.x
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chaos Engine.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	60871  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 November 2018 at 10:59.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 18:10   #27
Cherno
Registered User
Cherno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 673
Looks like the character portraits are not visible in some resolutions It could also have something to do with the HUD scaling options.

Also, if you are new to GZDoom, tinker with the graphic settings. I like the distance shadow set to "radial", for example.
Cherno is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 18:30   #28
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 969
Tried GZDoom but it failed with:
R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 19:11   #29
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
Could you remap Doom characters to Chaos Engine ?
jotd is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 19:48   #30
Cherno
Registered User
Cherno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Tried GZDoom but it failed with:
R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!
https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t=55041

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Could you remap Doom characters to Chaos Engine ?
Not sure what you mean by that?
Cherno is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 21:08   #31
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 212
Very cool Cherno,

Will you be expanding this mod to include the other levels, e.g. Workshops?

I was recently wondering myself whether it would be difficult to remake Chaos (or any classic isometric/overhead shooter) in GZDoom by doing it as 3rd person with the camera slightly elevated and behind, or even overhead perhaps with very high ceilings and an overhead viewpoint, that art by Antto Koponen certainly gives you food for thought.

Other games that transitioned well to Doom are Hocus Pocus and Castlevania for those who aren't too familiar - https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t=45804 and https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=57800.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

:-)
Qube is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 21:25   #32
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
I meant that as a joke. Playing 2D Chaos Engine with characters of Doom.
jotd is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 21:39   #33
Cherno
Registered User
Cherno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by qube View Post
very cool cherno,

will you be expanding this mod to include the other levels, e.g. Workshops?

I was recently wondering myself whether it would be difficult to remake chaos (or any classic isometric/overhead shooter) in gzdoom by doing it as 3rd person with the camera slightly elevated and behind, or even overhead perhaps with very high ceilings and an overhead viewpoint, that art by antto koponen certainly gives you food for thought.

Other games that transitioned well to doom are hocus pocus and castlevania for those who aren't too familiar - https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t=45804 and https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=57800.

Anyway, keep up the good work!

:-)
Quote:
making new levels is probably easier than before because i know a good workflow, but it would also mean having to create all the props like the stone pillars with faces on them and new monsters, and i don't even dare to think of the work that preparing the second world would mean which is a shame since the second world in paticular has great aesthetics with all the steampunk machinery, walkways and buildings.
Quote:
I'm not sure if I will ever sit down and create more levels, mostly because of the heavy work involved in scripting all the ambushes and puzzle elements.
In short, I don't know. part of the reason I released this mod after not working on it for weeks was because I wanted to move on to other projects.
Cherno is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 21:45   #34
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 212
Sounds like a lot of work. Always did like the Workshops levels, I guess they felt like a true fit for that Victorian England feel and era.


Shame the BB's never wanted to make a new CE using a modern game engine, e.g. UE4, but I guess the original team is no longer together these days.


Good stuff!
Q;
Qube is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 22:30   #35
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
shame that BB didn't release new level packs like they did with Cadaver, for other games like CE or Gods...
jotd is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 22:44   #36
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 212
Yep and these games were popular, so they would have sold those quite well I'm sure.


They could have also put out an Xmas special edition level via a magazine or something, those were always kind of fun for gamers at the end of a busy year.


Good times!
Q;
Qube is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 22:59   #37
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
We were really spoiled with Cadaver: 1 main game, 3 cover disks with 1 level each, and 4 new payoff levels.

Then ... Chaos Engine 2
jotd is offline  
Old 18 November 2018, 13:14   #38
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Tried GZDoom but it failed with:
R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!
It could be a compatibility problem Video Card, try to download OpenGL drivers from the manufacturer's website

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 November 2018, 12:39   #39
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
We were really spoiled with Cadaver: 1 main game, 3 cover disks with 1 level each, and 4 new payoff levels.

Then ... Chaos Engine 2
I guess they had enough material for all the levels lying around that went unused for the main game? I found it a clever thing to not use material from the actual game for coverdisks, at least then the game you buy is 100% fresh and new. I don't know about other people but I used to replay coverdisks to bits...
gimbal is offline  
Old 19 November 2018, 13:51   #40
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 37
Posts: 1,298
You've fused two of my favourite games together! Love your work!
Muzkat is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Chaos Engine!! arpz Retrogaming General Discussion 75 31 August 2013 23:20
Chaos Engine - Help us through co-op clownstyle Retrogaming General Discussion 18 28 February 2013 14:33
Chaos Engine 2 SWOS Retrogaming General Discussion 32 14 November 2007 20:21
Chaos Engine vs Chaos Engine 2 NytroX86 Nostalgia & memories 20 31 August 2005 12:25
Chaos Engine CD Unregistered request.Modules 15 17 August 2002 19:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08933 seconds with 14 queries